From J.K. Rowling, a warm, fast-paced, funny fairy tale of a fearsome monster, thrilling adventure, and hope against all odds.

Once upon a time there was a tiny kingdom called Cornucopia, as rich in happiness as it was in gold, and famous for its food. From the delicate cream cheeses of Kurdsburg to the Hopes-of-Heaven pastries of Chouxville, each was so delicious that people wept with joy as they ate them.

But even in this happy kingdom, a monster lurks. Legend tells of a fearsome creature living far to the north in the Marshlands... the Ickabog. Some say it breathes fire, spits poison, and roars through the mist as it carries off wayward sheep and children alike. Some say it's just a myth...

And when that myth takes on a life of its own, casting a shadow over the kingdom, two children - best friends Bert and Daisy - embark on a great adventure to untangle the truth and find out where the real monster lies, bringing hope and happiness to Cornucopia once more.

Featuring full color illustrations by children from across the United States and Canada, this original fairy tale from one of the world's most celebrated storytellers will captivate readers of all ages.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on November 10, 2020 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338732870
ISBN-13: 9781338732870
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bluedragon1
    bluedragon1Friday, January 15, 2021 at 1:30 pm55 stars
    Jk Rowling does it again! This is another amazing book that I highly, highly, suggest you read. Once you start reading you’ll never want to stop!!! Its a fascinating plot with intriguing characters. I ❤️ it. Once again, please read this book! You wont regret it. ;)
    • blessing2015
      blessing2015Thursday, January 14, 2021 at 2:33 pm55 stars
      I love this book. I like Harry Potter to and JK Rowling wrote Harry Potter,but the book is kinda long. It's 64 chapters long,but it's a good story so far. I'm on chapter 24 and I like it so far. And it has pictures for children from from all across the USA 🇺🇸 and Canada 🇨🇦,and filled with suspenseful moments and unexpected twists. So all the Harry Potter lovers I think you'll love this book.
      • kenna626
        kenna626Sunday, January 3, 2021 at 1:47 pm44 stars
        This book is really good and about royalty which is also cool. The bakery is cool too. Hopes of Heaven sounds like a mouth watering dessert .
        • luvharrypotter
          luvharrypotterTuesday, December 29, 2020 at 1:53 pm55 stars
          I'm reading this right now!!
          • ginnyweasley2
            ginnyweasley2Monday, December 28, 2020 at 10:11 am44 stars
            There are lots of good reviews, so I'll just put on a brief description. Cornucopia is ruled by king Fred. He is very handsome, and everybody loves him. The crops are always good in Cornucopia, and there is nothing lacking. Then, suddenly, a man from the marshlands, where everybody believes in the Ickabog and the crops aren't as good, comes to report that his dog was stolen by the Ickabog. King Fred and the two lords, Lord Spittleworth and Lord Flappoon accompany him. When they get there, a fog rolls in and the King claims to have seen the Ickabog, and a top officer, Major Beamish, has been killed by the Ickabog (or so Lords Spittleworth and Flappoon claim). The lords get the king to make a tax, the Ickabog tax, but the lords take all the money for themselves, and not for the defense against the Ickabog. The people don't have enough money for themselves anymore, and some have to give their children to orphanages so they have enough to eat. Four children from an orphanage realize that they are the only ones who know the true story, and they have to figure out how to save the kingdom from the evil lords. Just warning you, this book doesn't have a lot of action.
            • ginnyweasley2
              ginnyweasley2Monday, December 28, 2020 at 10:13 am44 stars
              But I was disappointed that I didn't win with one of my entries for the contest, as I thought one of my entries ( a map of Cornucopia), was good enough to win.
            • cavachon
              cavachonSunday, December 13, 2020 at 5:58 pm55 stars
              The Ickabog is the story of two best friends called Bert and Daisy who embark on a great adventure. When Daisy's father named Dan Dovetail gets put in prison by two evil lords called Lord Spittleworth and Lord Flapoon, A man who was part of a group called the Ickabog Defense Brigade called Private Prodd was sent to kill Daisy. But instead of killing her, he brought her to a orphanage called Ma Grunter's Orphanage. I really like the book! I recommend it for 7 year old and up.
              • callie_b
                callie_bThursday, December 10, 2020 at 5:56 pm55 starsFeatured
                The story of the Ickabog shows just how quickly a little lie can turn into a never-ending deception. In Cornucopia, each part of the kingdom is known for having a specialty food that they are the best at making, like cheeses or pastries. Best friends Daisy and Bert have heard the rumors and legend of the Ickabog, a massive monster that eats people, but they always knew they were just stories... or were they? When a shepherd from the Marshlands, a far out and rural part of the kingdom, says the Ickabog ate his dog, ruler King Fred the Fearless doesn't believe him at first. Fred thinks going to investigate the Ickabog would be the perfect opportunity to prove that he could be a good king with no risk after people had begun to call him selfish, vain, and cruel, since the Ickabog was only a myth... right? His advisors Spittleworth and Flapoon concoct a story of lies after an accident on the journey about encountering the real Ickabog with King Fred saving the day, and it spreads through Cornucopia faster than Bert can eat a Hopes-of-Heaven pastry. Taxes and defense brigades are put in place to help protect from the supposed Ickabog, even though Spittleworth knows he made it all up, and the only thing the defense brigade taxes were helping was the flow of money into his pockets. Daisy and Bert are determined to thwart Spittleworth after learning some shocking information, and they are ready to do whatever it takes to restore peace to the kingdom. But Spittleworth is dangerous, threatening to kill and imprison their families if they don't stay quiet. It's a battle of the wits to determine who will come out on top. This book was AMAZING! I love a good fairytale, and this book did not disappoint! J.K. Rowling worked her magic again into this page-turner that will keep your imagination running. The suspense, adventure, plot-twists and complex characters really made this book enjoyable, and I loved every minute of it. I was transported into a magical world with endless possibilities as I read this book! The colorful illustrations made by kids throughout the book were the cherry on top! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone in need of a great fairytale, and I would recommend it for ages 8+.
                • jkbear
                  jkbearTuesday, December 15, 2020 at 5:19 pm55 stars
                  good job
                • lolineptune
                  lolineptuneWednesday, December 9, 2020 at 8:26 am55 stars
                  This book is amazing. It really shows how someone who is a normal person can grow up to become something awesome. And some people that have lived there lives as a bad person can grow into a new good person. It has the right writing style to hook someone in and it is shows just how a word can travel, and stories and myths can be misleading. It also shows that you don't have to be who people say you are. People said that the Ickabog would eat you, and it was a horrible nasty beast, when in fact only wanted to eat the children because it wanted it's children to live a life that humans expect it to. This was a good book and I definitely recommend it!
                  • luvharrypotter
                    luvharrypotterTuesday, December 8, 2020 at 9:31 am55 stars
                    So.good so far!!
                    • hamilfan99
                      hamilfan99Thursday, December 3, 2020 at 11:06 am55 stars
                      I love all the names in it, and I am on chapter 6 and I love it so far!!