Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 14, 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375969020
ISBN-13: 9780375869020
3765 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • BookwormTuesday, February 25, 2020 at 5:18 am
    Awesome!
    • claritymiss
      claritymissSunday, February 23, 2020 at 12:34 pm55 stars
      this is a really unique story and tells a great lesson on how people are born different and there's no need to make fun of that!!!
      • claritymiss
        claritymissSunday, February 23, 2020 at 12:30 pm55 stars
        my teacher is reading this book to the class and even though we haven't finished i think it is really sweet!!!
        • CaylynLarkins Friday, February 21, 2020 at 11:00 am
          I really enjoyed reading this book. It was so good we need books more like this.
          • zzamazingcoco
            zzamazingcocoFriday, February 21, 2020 at 8:18 am55 stars
            This is a story about a boy called August. He has a facial difference that he was born with. Up until 5th grade he couldn't go to school. There is this boy at his school called Julian and him and his friends bullied August until camp. Julian didn't go and his friends and Jack stood up for August against a bunch of man 7th graders. Definitely read this book.
            • zzamazingcoco
              zzamazingcocoFriday, February 21, 2020 at 8:19 am55 stars
              Why fit in when you were born to stand out?
            • slyterclaw53
              slyterclaw53Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 1:03 pm55 stars
              All though August has had several surgeries to fix his face, everyone still sees him as an ugly little boy. But when the reader looks deeper, they sees how beautiful Auggie really is! Auggie willingly went to school, adn tried to make friends, even though he was scared. Bravery is beautiful! Auggie still spread his knowledge, and did his best, even when it was hard. Perseverance is beautiful! And Auggie found true friends, even though everyone around him was awful to him. Kindness is very, very beautiful. Auggie is a character that grows throughout this book, and when you finish the story, you will sigh with joy.
              • gervaisgirl
                gervaisgirlTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 5:39 pm55 stars
                I liked how auggie bravely started school and how he ignored the other peoples' taunts. I also liked his love for his dog, and his very deep friendship with his friends. I liked how the author wrote the books from other peoples' views, mostly telling the same things-their encounters with August.
                • weirdqueen101
                  weirdqueen101Tuesday, February 11, 2020 at 9:59 am55 stars
                  This is such a sweet life like book! The author is amazing!
                  • batdad
                    batdadFriday, February 7, 2020 at 12:08 pm55 stars
                    this is a really good book it's funny it's sad it has a good ending.👍👍
                    • ilovenutellayay
                      ilovenutellayayFriday, January 17, 2020 at 2:35 pm55 stars
                      I love this book so much! It is so interesting I'd suggest it to everyone