Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Book 1 The Sword of Summer

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163370
ISBN-13: 9781423163374
156 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kamots
    kamotsMonday, December 9, 2019 at 10:02 am55 stars
    I love the book because he is like a outcast now he is a hero
    • kamots
      kamotsMonday, December 9, 2019 at 9:53 am55 stars
      It is the best book
      • cambobs
        cambobsWednesday, December 4, 2019 at 11:52 am55 stars
        I love this book because just like Percy Jackson it has so much action and comedie so much comedie altho the chapter names are a bit strange.
        • dragonrider13
          dragonrider13Friday, October 18, 2019 at 3:18 pm
          I love how Rick Riordan writes his books, i've read some of them and he really brings the books to life.
          • ryanng1letsgopa
            ryanng1letsgopaThursday, October 3, 2019 at 1:30 pm55 stars
            I have read most of the books that Rick Riordan has wrote within the past few years and they were cool. He puts little funny things in it too.
            • koalacloud
              koalacloudWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:40 am55 stars
              I've read this book over and over because I love it so much. I like the Norse Mythology and that it's different from the Greek Mythology from Rick Riordan's other books. It's funny and I love how different Thor is from all the movies I've seen. I recommend this book!
              • xx6figuresxx
                xx6figuresxxFriday, June 14, 2019 at 9:52 am55 stars
                This is the first book of my favorite series read it a million times.
                • peppa_pigSunday, June 2, 2019 at 6:30 pm
                  at the beginning it is good but once you get to chapter 30 or so it is very boring but at the end it is kinda interesting.if you like percy jackson then i think you would like this book.
                  • watercolrwonder
                    watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:22 am55 stars
                    This was a very good book. Rick Riordan has created and spun new twists on Greek and Egyptian mythology, and this book does a great job of telling classic Norse mythology in his own humorous manor.
                    • lavoiem
                      lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:48 pm44 stars
                      I thought I wasn’t going to like this book because I was so into Percy Jackson books and they were still very fresh in my mind but I was wrong! I liked this book a lot! It was funny and actually very interesting. I was proven wrong in the best way possible and enjoyed this book a lot!!! Although it took me to the second book to realize that Annabelle from this book is the same one form the Percy Jackson series :)