Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1084 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • hermoineunicorn
    hermoineunicornWednesday, November 22, 2017 at 7:29 am55 stars
    Three words: BEST. BOOK. EVER!! At the beginning of the school year, I had nothing to do with Percy Jackson. But a friend recommended it to me, and I CAN'T STOP READING!!! Percy Jackson blends in the modern world with Greek Mythology, with a hilarious dialogue. I would definitely recommend it!
    • linkfan2005
      linkfan2005Monday, November 20, 2017 at 12:42 pm55 stars
      Its a good book for people who like adventure. I have read it about 20 times. Greek mytholigy=awesome
      • soccer11
        soccer11Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 5:39 pm55 starsFeatured
        Percy Jackson and the Olympians is the first of the astonishing series. It is a thrilling mythological adventure book written by Rick Riordan featuring a troubled teenage boy that realizes he is much more important than fighting bullies in school. Percy meets monsters to defeat and friends to protect along the way of his long journey as a half-blood. This is a great book to read for teenagers that are interested in Greek Gods and mythology, which is probably why I loved it so much. It is also great for adults to read, just because the plot is so interesting. Rick Riordan did a great job writing the book because you can really see and feel the emotions in each and every character. There is also a movie that connects to the book, but it is not near as good. The book is much different than the movie because every scene in the book expresses Percy’s thoughts and feelings of what is happening in the moment. Whether it is hatred or passion for something or someone, it is very well narrated. You can hear Percy’s voice and what the author is trying to get the reader to understand. The first few chapters of the book are not exciting or action-packed if you ask me, but it is basically giving the reader more insight and information on the kind of person that Percy is. He is a very short tempered person, and he does not like people that pick on him or his friends. While I was reading the book, I lost track of time because I was so engulfed in the story. It was such a great book, I never wanted to put it down! The things that happened in the book reflected onto my life. If something joyful happened in the book, I suddenly became joyful. If something sad happened in the book, I was sad after. There is a variety of emotions in the story, so there is a good chance that the reader will not become bored or sick of the story. Percy Jackson and The Olympians is one of the books that are so cool, you want to be in. Do you ever watch a movie and after you are jealous because there’s no way that it could happen in your life, or realistically be possible? This is one of those books. Luckily there are five books in this series, so you won’t be left on a cliffhanger! In conclusion this is a good book. Overall it is an interesting and thrilling story. It has much more than one genre in it, so there is a variety of many different emotions. Rick Riordan did an amazing job writing this story, and the characters are very majestic and not like an others. Read the series or you will regret it!
        • gabbyhope117
          gabbyhope117Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 8:17 am55 stars
          I love Rick Riordan's books they are so fun, adventurous, exciting. He was smart to make all of his books like this. I will always read his book even when I grow up. He is a great author. Amazing job Rick Riordan!
          • ReeseWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 9:22 am
            Reese Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan published March 21, 2006. This book is about Greek myths and God’s children that they had with mortals. You will fall in love with the characters. The main character’s Name is Percy Jackson and he goes on fun filled adventures although he might not think their any fun at times. I loved this book because it is a long book that keeps me interested. It is at a 4th grade level. It would be a good book for people interested in greek myths and that like series with multiple books that keep you occupied for a long time.
            • jajycusode
              jajycusodeSunday, November 12, 2017 at 6:51 pm44 stars
              This book I read about a year ago while I was in third grade. It was really exciting and really made my imagination grow it talks about the Greek gods, heroes, and mystical beasts.
              • Deserves5starsWednesday, November 8, 2017 at 8:19 am
                This BOOK NEVER should get 5 STARS IT Deserves 1234567898765456545654321234567898765432123456789876543234567898765432345678987654321234567890987656656545678765434567898765432345678765432345678765432345678765433. BEST SERIES EVER!!!
                • puppycat132
                  puppycat132Monday, November 6, 2017 at 8:18 am55 stars
                  its amazing i loooooved it like omg
                  • anajas1
                    anajas1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 11:38 am55 stars
                    Such a great series by Rick Riordan, I love the Author. Percy is a heroic, moralized and brave charecter. If you are looking for something to read I would highly recomend this book!
                    • TDOG555Saturday, November 4, 2017 at 9:31 am
                      Is this a good book?
                      • anajas1
                        anajas1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 11:38 am55 stars
                        Yes! read my review above for more details...

                      More TopicsView in 3D