Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1129 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • 5th grade kid 4Thursday, March 15, 2018 at 11:11 am
    This book is a very good reincarnation of Greek stories combining a lot of stories like the death of medusa. So all of these stories make a very pleasing story.
    • Paige. MortonThursday, March 15, 2018 at 6:25 am
      I love this book. I would love if other people would read it. A lot of people don't read greek books anymore I just want them to enjoy this book as much as i do
      • rebekahcox
        rebekahcoxMonday, March 12, 2018 at 3:44 pm55 stars
        In this book a twelve year old boy undergoes an amazing quest full of danger and excitement and betrayal. Over all it is a fantastic book. Really great, I ❤️ it. If you read it I hope you do too.
        • hoerse4ev
          hoerse4evSaturday, March 10, 2018 at 2:24 pm33 stars
          It was pretty good but i probably wouldn't read the second one.
          • docmcstuffins
            docmcstuffinsWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 10:34 am55 stars
            • Kangaroogirl19 Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 9:36 am
              This book was wrote by Rick Riordan, and was published March 21, 2006. This book is about Percy Jackson and his quest to find Zeus's lighting rod. I think that this book includes Greek mythology. It has a lot of adventure in it too. If you love to read, and can understand things like Greek mythology then this book is for you!!!!
              • Son Of VulcanWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 6:12 am
                Yes, i know Vulcan's Roman, but it sounded better then "Son Of Hephaestus". I really enjoy Rick Riordan's books. I can relate a bit with Percy because i have ADHD. I like how Riordan explains Dyslexia and ADHD in the book. If you enjoy this series, i would then recommend the "Hero's Of Olympus" series, and then "Trails of Apollo". I also enjoy Riordan's "Magus Chase and the Gods of Asgard." series, and yes if you recognize the last name Magus is Annabeth's cousin.
                • love this bookTuesday, March 6, 2018 at 10:43 am
                  I am reading this book right now and it is great if you want mythology in here with the characters
                  • Ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 6:53 am
                    This is a pretty cool book! It was the first one I read (at 9 years old) that had the whole powers and magic idea, (and I had always liked that stuff) so I fell in love with it after the first chapter! It's a really clever idea that Rick Riordan uses with the demi-gods and all that - super creative! In my opinion the reading level is 4-7 grade. My mom started reading this to us when I was in 5th Grade and my brother was in 3rd, but we forgot about it after a while. In 6th grader I found it lying around the house and picked up the book again... I simply gobbled it up. At that point my high-schooler cousin claimed this series as her favorite... I think it doesn't matter how old you are to like this series, as long as you like fiction/fantasy. I would also recommend Rick Riordan's Kane Chronicles, a series with the same idea of gods and magicians, except instead of Greek Gods it's all about the Egyptian Gods! However, my favorite series of all time is "Ranger's Apprentice". Please check this out!!
                    • ReaderMonday, March 5, 2018 at 8:57 am
                      I have not read this book, but I read The Heroes of Olympus and the Kane Chronicles. I'll read this book but you have to read those series'. ( There also by Rick Riordan )

                      More TopicsView in 3D