Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2292 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • love_books
    love_booksTuesday, March 12, 2019 at 8:01 pm55 stars
    OMG, i'm reading this book right now and i am almost finished. i Love, love, love, love , love, this book. Yessssssssss hunger games
    • meme reviewMonday, March 11, 2019 at 8:08 am
      Its good I like it
      • laTuesday, March 5, 2019 at 11:54 am
        this is interesting I would like to read it for my reading counts.
        • BookgeekMonday, March 4, 2019 at 8:12 pm
          I think it’s a REALLY good book. I couldn’t stop reading it.
          • review_books
            review_booksMonday, March 4, 2019 at 7:21 pm55 stars
            Great book! I couldn’t stop reading it when I got it.
            • marebear
              marebearFriday, March 1, 2019 at 5:20 pm55 stars
              i just love it
              • shoddyrobin66
                shoddyrobin66Saturday, February 16, 2019 at 2:40 pm
                I want to read the book I heard of it but I didn't read it but I wanna read it :-((((
                • landonThursday, February 14, 2019 at 8:44 am
                  i watch the movie.
                  • 12gal
                    12galThursday, February 7, 2019 at 6:43 pm55 stars
                    So good!! I thought it was gunna be a nerdie thing and then my friends told me how good it was!, movie too 5 stars ~…~
                    • ironmeow
                      ironmeowWednesday, February 6, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
                      "Hope is the only thing stronger than fear." -Suzanne Collins (Hunger games Author) 16 year old Katniss Everdeen lives a normal life with her sister, Primrose, and her mother, and her best friend/secret crush Gale in the state of Panem in District 12. Every year, Panem hosts the annual Hunger Games to control their growing population. Two participants from each district-one female and male get drawn to fight and kill each other to death. When Primrose Everdeen is chosen to enter and fight in the 74th annual hunger games, Katniss volunteers as a tribute to take her sister's place, unsure whether she will ever see Gale, Primrose, nor her mother ever again. The male tribute for district 12 is Peeta Mellark, who loves Katniss for more than just a friend. This book has humor, tragedy, and romance packed in an amazing and gripping dystopian novel. Great book for Preteens.
                      • marebear
                        marebearFriday, March 1, 2019 at 5:23 pm55 stars
                        i love how you did all this
                        • shootingstars
                          shootingstarsTuesday, March 12, 2019 at 2:05 pm
                          Beautifully wrote

                      Our Apps and Plugins