Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.240355

A young boy relates his adventures during the year he spends living alone in the Catskill Mountains including his struggle for survival, his dependence on nature, his animal friends, and his ultimate realization that he needs human companionship.

Paperback, 209 pages
Published on March 23, 2005 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786273593
ISBN-13: 9780786273591
57 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ravenclaw35
    ravenclaw35Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 12:30 pm55 stars
    I LOVED this book! I read it with the best teacher, Mr.M! (McPeak).
    • mrm2026
      mrm2026Monday, January 8, 2018 at 8:00 am55 stars
      This is an amazing book about a boy named Sam Gribley. He leaves home to live in the wilderness by himself. The whole story keeps your attention and you really get to know the characters!
      • booklover108
        booklover108Friday, December 8, 2017 at 5:45 am55 stars
        So far its really good. Im only a little bit in but it is awesome!!
        • pobubaredi
          pobubarediTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:16 am33 stars
          Sam runs away to the Catskill Mountains as his house is to small and crowded. Will he make make friends with the animals or will he be lonely in the mountains?
          • xenykanyba
            xenykanybaTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:12 am
            this is a book about a kid who ran away from home. What do you think happen to sam will he live or will he die?
            • dudunevata
              dudunevataThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:16 am44 stars
              It was a very interesting book. If you like the outdoors and would like to learn about survival skills, this book would be good for you. It is about a kid named sam that ran away from the city to live in the catskill woods. Will he make it?
              • sam2007
                sam2007Monday, October 16, 2017 at 5:43 pm22 stars
                i didn't really like it.
                • lourdesj
                  lourdesjWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 1:00 pm44 stars
                  It's really interesting and pretty good
                  • mseag20
                    mseag20Wednesday, September 13, 2017 at 4:29 pm22 stars
                    it was ok
                    • finleyhuneycutt
                      finleyhuneycuttThursday, August 31, 2017 at 12:03 pm55 stars
                      I like this book because most of us are not brave enough to go live in the woods by are selfies. I think that Sam Grible is a brave boy and i would not be brave enough to do things that he does. I recommend this boo because if you like to be outside then this is the book for you.I f my friend read this book I think she would want to be outside more than she already is which she is outside a lot.

                      More TopicsView in 3D