Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V4.873053
"Wonder" is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. The thing is, Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, "Wonder" follows Auggie's journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, "Wonder" is a book you'll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.
Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
3588 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • slushie
    slushieWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 1:43 pm55 stars
    this book is the best it shows you your beautiful no matter what and not to make fun of people this book is sweet the author should make more books about this I heard about a movie that I about this book and I always wished to see the movie but I never did I recommend this book to people that have a hard time struggling with the same problem as Auggie and be happy that there not the only ones and that there not alone and they can be happy :)
    • natashaWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 12:43 pm
      i loved this book and have read it many times
      • taydatatertot
        taydatatertotWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 12:34 pm33 stars
        If I'm being honest, the characters were nice and stuff- yes, what everyone is saying. But............ it just wasn't humanity. Auggie thinks he's the center of everything and all of that stuff. "I have such a horrible life I'm the poorest kid in the world..." not to be rude or anything tho.
        • hitoallMonday, April 15, 2019 at 6:33 pm
          this book was a wonderful book about Auggie and his deformed face. I really enjoyed it. Everyone was into Auggie"s face at school and how he had came over all that
          • TiaMonday, April 15, 2019 at 4:51 am
            This book is amazing to read.i really enjoyed it.
            • CocosingerSunday, April 14, 2019 at 11:26 am
              Love it!!
              • CocosingerSunday, April 14, 2019 at 11:25 am
                It is soo awesome!! I watched the movie too
                • Zahra Saturday, April 13, 2019 at 2:41 am
                  This book is amazing 😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀
                  • angeltnt1234
                    angeltnt1234Friday, April 12, 2019 at 7:33 am22 stars
                    Wonder is a book that moves hearts and changes people's ways of thinking about "ugly" people. It explains very well how people may look ugly, but on the inside has an amazing life - changing story that doesn't only effect their lives, but others begin to feel sympathetic. I would easily rate this book 5 stars because it isn't only just a story book but is a book that has a very important moral to take from it. This book is about a boy called August Pullman who has Treacher Collins Syndrome - a facial disfunction diagnosis - and has never been to school before. This book is about when he has to finally enter fifth grade and how people reacted to his unique face. He makes friends, he loses friends, and he laughs and cries and thanks his mum for making him go to school after that tough year. This book was based on a real story about a boy called Nathaniel who had to go into sixth grade. After having 53 surgeries before he was 11, Nathaniel has an inspiring story and a beautiful heart inside. He inspired R.J. Palacio to write the book 'Wonder'.
                    • RafsterWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 10:46 pm
                      Wonder is a book that moves hearts and changes people's ways of thinking about "ugly" people. It explains very well how people may look ugly, but on the inside has an amazing life - changing story that doesn't only effect their lives, but others begin to feel sympathetic. I would easily rate this book 5 stars because it isn't only just a story book but is a book that has a very important moral to take from it. This book is about a boy called August Pullman who has Treacher Collins Syndrome - a facial disfunction diagnosis - and has never been to school before. This book is about when he has to finally enter fifth grade and how people reacted to his unique face. He makes friends, he loses friends, and he laughs and cries and thanks his mum for making him go to school after that tough year. This book was based on a real story about a boy called Nathaniel who had to go into sixth grade. After having 53 surgeries before he was 11, Nathaniel has an inspiring story and a beautiful heart inside. He inspired R.J. Palacio to write the book 'Wonder'.

                      Our Apps and Plugins