The #1 New York Times Bestseller

Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard's sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king's palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood--those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard--a growing Red rebellion--even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.
Hardcover, 388 pages
Published on February 10, 2015 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062310631
ISBN-13: 9780062310637
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • #CommentSunday, November 19, 2017 at 9:55 pm
    It was good and bad. Everything was predictable* and I felt that the whole thing with Mare and Cal went to far. Maven was at least useful in the plot but Cal did absolutely nothing. Everyone (except Julian) was super idiotic. They should have shown Farley more. I liked the humor and Mare's perspective. If someone likes a little romance along with action, rebellions and the chance of betrayal, this book is for you. * Spoiler Alert = everything except Shade beingalive
    • kkuhy
      kkuhyTuesday, April 25, 2017 at 8:27 am55 stars
      love it!
      • TeencriticThursday, April 6, 2017 at 6:05 pm
        This book, in my honest opinion, only received what it deserved: a 2.50. An excellent comparison for this novel would be the Selection series written by Kiera Cass , which, for those of you that are well read, should already be setting off warning bells. The BAD: The book is bland, impractical, unrealistic, predictable (with one exception), and constantly pessimistic (unreasonably so). •One issue is how depricicatingly low grammar level is. I, as of almost a year ago during freshman year, finished the book in less than one night and was quick to pick up the next book from the school library, if only to satisfy myself with the story resolution (only to wait months longer for the third and hopefully final book to be published). •Another issue is the characters. Mare, the main protagonist is. . .tell me how to say IDIOTIC in a nice way. Sure she grew up in an impoverished family; sure she wasn't the brightest lightbulb ever to grace the earth; sure she's a master pickpocket who knows her way around the cesspool that's the stilts (her home town). Mare is fully ignorant to the life of the rich (excusable), but the real deal breaker is how the author suddenly tried to make teenage logic seem like it was ingenious when it was painfully obvious that it wouldn't—couldn't solve anything! I am not talking about yet-to-be-designed technology issues, I am talking about characters who apparently need to go back to grade school for lack of better common sense; it is horrific. Fact is, Mare's as useless as a slimy sack of potatoes until the last three chapters. I am not joking. •The OTHER characters! If you thought my short, impromptu description of Mare was bad, wait until you hear the full extension about the side characters—both the protagonists and antagonists. Despite most characters being older that Mare, they act just as moronic as her and sometimes even more so! Almost every silver (the weird upper class citizens and nobels with supernatural abilities and "shimmering" silver blood) is overly accentuated as being spoiled and arrogant, reds (people that are oppressed by the silvers [the lower class] and bleed like regular humans) run around like headless chickens without a lick of caution in their supposed secret activities that have been conducted for years, perhaps es even decades. Furthermore, it is stated that silvers live in a world fabricated from lies, yet almost none of them can recognize one giving them a dead-eyed stare right in the face. Cringe worthy. And the GOOD: Now, there were some entertaining aspects to the story, including that exeption to the predictability statement aforementioned and some interesting ideals presented by the book. •The whopping plot twist that sent almost every reader into a loop. It was completely unexpected and I was personally pleased that SOMETHING had finally managed to surprise me. Alternatively, the only reason it worked was because all the characters were too dumb to prevent the event from happening. •The SUPERPOWERS! Because, sometimes you just need a little kick-butt action in your favorite hobby. •The insanity. I like characters with problems, it entices me. •The important murder. I don't know why, but it was pretty epic compared to almost everything else. CONCLUSION: Read it if you want. It by far isn't the best story and it for sure isn't worth buying in hardcover or the audiobook. If you want to read something that's light and easy to plow through, go right ahead and don't let my comments stop you. If you want something epic, find a better book.
        • Faith surinelliFriday, March 17, 2017 at 5:57 pm
          My friend recommended this to me and I read it and aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!! Best book ever
          • catbop
            catbopThursday, November 3, 2016 at 2:38 pm55 stars
            It had action on every page!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • kThursday, August 25, 2016 at 6:43 am
              what is the genre
              • krhudson
                Ms. HudsonFriday, May 20, 2016 at 8:02 am
                The Red Queen is a story about a girl named Mara. Mara started the story very poor and through a chance encounter with a stranger she discovers that she is gifted with special powers.
                • enchanted7
                  enchanted7Sunday, January 3, 2016 at 11:05 pm55 stars
                  I really want to read this book because my friend Catherine proposed this book to me and it sounds really interesting from the small summary she gave me so I really want to read it!
                  • ellamoo
                    ellamooSunday, October 11, 2015 at 5:45 pm44 stars
                    Great Story, with a very original plot. Contains elements of a dystopian novel with a murderous aspect. Great read for anyone who enjoyed Darkest Minds, the Maze Runner, and Cinder.
                    • mags
                      magsTuesday, June 23, 2015 at 9:58 am55 stars
                      "Rise, as red as the dawn" --The Scarlet Guard THIS IS LITERALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ. Well, The Young Elites is tied with this book. Well anyways, this book is amazing and everyone NEEDS to read this book. Mare Barrows is a poor girl living in a poor community. She lives with her torn-apart family. She has 3 brothers that are on the war front, a dad missing a lung and a leg, a normal but tired mother, and a younger sister who is very talented at sewing. Mare has no special abilities that could make money for her family, so she resorts to stealing. Her younger sister Gemma, who is apprenticed to a shopkeeper in the rich district, asks Mare to accompany her on a trip there. While they are there, they are caught up in an revolt. During the revolt, Gemma's sewing hand is crushed, thus ending her apprenticeship and the money. Mare became really ashamed. Soon, her best friend Kilorn, who was apprenticed to a fisher, gives her more bad news. His master had died, leaving him with no choice to go to the war front unless they got a lot of money in one evening. Mare goes to a trader, who then introduces her to the leader of the Red Guard, a secret society who is determined to overthrow the Silver crown. Silver people have special magic that Red people don't, which is how they control them. A twist of fate leads Mare right to the palace when she meets the king's son under the disguise of a commoner. At the castle, she lets out an ability out that she never knew she had. In order to hide that impossibility, the king betroths her to one of his own sons, Maven. At first, they weren't friends, but after a while, they start becoming friends and maybe even start liking each other. Mare, along with Maven, decide to join the Scarlet Guard and become spies. I don't want to say the biggest plot twist ever, it will change your whole point of view on the character, but I still love that character. My summary isn't the best, but it basically explains what led Mare to show royalty her hidden power to control lightning. What I love about this book is the love triangle. This isn't a normal love triangle either. She is betrothed to Maven, but she likes both Maven and Cal (Maven's older half-brother the crown prince). Cal is engaged to another person, who just so happens to control metal, which is very very dangerous and powerful. At the end of the book, Mare is betrayed by one of the brothers and ends up hating him. This book is fantasy, but if it was in the real world, I think this would take place in old Rome. In the beginning of the book, Mare and Kilorn are at an arena watching people fight, just like people in Rome did. This book is amazing. It keeps you in suspense, it adds dashes of mystery, and sprinkles of romance. Victoria Aveyard sure knows how to write a good book. I reccommend this book to anyone who is old enough to take bloodshed. EVERYONE READ IT! :) Thank you
                      • spinnypeeps
                        spinnypeepsSunday, March 27, 2016 at 7:45 pm44 stars
                        YES! The Young Elites and Red Queen is awesome. 50,000 likes
                        • felicisowl
                          felicisowlThursday, June 25, 2015 at 12:27 pm
                          This is SUCH a detailed review! I love how you used "literary"" terms like, "love triangle" and "hide that impossibility" and "a twist of fate"... Your summaries are amazing! And this sounds perfect for me.. I'll have to check it out of the library sometime in the summer :)