A young boy relates his adventures during the year he spends living alone in the Catskill Mountains including his struggle for survival, his dependence on nature, his animal friends, and his ultimate realization that he needs human companionship.

Paperback, 209 pages
Published on March 23, 2005 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786273593
ISBN-13: 9780786273591
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • pobubaredi
    pobubarediTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:16 am33 stars
    Sam runs away to the Catskill Mountains as his house is to small and crowded. Will he make make friends with the animals or will he be lonely in the mountains?
    • xenykanyba
      xenykanybaTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:12 am
      this is a book about a kid who ran away from home. What do you think happen to sam will he live or will he die?
      • dudunevata
        dudunevataThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:16 am44 stars
        It was a very interesting book. If you like the outdoors and would like to learn about survival skills, this book would be good for you. It is about a kid named sam that ran away from the city to live in the catskill woods. Will he make it?
        • sam2007
          sam2007Monday, October 16, 2017 at 5:43 pm22 stars
          i didn't really like it.
          • lourdesj
            lourdesjWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 1:00 pm44 stars
            It's really interesting and pretty good
            • mseag20
              mseag20Wednesday, September 13, 2017 at 4:29 pm22 stars
              it was ok
              • finleyhuneycutt
                finleyhuneycuttThursday, August 31, 2017 at 12:03 pm55 stars
                I like this book because most of us are not brave enough to go live in the woods by are selfies. I think that Sam Grible is a brave boy and i would not be brave enough to do things that he does. I recommend this boo because if you like to be outside then this is the book for you.I f my friend read this book I think she would want to be outside more than she already is which she is outside a lot.
                • ngusward
                  nguswardWednesday, August 30, 2017 at 1:41 pm
                  Its super cool, fun, to because Sam Gribley he lives on a hemlock bye himself on his grandfathers Grible's farm
                  • jamin1
                    jamin1Wednesday, August 30, 2017 at 1:08 pm55 stars
                    i really love this book
                    • izzykitchings
                      izzykitchingsWednesday, August 30, 2017 at 9:12 am33 stars
                      I don't recommend it

                      More TopicsView in 3D