Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
1726 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Cool cal 11Sunday, January 20, 2019 at 5:06 am
    It's about a young wizard called Harry. He discovers a magical school called Hogwarts.
    • Cool cal 11Sunday, January 20, 2019 at 5:03 am
      We also wacthed the films. They were great!!!😎
      • Cool cal 11Sunday, January 20, 2019 at 5:00 am
        My dad read me the series. We finished the last book the other day.
        • snuffles101
          snuffles101Friday, January 18, 2019 at 7:42 pm55 stars
          Four words. THIS BOOK IS AMAZING
          • geeky_goddess
            geeky_goddessFriday, January 18, 2019 at 3:23 pm55 stars
            Harry potter is the best! The way J.K Rowling wrote this is AMAZING. (And one thing...isn't it supposed to be "harry potter and the philosophers stone"?)
            • nanael5
              nanael5Friday, January 18, 2019 at 12:33 pm55 stars
              i really love harry potter books
              • hogwartsexpress
                hogwartsexpressTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 10:55 am55 stars
                I have read the whole series and this is when the best book journey takes off.
                • cryztalpanda
                  cryztalpandaSaturday, January 12, 2019 at 7:55 pm55 stars
                  I would definitely recommend the Harry Potter series to anyone who has not read it, I give it a 10 out of 10.
                  • Cadie C. Friday, January 11, 2019 at 6:37 pm
                    I know I am one of of trillions(gazillions, millions, billions,) of Harry Potter fans, but I just have to say. J.K. Rowling (in my opinion) is one of the greatest authors who ever lived. I L-O-V-E LOVE the Harry Potter books. I started just near the end of last year, and I am on the fourth book. I won't give any spoilers, but those of you who liked the first book, I VERY MUCH SO RECCOMEND THE REST OF THE SERIES. I wish I could give this book five trillion stars!!!
                    • Soph07Thursday, January 10, 2019 at 3:45 pm
                      I love the Harry Potter series! I give this book a 50 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!

                      Our Apps and Plugins