Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.887661

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth's fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She's a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister's illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai's, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world's future.

Marissa Meyer on Cinder, writing, and leading men
Which of your characters is most like you?
I wish I could say that I'm clever and mechanically-minded like Cinder, but no―I can't fix anything. I'm much more like Cress, who makes a brief cameo in Cinder and then takes a more starring role in the third book. She's a romantic and a daydreamer and maybe a little on the naïve side―things that could be said about me too―although she does find courage when it's needed most. I think we'd all like to believe we'd have that same inner strength if we ever needed it.
Where do you write?
I have a home office that I've decorated with vintage fairy tale treasures that I've collected (my favorite is a Cinderella cookie jar from the forties) and NaNoWriMo posters, but sometimes writing there starts to feel too much like work. On those days I'll write in bed or take my laptop out for coffee or lunch.
If you were stranded on a desert island, which character from Cinder would you want with you?
Cinder, definitely! She has an internet connection in her brain, complete with the ability to send and receive comms (which are similar to e-mails). We'd just have enough time to enjoy some fresh coconut before we were rescued.
The next book in the Lunar Chronicles is called Scarlet, and is about Little Red Riding Hood. What is appealing to you most about this character as you work on the book?
Scarlet is awesome―she's very independent, a bit temperamental, and has an outspokenness that tends to get her in trouble sometimes. She was raised by her grandmother, an ex-military pilot who now owns a small farm in southern France, who not only taught Scarlet how to fly a spaceship and shoot a gun, but also to have a healthy respect and appreciation for nature. I guess that's a lot of things that appeal to me about her, but she's been a really fun character to write! (The two leading men in Scarlet, Wolf and Captain Thorne, aren't half bad either.)

Paperback, 448 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250007208
ISBN-13: 9781250007209
134 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • GRFBTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 2:18 pm
    This book is by far the worst book I have ever read which is really ironic considering the fact I've read some awful ones. The plot twists in this book is just down right bad. It ends on a bad cliff hanger that doesn't want for more or make me want to read the second book. The book takes Cinderella and gets rid of everything that makes it a classic fairy tale. The overall lack of detail also doesn't help its case. And the villain doesn't get introduced in person early enough to allow us to enjoy her. Its opening is subpar and the only decent part is the ball. Loving books so much it's a mystery to me on why anyone would like this one
    • queen_luna
      queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 4:36 pm55 stars
      This a a fantastic book! It takes the old Cinderella fairy tale that everyone loves and gives it an exciting reboot that is sure to have you on the edge of your seat. This book is a captivating mix of adventure and romance that leaves you breathless and begging for more. Cinder's character is an inspiring figure for people of all ages.
      • girlpower4ever
        girlpower4everSaturday, October 27, 2018 at 1:39 pm55 stars
        This is an awesome book and retelling/spinoff of the classical fairytale, Cinderella. In this amazing text, Cinder, though a robot, fights her own feelings. She can't be in love with Prince Kai, can she? She has other things to worry about--such as the fact that Adri, her owner, hints that she wants to give Cinder away for letumosis testing. Chock-full of adventure, emotions, romance, and mystery, I give this book a 100 out of 5 stars!!
        • esquay
          esquayFriday, August 10, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 stars
          I like Cinder but hate Kai.
          • linhcinder
            linhcinderMonday, July 23, 2018 at 10:43 am55 stars
            This book is so great. There is lot of adventure but also amazing romance. I really recommend this book.
            • Cupcake Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 6:09 am
              I've read many fractured fairy tales, but this one was very special to me. I love how they put a complete spin on Cinderella, with special elements that makes this book a page turner. I'm just in awe of how the author was able to pull off a sci-fi, futuristic spin of Cinderella so well. If you're looking for a page turner that keeps you on the edge of your seat, this is the perfect book for you. I have read the entire series plus the additional books by Marissa Meyer, and I gotta say, every book you read just keeps getting better and better in the Lunar Chronicles. It is by far one of my favorite book series! You really get attached to the characters and how they grow and develop throughout the series. I do, however, recommend this series for middle schoolers, or at least ages 10+ because there are some slight themes that you need to be a bit mature to read, but other than that, a perfect book! If you ever spot a Cinder at your library, please take the time to read it! You won't regret it!
              • kittykat101
                kittykat101Thursday, June 21, 2018 at 7:40 am55 starsFeatured
                I love how this story is a twist on the classic, Cinderella, with it's own special elements that made it an entirely different story, unlike some retelling that are out there, that just change, say, Cinderella into a cat or something. Adding the cyborg element, that separated her from the rest of society, placing the story in the future, and changing the world into an empire really twists the story into a whole new world, all while staying in our world. Meshing together romance, sci-fi, fantasy, and war into a single book makes it appeal to many different kinds of readers. Now I have to find the third book! :) (Cress)
                • septembergirl
                  septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:44 pm55 stars
                  This is such a good idea. I loved this book so so so so so much. I hope to meet the author someday.
                  • mybooksandi
                    mybooksandiSunday, May 27, 2018 at 11:27 am55 stars
                    Where, oh where should I start with this one? Cinder… the book that tore me apart and thrilled me. Cinder by Marissa Meyer is about Cinder, a 33.65 % cyborg mechanic who lives with her step-mom and step-sisters. In this ‘dystopian-fantasy’, there are people called ‘Lunars’ that live on the moon. There is (of course) a charming Prince Kai that is heir to the throne and who (of course) likes Cinder. I liked this novel. And I love how Marissa Meyer based the entire the thing on the story of Cinderella but gave it a very interesting twist. I liked Cinder (the character). She was such a brave and well played character. Her curiosity is both interesting and lethal. And to have her as a cyborg made me love this book even more. The very fact that this novel takes place in a ‘plague-era’ made me read on. I find every book plague related very interesting. (EX- Cinder and the Mark of the Plague) The plot twist at the end wrapped everything nicely together, but I do have to say that I saw it coming. At the end, I really appreciate this novel. It was so interesting and fun. I am proud to say that I started my summer with a bang... Oh, and how many times did I say ‘interesting’ in this review? Very interesting. Five stars!
                    • victory
                      victoryWednesday, March 28, 2018 at 6:08 pm55 stars
                      this is the best book in the world because it shows you the different ways someone can be racist and that sometimes you need to see past the outside and look into the inside of a person.

                      Our Apps and Plugins