Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578
In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.
Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on October 2, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445939
ISBN-13: 9781442445932
75 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Akfire4Saturday, September 1, 2018 at 1:29 pm
    The book started of nice and easy. I read the whole series and loved the books. I think that over all, I liked the book but I could have given a lot of suggestions on how to make it better. The book was sometimes dragging and other times it didn't have much level of interest. I really liked the characters and the perspective of each individual. My favorite character is Keefe Sencen.The reason I think that is because he sacrifice's many things for his friendship. I also think that Keefe does many silly and dumb things that make his friends very annoyed by him. Fitz Vacker is not a bad character, I feel like Fitz should have been different when his dad almost lost his mind. Biana Vacker, she's not a bad person. But I honestly feel like she's a bit of a wannabe, but then again so are the others. Biana is a very kind and interesting type of girl. Dex Dizznee, I like that he's always there for Sophie and cares about her. Dex is also very brilliant and has has lots of determination. Then we have Sophie Foster, she's probably the only character in the book who has many powers. She's the main character of the book and understands Keefe Sencen more than anybody actually does. Then there's Tam and Linh who are fraternal twins (aka, dizygotic twins). Linh is a hydrokinetic and Tam's power is shadows. The whole book is great and I certainly recommend this book to read.
    • armcginn
      armcginnTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 4:15 pm55 stars
      The Keeper of the Lost Cities is the twentieth book I have read and reviewed this summer though Dogo Books, I it was a quick and easy book, because I read very fast! it was lots of fun and a very enjoyable book!
      • readingkendal
        readingkendalSaturday, August 25, 2018 at 7:54 am55 stars
        Sophie Foster is a normal girl right? Wrong. During a class field trip she meets this strange boy who happens to be a telepath like her. She thinks he's joking but when he whisks her away to a magical world she finally believes him. When she makes new friends and finally feels as if she just might fit in trouble finds her.It takes all the help she can get plus more t save herself and her friends.to find out more read Keeper of the lost cities.
        • esquay
          esquayFriday, August 10, 2018 at 5:29 pm55 stars
          If you haven't read this series than you are my enemy.If you don't want to be my enemy than you have to read this series.All hail team Foster-Keefe!
          • jwarne
            jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 5:10 pm55 stars
            I thought it was cool that Sophie found out she had so many powers and was an elf, but I also thought it was sad that she had to leave her family to live with the elves. It's a good book, though, and it was really exciting.
            • ajg15
              ajg15Thursday, July 26, 2018 at 12:37 pm55 stars
              Sophie Foster is a 12 year old girl and she has a secret...she's a telepath. She's been keeping the secret since she was 5 years old – that all changes the day she meets Fitz. A boy who shows up out of nowhere and is also a telepath! She's always felt like she didn't belong in her family-friendly and she doesn't really, but she finds a place where she does and in order to protect her family she leaves. Sophie has secrets in her memory - that other people want desperately. This hey would even kill for them. I did what you should never do...I judged the cover and almost didn't read it. But! I was so wrong this book is amazing and I was so excited to find out there was more in the series. Anyways great read, thanks for reading -Ajg15's reviews
              • catface7312
                catface7312Tuesday, July 24, 2018 at 2:12 pm
                It's really surprising because the main character Sophie is 12, but in high school!! I love how she puts others first, like her family and friends. Sophie also experiences being a teenager for the first time, which leads to heartbreak, but she had three potential crushes. I really enjoyed this book and I definitely recommend it to middle schoolers/jr high.
                • esquay
                  esquayFriday, August 10, 2018 at 5:32 pm55 stars
                  sweet review.
                • soyster
                  soysterFriday, July 20, 2018 at 2:47 pm55 stars
                  This book was really addicting. It follows the story of a girl named Sophie Foster who lived with her human family. Her life typically normal until her life took a 180 degree turn when she found out that she's an elf. Sophie is dragged into a world filled with danger and magic as she tries to find a way to navigate through it all. This book kept me hooked until the very end, and made me really want to read the other books in this series. I would recommend this book to anyone out there who likes fiction.
                  • hiyaworld14
                    hiyaworld14Thursday, July 19, 2018 at 1:01 pm55 stars
                    Before I read it I didn't think I would like it, but as soon as I finished the first chapter, I was hooked. I finished this book in a day and then reread it. I can't wait to get the next one. Sophie is probably relatable to the average 7th grade awkward girl, or maybe just any girl who feels like they don't fit in. 100/10, definitely would recommend.
                    • jso6
                      jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 3:14 pm55 stars
                      Sophie is a twelve year old girl who is way higher of a grade than any other girl her age. The reason is because she can read minds. She wants to know her secrets, but they're dangerous. This was very interesting, and i would totally recommend it.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins