Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a6.371840
The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

Bracing for a final clash with the evil warlord Morgarath, the Rangers rally the kingdom’s allies, and Will is chosen, along with his friend Horace, as special envoys to nearby Celtica. But the simple mission soon takes an unsettling turn – the Celticans have disappeared, their town abandoned. The scheming hand of Morgarath, it seems, has been far from idle. He has found a way to bring his legions over the once impassible eastern mountains and is planning to ambush the king’s army in a rout. Now with help many miles away, Will and Horace are the only ones standing in the way of the dark lord’s plans.They have shown great skill and courage in their training, but how will they fare in the face of true evil?

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Watch a QuickTime trailer for this book.

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on August 2, 2007 by Corgi Yearling Books
ISBN-10: 0440867398
ISBN-13: 9780440867395
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ranger51
    ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 8:50 am55 starsFeatured
    Amazing book! This has become my favorite series of all time! (I read the first 8 books in the summer of 2017 and I LOVED them!!) Rangers are SO cool - literally, my dream job!! Book 1, 2, and 7 are my favorites so far in the series (I still haven't finished) but I really REALLY love them!* Summary: Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, formerly exiled from the Kingdom of Araluen, is ready to make his move. After Ranger Halt and his apprentice Will have defeated the Kalkara, Morgarath has nothing left than to bring his army of Wargals down from the mountains. But... How will they get across? A bridge, of course. As the army builds a bridge across the pass, from mountains to the valley, it is now Will's mission to destroy the bridge. With Halt, Horace, and a mysterious girl Evanlyn, Will must destroy the bridge to stop the Wargal army from crossing it. Can he? And can he do it alone? * This book ends in a such a surprising way I almost screamed and cried and laughed all at once. As soon as I read the last word I rushed to my bedroom and grabbed the third book and I did not put down that series until I was till Book 5...(where I took a 10 second break)... and now I'm still reading it!! I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone!!
    • Ranger51Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 6:08 am
      MY FAVORITE SERIES OF ALL TIME!!! I'm halfway through Book 9 and so far this book has been my favorite!!! It introduces a new character (and it's a girl, too, which I just love!!). I mean, I feel like it doesn't matter what kind of books you'd like this book could be for everyone because it's just SO good! But also for people who are interested in camouflage, moving stealthily through forest, archery, and stuff like that - this is what 15-year-old Will is being trained to do as a Ranger's Apprentice!! (And these are like all of my favorite things, too!!!!) This is when it gets really REALLY good with the battle and with Morgarath but seriously the end will leave you screaming in your seat!! It's just SO exciting!!!! And the humor between Halt and Will and Halt and Horace and Halt and pretty much everybody is so hilarious and sarcastic and just make you laugh out loud (until you realize you're doing it in front of the whole class who's now staring at you skeptically!!) Language is mild, but occasionally there's a d-word. The writing would be a little easier for a high schooler and more difficult if you're in elementary - middle-school age reading level, and some words I didn't know when I first read the series (and I'm an 8th Grader)... but it is just AMAZING!! Seriously, everybody should read this series!!! And I have a ton of adults who are just loving it! My brother (who recently turned 10) said that it was his favorite series, but I doubt that - I think he just wanted to impress me that we liked the same series because I'm his older sister :P... Besides, the fact that it took him an entire year to read book one is evidence that it didn't catch his attention as much as other books did - the humor is a little bit older (not inappropriate, just a little harder to understand for a 4th grader). And maybe there wasn't as MUCH action as he would like?? I'm not sure, but it was all enough for me!!! I also introduced my 7th Grade cousin to this series and it is now her favorite book series!! (and she's a book-worm, too and she's read A LOT of books!!) PLEASE READ THIS SERIES!!
      • valchia88
        valchia88Monday, October 3, 2016 at 2:15 pm55 stars
        I decided to read this book because I had already read the previous book in the series. I enjoyed Book One of the Ranger's Apprentice, The Ruins of Gorlan, and decided to continue reading this series. This series was really interesting and it was also the perfect level of reading for me. I really enjoyed this book because it had an excellent story plot and was full of adventures.
        • doggydoes
          doggydoesFriday, September 30, 2016 at 11:43 am
          It is adventurous
          • mathguy100
            mathguy100Sunday, March 20, 2016 at 2:39 pm
            This awesome book is one of my favourites. The story is great in text but I would really like some pictures
            • ethan_q
              ethan_qThursday, February 25, 2016 at 5:21 am
              This book is the second book in the Ranger's Apprentice series. This book starts off where Will, his friend Horace, and the Ranger Gilan travel to Celtica, a neighbouring country to Araluen. They discover that everyone has vanished. Will and Horace wonder if every villager has been either killed captured, but Gilan believes that the evil Lord Morgarath devised a plan to cross the mountain pass faster. If that were true, and the King wasn't warned, the country would be destroyed. After a while, they discover that the king’s army is in danger of being destroyed in a treacherous ambush. Only Will, Horace, and a girl named Evanlyn, stand between them. This book is a good book, I would recommend this book to people who have already finshed the first one.
              • Chewie123456789Monday, December 21, 2015 at 7:42 am
                I think this book would be good because it looks good what do u think fam Ehy cous watch u doin there
                • flamegaming
                  flamegamingSunday, December 20, 2015 at 1:35 pm55 stars
                  I decided to start reading the Rangers apprentice book series because I do archery and it's a awesome sport.It gives me inspiration to be the best archer I can be.
                  • beastmode8
                    beastmode8Thursday, March 26, 2015 at 3:31 pm44 stars
                    Very Good
                    • braydencreekside
                      braydencreeksideTuesday, February 3, 2015 at 7:14 pm
                      Really good book

                      More TopicsView in 3D