Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
1757 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ??Friday, February 15, 2019 at 2:50 pm
    I didn't think that Harry Potter was a very good book, it was kinda boring.
    • HoneybeeloverFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:27 am
      I started off kindergarten thinking that the world was going to be magical, but later found out that I was horribly wrong. After enough drama to last a lifetime, I started reading Harry Potter.When I ask people with Ravenclaw lunchboxes, Griffindor backpacks, or eccedera if they have ever read the books, every response so far has been like this: "Don't need to.I saw the movie." This practically has smoke coming out of my ears! Harry Potter's dedicated fans have actually read the books!
      • GummyGirlThursday, February 14, 2019 at 4:49 pm
        I have read this series FOUR TIMES. I REPEAT, FOUR TIMES. I am the LARGEST FAN EVER. J.K. Rowling is amazing, and I really like the way she made this book. It is my favorite book in the series. I am in 5th grade, but I began to read this in 2nd grade. It took me till 4th grade, but I finally finished the series for the first time in that 2-year span. My favorite characters are Hermione, Harry, Ron, Ginny, the Weasley Twins, and Dumbledore. I have the whole series on my bookshelf, and whenever I need to go into another world, I pick up one of J.K. Rowling's famous books.
        • lapetitcirque
          lapetitcirqueThursday, February 14, 2019 at 11:39 am55 stars
          It"s filled with magic and sorcery and adventure! it will keep you on your toes and will fill you with friendship!
          • collinawsomnessWednesday, February 13, 2019 at 10:45 am
            this is the best book ever
            • collinawsomnessWednesday, February 13, 2019 at 10:42 am
              it is the best book.omg
              • sunsetstarsread
                sunsetstarsreadTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 5:46 am55 stars
                i loveee harry potter
                • ravenclaw_gal
                  ravenclaw_galMonday, February 11, 2019 at 4:27 pm55 stars
                  Okay, first of all, I love this book, but there is something more important to talk about. Why in the world does everyone like Hermione?! I for one, am a Ginny fan. Hermione is so snobby, bossy, rude, a know-it-all, and just too perfect!!! She annoys me sooo much. I really do not understand why everyone likes her so much. I guess that after reading the books four times and watching the movies once, she just gets so boring to me. Like I said, I am a Ginny person. She is so underrated and overlooked cause all everyone cares about is Hermione. If you have only seen the movie, then must be like, "why do you like Ginny?" Well I'll tell you. Book Ginny is smart, cool, funny, brave, and amazing. That is why I like her. I will be coming back to this book every day if I can, so please post a response.
                  • turtle_girl
                    turtle_girlTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 3:48 pm
                    im not a harry potter fan and i know nothing whatsoever about it so i really don't know if i agree or not
                    • athletic_kid
                      athletic_kidTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 3:15 pm22 stars
                      this was the least well done harry potter book. the series is ok, but this book wasnt the best. my favorite charactor was harry.
                    • koolkat75
                      koolkat75Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 7:52 am55 stars
                      This was and still is one of my favorite book series. The book series follows the adventures of Harry, Ron, and Hermione in their 7 years at Hogwarts. The main character, Harry Potter, has been shut off from the Wizarding World for 10 years. On his 11th birthday, he gets a letter telling him he is a wizard, thus beginning his first year at Hogwarts. I recommend this book to anyone. It truly is a great series and is a must-read for anyone looking for a good fantasy series.
                      • Cal boy1Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 3:32 am
                        It's about a young wizard called Harry potter. He goes to a school called Hogwarts. He has to face LORD VOLDMORT the evil one.

                        Our Apps and Plugins