Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3222 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lumos
    lumosSunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:09 am44 stars
    Smile! When Raina accidently knocks out her teeth during a race with her friends, she didn't know how horrible the process of getting her teeth looking normal again will be! Middle school brings lots of new problems like mean friends and crushes not liking you. Live with Raina through highschool as she gets her teeth back, and realizes the struggles of growing up and sometimes, it's better to find new friends too. I LOVE THIS BOOK <3 the drawings are very cute too!
    • toyinFriday, May 17, 2019 at 2:47 pm
      I like this book.This book hope me understand do not make fun of people with braces.
      • kruzingwithk9s
        kruzingwithk9sFriday, May 17, 2019 at 10:54 am55 stars
        Hey, how would you like it if you were going home from girl scouts, tripped, and knocked out one tooth and put the other in? Yea, it would hurt. That's what happened to Raina, follow her as she has dental drama, deals with friends, and after years, can smile.
        • zzayumi
          zzayumiFriday, May 17, 2019 at 3:36 am55 stars
          This book is great! I am almost getting braces, and I lost the fear of getting them! Even though I was scared, now I am not.
          • catface7312
            catface7312Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 7:06 pm55 stars
            This book is a graphic novel. It's about an 11-year-old girl named Raina. One night at girl scouts, Raini fell and knocked out her two teeth. She has to get braces (that's why the cover has a smiley face with braces). When she goes into high school, her supposed friends bully her. She learns valuable lessons along the way. I love this book and I love to reread it all the time.
            • pizzagirl7
              pizzagirl7Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:03 pm55 stars
              Smile is a great book for 10 to 15 years olds 😁smile is a book about....one day when Raina and her girl scout friends where coming home from girl scouts and riana raced to the front door with friend and raina ran and grabbed the back of her friends jacket then all the sudden *BAM*raina was laying on the ground with her two front teeth gone .one was in the grass and one was pushed up her gum (ewwww) she had to go through retainers ,braces,boys, but in the end of all worked out great!I really think this is a wonderful book!you should go and read it!!.😁😁smile😁😁
              • ilanos50
                ilanos50Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 4:34 pm55 stars
                I liked this book because it had really good pictures and an interesting story plot. I also liked it because it was not too long and not too short and you always want to keep reading. I was surprised that the author was Raina and I wonder if it is a true story .
                • corinnethepanda
                  corinnethepandaThursday, May 16, 2019 at 2:53 pm55 stars
                  Did you use to complain about your braces hurting or your teeth bein sore after the dentist? Well, you won't be complaining anymore! Raina is a middle school girl who severely injures her two front teeth. She has to go through so much and right when she begins middle school! And you thought it was embarrassing to have pimples! This book is a great book for 3rd grade and up. It's a good story and I definitely recommend it!
                  • lilylunapotter
                    lilylunapotterThursday, May 16, 2019 at 12:23 pm55 stars
                    After a Girl Scout meeting Raina falls and knocks out her two front teeth. While she struggles with teeth and braces, she has boy drama , friend drama , and finds where she can “smile”. This book you will feel happy, sad and have empathy for the characters. This will the a book that you will “smile”.
                    • sofi_juarez
                      sofi_juarezThursday, May 16, 2019 at 10:31 am55 stars
                      This book is such a nice book!!!! I loved it so much!!!!!! If there was a movie, I would watch it.

                      Popular Books