Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.598578
In this riveting debut, a telepathic girl must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world—before the wrong person finds the answer first.

Twelve-year-old Sophie has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades and doesn’t really connect with the older kids at school, but she’s not comfortable with her family, either. And Sophie has a secret—she’s a Telepath, someone who can read minds. But the day Sophie meets Fitz, a mysterious (and adorable) boy, she learns she’s not alone. He’s a Telepath too, and it turns out the reason she has never felt at home is that, well…she isn’t. Fitz opens Sophie’s eyes to a shocking truth, and almost instantly she is forced to leave behind her family for a new life in a place that is vastly different from what she has ever known.
But Sophie still has secrets, and they’re buried deep in her memory for good reason: The answers are dangerous and in high-demand. What is her true identity, and why was she hidden among humans? The truth could mean life or death—and time is running out.
Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on October 2, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445939
ISBN-13: 9781442445932
64 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jso6
    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 3:14 pm55 stars
    Sophie is a twelve year old girl who is way higher of a grade than any other girl her age. The reason is because she can read minds. She wants to know her secrets, but they're dangerous. This was very interesting, and i would totally recommend it.
    • paintlover13
      paintlover13Sunday, July 15, 2018 at 5:43 amFeatured
      Sophie Foster had never truly fit in. She is a truly gifted student and has skipped grades ahead of her peers, but even more importantly, she is a telepath. Unbeknownst to her family and the world, Sophie hears the thoughts of everyone around her. At a field trip one day, a boy shows up, the only person whose thoughts she cannot hear. The boy, Fitz, whisks her away to the magical elven world where she truly belongs. But even in the elven world, she stands out. She has twelve years to catch up on, an elven school and impossible classes she must ace, and a new life to navigate. But besides her new challenges something darker lurks, things concerning where and who she came from and why she was placed with humans. "Keeper of the Lost Cities" promises mystery, intrigue, and a magical feeling down to the very last page. This is the first book of a series and, personally, I like this one very much, but as the series goes on, it begins to get drawn out.
      • LizThursday, July 12, 2018 at 11:47 am
        I 100% LOVED this! I found the characters to be very relatable and quite hilarious! If you get the chance, you really ought to read this!
        • midnightluna
          midnightlunaTuesday, July 10, 2018 at 3:28 pm55 stars
          I absolutely LOVE the Keeper of the Lost Cities series! It is amazing, entertaining, and funny! The main character (Sophie), is very relatable and down to earth, and her friends will crack you up for ages!
          • 30057
            30057Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 8:15 am
            The Keeper of the Lost Cities sounds like a really interesting and exciting book to read. When I first read the summary of the book it seemed amazing how the girl could read minds. Plus, the book is rated 5 stars, so it has to be great! I am really interested to begin reading this story and the rest of the series along with it.
            • kenziegirl2008
              kenziegirl2008Thursday, July 5, 2018 at 11:36 am55 stars
              Sophie Foster has always felt different from other kids not to mention the fact that she has skipped mlutiple grades and she can read minds. One day a mysterious boy shows up and tells Sophie tha she is not human but an elf. This strange boy (named Fitz) turns out to be a mind reader too or more specifically a telapath. Sophie is forced to leave the human world and leave the only family she has ever known and move into the Lost cities. While there Sophie aplys to a amazing elf school called Foxfire where she has to erase everything she has ever learned. There are many more events tht happen though...
              • letscutitout
                letscutitoutSunday, July 1, 2018 at 7:28 am
                Exciting way to present an important topic that so many kids deal with - Belonging & life changes. We all face those things. I like how it was presented in kind of a mysterious way.
                • belle252
                  belle252Friday, June 29, 2018 at 9:39 pm33 stars
                  I feel like I have read these types of books a lot and they're always kind of the same nothing to different though it was good and kept me hooked till the end
                  • applemango
                    applemangoMonday, June 25, 2018 at 8:38 pm55 stars
                    I read this book on my computer...........it didn't download on to my kindle......but this book is filled with magical events that are just so amazing!!!! This book just really pops my eye out!!!
                    • esquay
                      esquayFriday, June 22, 2018 at 5:04 pm55 stars
                      I am a grade six student who spends all my spare time reading, and this book is the best book EVER!!! The main character is a telepathic elf girl who can teleport! A recommended read for all ages.

                      More TopicsView in 3D