Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2251 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • forenna
    forennaWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 9:11 am55 starsFeatured
    Imagine living in a word, where every year, called the Reaping, two people, a girl and boy from ages 12-18, are chosen between 12 other districts to fight to the death, and the last one standing wins their district food, money and endless happiness. Well, that's what happens in this book. Katniss Everdeen , an illegal hunter to feed her family, and the rest of her district. Her district is District 12, the poorest district, and has never known what it feels like to be full, volunteers as a tribute, to standing against 23 others, and fight to the death. But, there is someone who is always on her mind ever since his name was called: Peeta. "I remember him, from when I was smaller." "Why is he getting in my head?" "Peeta, Peeta, Peeta," is all that runs through her head. Before the Games even start, there is manipulation, confusion, danger and love, a book everyone should read. Before reading this book, I really didn't think I would like it, considering the fact that I'm very, very picky when it comes to reading books, and will immediately put one down if it doesn't satisfy me. There is a rare moment where I feel touched by a book, and very emotional. That is how this book made me feel; I swear I cried sometimes. This book is really symbolic, and shows a comparison to the real world, and the class system. As most people know, District 12, the district Katniss grew up in, represents a class of poverty, the low class system. Places like District 11, to around District 5, would fall under the class system of Middle and Upper Middle class, which is like having basic needs, a job, enough food on the table, maybe even sometimes surplus, and just overall, a good amount of everything. Then you have District, 4, 3, 2, and 1, who are basically the rich people. Very entitled, always has food on the table, has never struggled, and has money galore. This is exactly like our world, with people in poverty, people who have things they need, and a little more, and then the people who have so much that they could share, but don't. This book not only subtly shows that, but also shows tension when all of these people come together as equals every year, fighting to the death. This is why I love this book, there are multiple meanings to that. If you watched the movies, you'll definitely enjoy the books.
    • BrookeyBrickTuesday, October 30, 2018 at 2:20 pm
      This book is my favorite! It is so awesome!
      • lonewolf_94Monday, October 8, 2018 at 8:03 am
        i love the hunger games
        • PeytonThursday, October 4, 2018 at 6:52 pm
          This book is about Katniss everdeen. Since she dosen't have a lot of money so she hunts every day for her family with her bow her family is her sister, her, and her mother. every year there is a hunger game where they pick two people from every 2 people out of the 12 districts and Katniss's sister (Prim) got picked, so Katniss voultered to go insted of her to the hunger games. Before you go into the battlefield you show the judges how good you are and she got the highest score with her bow. The other person with her was Peeta. Once it started she went for a bow but she almost got killed so she grab. bed a knife and ran. When she went to sleep she slept in a tree and when she woke up she saw Peeta with the people who train their whole life for this (Careers). The game makers shot giant fireballs at her, but she got away from them. They made a rule that two people from the same district can both when so Peeta and Katniss team up and Peeta give her a bow. She shoots the last person twice throught the head so they won.
          • catnip2087
            catnip2087Tuesday, September 25, 2018 at 2:01 pm55 stars
            This book and the series is amazing. I take it like almost everywhere I go.
            • horse177Monday, September 10, 2018 at 3:55 pm
              I LOVED THIS BOOK I THINK THE SERIES IS GREAT
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiSunday, September 9, 2018 at 8:28 am44 starsFeatured
                I really should've read this sooner. I've watched all the movies and I loved them, but nothing really compares to the book. The plot was A.MA.Z.I.N.G and the entire setup was incredible. I've never really appreciated the story until now. At first it just seemed that the Capitol is just killing people for no reason, but the backstory itself is really interesting. As much as I love the story there's one thing I hated above all.. Katniss. I've tried and tried to force myself to like her but I just couldn't. She seemed really two dimensional to me. She hates the Capitol at one time but then a pretty dress converts her. She's great as a character in a book who's trying to survive, but not a great person herself. I appreciate her toughness and all, but I can't (with some things) relate to her. On the other hand, I LOVED Peeta. He just seemed like a really fun character. HE'S A BAKER THAT FIGHTS PEOPLE TO THE DEATH. Even though he didn't really kill anyone but whatever. In all, I really appreciate this book, but let's just make Peeta the main character.
                • slytherinfan
                  slytherinfanWednesday, September 5, 2018 at 4:05 pm55 stars
                  I would definitely recommend this book for ages 10 and up (Awesome book!)
                  • ginevraweasley
                    ginevraweasleyFriday, August 3, 2018 at 2:34 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Katniss Everdeen of District 12, lives with her mother and her younger sister, Primrose (Prim for short). Every year there is the annual Hunger Games, a game that is broadcasting live on the TV. The Hunger Games has spilled a lot of blood in its history. Prim gets chosen to participate in The Hunger Games, but 16 year old Katniss decides to take 12 year old Prim’s place in The Hunger Games and succeeds in doing so. Then Katniss has to learn how to survive and sometimes kill. Towards the end, Katniss fights in The Hunger Games alongside with Peeta Mellark (Also of District 12). Do they survive? Do they win The Hunger Games? The Hunger Games is such an outstanding book! It’s so fun to feel as if you are with the characters! Suzzane Collins does such an amazing job with describing the characters and slipping your feet in the their shoes! Katniss Everdeen is so brave, resilient, and resourceful! I highly recommend this book if you want a taste of adventure and suspense. At the end of Catching Fire (the second book) there is such a crazy cliffhanger!! And then you move on to Mockingjay (the third and final book)and you can’t put it down!!!!!!!!
                    • toriburn
                      toriburnTuesday, July 31, 2018 at 11:07 am55 stars
                      OMG!!! i couldn't put it down! i totally bing-read the whole series! best book ever

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins