Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.45068
Raina Telgemeier’s #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning companion to Smile!

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540593
ISBN-13: 9780545540599
1294 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 586
    586Thursday, September 17, 2020 at 11:56 am55 stars
    because it is funny and I like it because I love sisters and all of the other books by the same author.
    • fennicfox
      fennicfoxTuesday, September 8, 2020 at 12:50 pm55 stars
      This book follows Raina's relationship with her sister, Amara. She approaches high school and goes on a road trip with her brother and sister from California to Colorado. Amara wants Raina's hidden colored pencils, she has to suffer a trip in the car with a snake Amara lost, and they never get along. Will this story have a happy ending? read to find out!
      • DawnThursday, September 3, 2020 at 12:43 pm
        I love this book because in it Raina and her sister Amara never got along but at the end of their road trip they actually found out that it was not nessasary to fight all the time
        • lilabug
          lilabugSaturday, August 22, 2020 at 5:42 pm55 stars
          I love this book! I can relate to Raina in a lot of ways! i love that. I have read this book about 15 times already and i have only had it for about 2 years
          • kkgautamm
            kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 1:13 pm44 stars
            another great raina telgemier book!this one is an autobiography about her and her sister, Tamara! i really liked how she and Tamara became closer towards the end of the book, especially after the car broke down.
            • magicalmythical
              magicalmythicalWednesday, August 5, 2020 at 5:51 pm55 stars
              OMG my older sister and I are the same mood just like Raina and Amara! No lie!
              • lilabug
                lilabugSaturday, August 22, 2020 at 5:40 pm55 stars
                My little sister are also like this!
              • howls
                howlsSaturday, August 1, 2020 at 1:14 pm
                I have a sister too and this is so spot on πŸ‘
                • taffywaffy
                  taffywaffyFriday, July 31, 2020 at 12:39 am55 stars
                  When I read this,I was like this is tottaly me and my siblings,I've always wanted siblings but at the end,I 100% regret my hope. Hahahahah:)🀭🀭
                  • sweet-readlover
                    sweet-readloverSunday, July 26, 2020 at 3:15 am55 stars
                    I love that book. It is kinda like me except about wanting a sisterπŸ˜‚
                    • powergirl2
                      powergirl2Friday, July 24, 2020 at 2:44 am55 stars
                      It makes me care more about my siblings so much that I can sacrifice my happiness for them lol omg πŸ’šπŸ’›πŸ§‘πŸ’œπŸ€©it so interesting and amazing