Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578

In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.

Paperback, 512 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445947
ISBN-13: 9781442445949
125 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 7deadlysins
    7deadlysinsMonday, January 27, 2020 at 5:15 pm55 stars
    This is such a great start to the series. Adventure, magic, and creatures that we once thought were just stories come alive in this thrilling tale. It captivates you, and leaves you begging for the next one. I should know, as I'm always begging for the next one. I'm on the eighth book. and the series just gets more compelling as you go along.
    • little_angel27
      little_angel27Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 5:43 pm
      SO many people is recommending this series, so I can't wait to read it!!
      • sreadergirl
        sreadergirlWednesday, January 15, 2020 at 11:48 am55 stars
        So My friend is reading this book series and told me i HAD to read it so i took her advice and started reading it it is better then any book i have ever read in my life!
        • dragonrider13
          dragonrider13Sunday, January 12, 2020 at 4:16 am55 stars
          this book is definitly a must read it was so good!!!!
          • yi6vi7yho6f76tnSaturday, January 11, 2020 at 4:44 pm
            I've heard that it's cooler than the land of Stories
            • claritymiss
              claritymissMonday, January 6, 2020 at 8:50 pm55 stars
              I've just started the book almost on page 20 and i'm already in love with it !!! I'm addicted !!!!!
              • pinecone20
                pinecone20Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 6:37 pm55 stars
                READ THIS!!!!!!!!! P.S. callie_b your book reviews are amazing!
                • pinecone20
                  pinecone20Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 6:31 pm55 stars
                  I love this!!! I am on the 4th book, Neverseen(actually I think I finished it), and my favorite characters are Dex and Keefe, and I like Biana too. It's kinda like Percy Jackson and Harry Potter, and I highly recommend this; Shannon Messenger is a great author!
                  • pinecone20
                    pinecone20Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 6:16 pm55 stars
                    This book is awesome!! I think that people who love fantasy and the Harry Potter series would love this book, which is the first in the series. The main character, Sophie Foster, lives a normal life, except for the fact that she skipped a couple of grades and could read minds. Sophie thinks this is weird, until she finds out she is an elf!! Another elf about her age, Fitz Vacker, brings her to the elf world (which is way better than the human world, by the way), and she makes fast friends, but learns astonishing secrets about herself.
                    • nyajira
                      nyajiraSaturday, December 28, 2019 at 4:15 pm55 stars
                      I really like this book! I also like Harry Potter and The Land of Stories series, so I guess I like books that include magic. I really recommend this book!