Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
2976 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • acting_music124
    acting_music124Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:04 am55 stars
    This book is amazing and funny! I really like how the girl (named Raina) was being bullied and she got new friends anyways. I really like this story and recommend it!! I give a total of 5 stars indeed!!
    • jadeynisawesome
      jadeynisawesomeThursday, June 14, 2018 at 8:26 am55 stars
      this book smile is a book about how a 12 year old found out she needed barces and to add to her polbrem she fell and knocked out one of her tooth and the other one got pushed in her gums. i really remond this book to kids 10 to 13 thanks for reading my book review
      • grapefruit
        grapefruitThursday, June 14, 2018 at 5:04 am55 stars
        I was once a "brace-face" in fifth grade. My very own experience inspired me to read this book. Heartfelt and true. I know how the author felt at all times. And this is one book that I truly recommend to readers of every age. The author, Raina Telgemeier, describes her personal life as a middle-school dental disaster in this graphic novel, where every point is detailed as possible--the endless visits to the dentist, the teasing and taunts from mean "friends", the troubles of school and homework-- all in full color. Roller-coaster emotions will have you rooting for the author, and you'll find yourself MAJORLY changed by this book! It is, therefor, a great reason to learn about growing up and making friends. Please read this book if you haven't. And if you have, read it again.
        • blackstar3
          blackstar3Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 7:20 pm44 stars
          I love raina telgemeier,and this book showed me it is easy to make friends as long as they would be good ones [includeing spiders and ants] By the way this is my first time here and i think this is going to be awesome
          • annarbor
            Ann ArborTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 3:55 pm55 stars
            Book Review by Dr. Double Sided Sticky Tape - If you like books with problems and conflicts this is the book for you. This book is called Smile by Raina Telgemeier. It is the first book in a series. It is a graphic novel. It’s an autobiography story. It takes place in California. After Girl Scout club, Raina’s friends have a race home. Raina grabs her friend’s shirt and she falls to the ground and her teeth get knocked out. If you want to know what happens read Smile! I give this book five stars. I liked it because there was drama. I also liked how when people are mean to Raina she has to manage. People under seven should not read this book because there are some inappropriate parts. I recommend people who like graphic novels might really like this book.
            • Sébastien Wilie Pscal BrochuSaturday, June 9, 2018 at 5:53 am
              I got this book in my class and it’s 100 pages and it’s goooooooood❤️😊
              • catloveromg
                catloveromgFriday, June 8, 2018 at 8:28 am44 stars
                in this book raina learns to be herself and that you should not change to find friends. she understands that she has friends already and that friends are there to support you.
                • tessa2007
                  tessa2007Thursday, June 7, 2018 at 3:08 pm
                  For you girls that have braces or are getting braces and have a lot of trouble with your teeth and haven't read this book yet then I think you should read this book.
                  • Short_asdfThursday, June 7, 2018 at 5:30 am
                    Never got sick of it. Amazing book.
                    • eaglegamer
                      eaglegamerTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 10:24 am44 stars
                      cool book

                      More TopicsView in 3D