Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.736721
A funny, moving, and true story of an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face that's perfect for fans of Wonder—now available in the U.S.

When Robert Hoge was born, he had a tumor the size of a tennis ball in the middle of his face and short, twisted legs. Surgeons removed the tumor and made him a new nose from one of his toes. Amazingly, he survived—with a face that would never be the same.

Strangers stared at him. Kids called him names, and adults could be cruel, too. Everybody seemed to agree that he was “ugly.” But Robert refused to let his face define him. He played pranks, got into trouble, had adventures with his big family, and finally found a sport that was perfect for him to play. And Robert came face to face with the biggest decision of his life, he followed his heart.

This poignant memoir about overcoming bullying and thriving with disabilities shows that what makes us “ugly” also makes us who we are. It features a reflective foil cover and black-and-white illustrations throughout.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on February 7, 2017 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0425287777
ISBN-13: 9780425287774
87 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Alyssa allenWednesday, August 21, 2019 at 6:27 pm
    This is a really good book I had to do it for a reading project and I thought it was bring in the first chapters but it became so much more it became really interesting and true
    • isabellagamerab
      isabellagamerabFriday, July 19, 2019 at 6:31 pm55 stars
      Why does the book haved to be called ugly for yes the face is ugly but cant it be a better name but anyway its a great book
      • rina123aaa
        rina123aaaFriday, July 19, 2019 at 5:22 pm55 stars
        Great book, it is a true story. I tells you about the hardships someone can go through. it is also exciting and cool! i love it!
        • applebutter
          applebutterWednesday, July 17, 2019 at 9:59 am55 stars
          This is an amazing book, a must read. Everyone may think that this book is a knock off or a copy of the book Wonder. This book is a smudge similar but also completely different. If you get my roll. August Pullman only has a facial deformity but Robert has facial and limb deformity's. His parents did not protect him as well as Auggies parents did, he went to school right from the beginning. This book is AMAZING! and a must read.
          • alejo
            alejoMonday, July 15, 2019 at 3:27 pm
            This book seems interesting to me!
            • reader_red
              reader_redSunday, July 14, 2019 at 5:19 pm
              Sounds interesting!
              • ajg16
                ajg16Friday, July 12, 2019 at 12:04 pm55 stars
                The true story of Robert Hoge. This story starts the day Robert was born. I'm 1972 Robert was born with a tumor in the middle of his face and short, twisted legs. His mom left him at the hospital and said she did not want him. Finally, after asking everyone she knew asking for there opinions agree asked her 4 other children. They all voted "yes" to keep the new baby. His mom's love grew for him fast and fierce even though she had doubts at the beginning. He has had many operations when he was a young child. And when he was older they have him opportunities to make his face look even more "Normal" it was a big decision and in the end he made a big choice. And I personally think he made a good choice .. I loved this book and it's an amazing, sad, heartbreaking, funny, loving, TRUE story. I recommend this to people who liked wonder (this tied with the book in my opinion.) Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
                • blox_watch
                  blox_watchThursday, May 2, 2019 at 3:15 am55 stars
                  This book seems similar to Wonder...
                  • Rowan.PoirierWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:07 pm
                    Good : l
                    • gameboy333
                      gameboy333Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:07 pm
                      looks like a knock off wonder
                      • ajg16
                        ajg16Friday, July 12, 2019 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                        This is NOT a "knock off" of wonder it's actually an amazing TRUE story. So don't "knock" it down before you've tried it.
                        • user123456789
                          user123456789Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 3:37 am44 stars
                          Please don't say that because this is actually a real story, not just a knock off