Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 8, 2017 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 1419729454
ISBN-13: 9781419729454
924 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jonathanThursday, February 20, 2020 at 9:38 am
    I think the dairy of a wimpy kid is cool and dairy of a awsome friendly kid is cool
    • sillyben
      sillybenThursday, February 20, 2020 at 1:21 am
      This book is amazing
      • bookycat
        bookycatWednesday, February 19, 2020 at 6:13 pm55 stars
        I randomly at school picked a book to read and I found this it is a book you cant put down
        • Aiden Saturday, January 18, 2020 at 7:34 pm
          I love diary of a wimpy kid because it's funny
          • MEMELOVER Saturday, January 18, 2020 at 6:16 am
            I absolutely love this book it is so amazing and funny 🤣🙃🤪
            • 22mreyes
              22mreyesFriday, January 10, 2020 at 5:15 pm22 stars
              I give this a 2 star because it is not the best book of the books. This remind me of me enter into midlschool. This book is about how Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving.
              • wosazeke-156539765239
                wosazeke-156539765239Monday, December 2, 2019 at 1:35 pm55 stars
                its popular too
                • wosazeke-156539765239
                  wosazeke-156539765239Monday, December 2, 2019 at 1:34 pm55 stars
                  i love it because its funny and its nice and cool
                  • mike-6613006
                    mike-6613006Monday, November 25, 2019 at 9:29 am55 stars
                    I read this book because it is cool other people read it their are a lot of book of it so it popeler.
                    • chocolate168
                      chocolate168Monday, November 18, 2019 at 12:48 am55 stars
                      This is a really funny book.