Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1108 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • suchomimus
    suchomimusTuesday, January 23, 2018 at 4:07 am55 stars
    I love this book and it is one of my faves. A must read book for all ages.
    • demonheart
      demonheartFriday, January 19, 2018 at 5:02 pm44 stars
      If you're a Greek and Roman gods can like me look no further these books may be well known but they are fun to mention! I do think it is good but they are so well known I don't even have to recommend it!!! 😁
      • astrid42
        astrid42Saturday, January 13, 2018 at 12:33 pm55 stars
        Can't wait to read it!😀
        • justbob007
          justbob007Friday, January 12, 2018 at 11:20 am44 stars
          I read Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, written by Rick Riordan. Basically, Percy Jackson thinks he is a reggular kid until he realizes that he is the son of Poisiden! Since somebody stole Zeus's master bolt, It's up to Percy Jackson and his freinds to find Zeus's master bolt and stop a possibile World War III. When I saw the name of one of the chapters ("I become supreme lord of the bathroom"), I laughed out loud!!! I would reccomend this book to anyone!
          • ES.RThursday, January 11, 2018 at 8:41 am
            I have not read this book yet. But this review makes me interested and I would like to try it out. It does remind me a bit of Harry Potter. I have watched one of the movies of Percy Jackson and it was good but this makes me read the books
            • babygroot
              babygrootTuesday, January 9, 2018 at 2:16 pm11 star
              To me it was exactly like Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire only a bad version. The characters were so much alike. I will list characters to HP characters and why I chose them. Percy= Harry: Main Character and adventurous Grover= Ron: Super Clumsy and scared of some stuff AnnaBeth=Hermione: Smartmouth and Know-It-All Chiron=Dumbledore: Chiron kept being wise with Percy and encouraging him just like Dumbledore Hades=Voldemort: Bad and 2 people at once Persephone=Narcissa Malfoy: Nice to Percy and his friends but has a little bad side(in book not real Greek Mythology) Poseidon=James Potter:Not just because he's the father of Percy but legendary God like James was a legendary wizard Also the tasks Harry did were similar to the Triwizard Tasks Exactly like Harry Potter
              • jeffyTuesday, January 9, 2018 at 10:11 am
                awesome
                • book_demolisher
                  book_demolisherMonday, January 1, 2018 at 7:04 am55 stars
                  Dis is amazing
                  • pacmanfire
                    pacmanfireFriday, December 29, 2017 at 6:32 pm55 stars
                    a great blend of everything a reader loves
                    • bookfangirl2006
                      bookfangirl2006Friday, December 29, 2017 at 2:32 pm55 stars
                      LOVE THIS BOOK! Rick Riordan is such a great author. I have read a lot of his books and love them. A MUST READ!