The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1050 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • georgiasilver
    georgiasilverWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 4:51 pm
    A well written, intriguing story, the Lightning Thief perfectly captures the way to start off a long and worthy adventure of young Perseus Jackson and his life. It can be read over and over again, and entertain just as many times.
    • seungchung
      seungchungMonday, August 7, 2017 at 4:33 am
      This is the best book series I have ever faced. I first knew about this book when I saw the second movie while I was vacationing in Thailand. My sis kinda spoiled the movie though. Well anyways. It was AWESOME!!!! I started this series when I was in 3rd grade. Then I went to Harry Potter. Then so on.
      • s_mcmasters
        s_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 11:27 am55 stars
        Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief is a great book. I highly recommend this book! I can relate to Percy Jackson. Struggling in school, but being a good kid is hard. Sometimes I have trouble focusing on what needs to be done and get distracted.
        • m_mcmasters
          m_mcmastersTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 9:56 am55 stars
          Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief is a great book. I can relate to Percy Jackson. I am a good kid too, but have a hard time focusing on school and sometimes a hard time controlling my temper.
          • din10
            din10Friday, July 28, 2017 at 12:37 pm33 stars
            Always trouble-prone, the life of teenager Percy Jackson (Logan Lerman) gets a lot more complicated when he learns he's the son of the Greek god Poseidon. At a training ground for the children of deities, Percy learns to harness his divine powers and prepare for the adventure of a lifetime:
            • alicat52
              alicat52Monday, July 24, 2017 at 7:26 pm22 stars
              I gave this book 2 stars because i found it weird and confusing. I read this book in school I didn't understand half of it. I watched the movie same thing. I don't like this book but if you are a fantasy ,fiction ,or Mythology fan you would like this book.
              • mariner
                marinerSunday, July 23, 2017 at 9:23 pm44 stars
                This is the first Percy Jackson book and I enjoyed getting to know him and all about half-bloods and Greek Gods. Percy is a half-blood because his father is a God. Percy somehow becomes the prime suspect in a crime - someone stole Zeus' lightening bolt. The adventures in the book are about him and his friends and how they get Zeus' lightning bolt back.
                • lovetolearn
                  lovetolearnSunday, July 23, 2017 at 12:11 am55 stars
                  This is the first book in a series that teaches so much about Greek and eventually Roman mythology. In the Lighting Thief Percy, Annabeth, and their friend Grover go on a quest to fulfill a prophecy and recover Zeus's lost master lightning bolt before a war breaks out. This book is packed with action, but also shows how dangerous misunderstandings in families, espcially godly ones, can be.
                  • casgirl
                    casgirlFriday, July 21, 2017 at 1:45 pm44 stars
                    it was the first book by by Rick Riordon that i ever read, i really enjoyed reading this book. my favorite part is the scene in the bathroom fight where the toilets Explode. this is an exciting book in which Percy Jackson get thrown in to a world of gods, monsters, and adventurer.
                    • momoko12
                      momoko12Wednesday, July 19, 2017 at 10:59 pm
                      This is one of my new favorite books. it has everything you could ever want action, adventure and the perfect mixture of funny and quirky. Percy Jackson enters a whole new world that he never knew existed when he finds out the he's a demi god, half human half Greek god. this is a perfect book for anyone to read.