Far off the coast of California looms a harsh rock known as the island of San Nicholas. Dolphins flash in the blue waters around it, sea otter play in the vast kep beds, and sea elephants loll on the stony beaches.

Here, in the early 1800s, according to history, an Indian girl spent eighteen years alone, and this beautifully written novel is her story. It is a romantic adventure filled with drama and heartache, for not only was mere subsistence on so desolate a spot a near miracle, but Karana had to contend with the ferocious pack of wild dogs that had killed her younger brother, constantly guard against the Aleutian sea otter hunters, and maintain a precarious food supply.

More than this, it is an adventure of the spirit that will haunt the reader long after the book has been put down. Karana's quiet courage, her Indian self-reliance and acceptance of fate, transform what to many would have been a devastating ordeal into an uplifting experience. From loneliness and terror come strength and serenity in this Newbery Medal-winning classic.

Paperback
Published on July 7, 2016 by PUFFIN
ISBN-10: 0141368624
ISBN-13: 9780141368627
172 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • claireawsome247
    claireawsome247Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 7:05 am
    I heard that this book is awsome.I also want to read this book because the title and the cover picture makes me calm down.It might be awsome!!!You never know!!!
    • BookreaderThursday, October 12, 2017 at 6:51 pm
      it was a very good book you should read it
      • lucasb2007
        lucasb2007Friday, May 26, 2017 at 5:12 pm
        I wasn't so sure when my mom told me I should read this book, but it turns out it was a very good book. I liked the story of the girl living on the island and living off the land. It was sad to read about some of the things that happened to her, but it was also great to she how strong she was. I think this is a good book to teach about how to keep going and doing your best.
        • kittykitkat
          kittykitkatFriday, May 12, 2017 at 10:01 am55 stars
          I cried it was so good.
          • princessmuscles
            princessmusclesTuesday, February 7, 2017 at 3:34 pm44 starsFeatured
            This is a really addicting book with excitement and points of sadness.A novel that has a heartwarming sense of weirdness that transforms into beautiful culture.A mix of a fantasy and non-fiction.This is a book that is based on real life event in the coastal town of Galas-at,a Native tribe village.This is a really lovely story and recommend this uplifting book for all ages!
            • juanstayballing
              juanstayballingFriday, December 16, 2016 at 12:32 pm55 stars
              far off the coast of california looms a harsh rock known as san nicols islamd. Blue dolphins splash in the water surounding it, sea otters play in the kelp bed, and seabirds roost in its crags. once, Islands aslo lived on the island until one day they decided to leave and sailed to the east.
              • annabethhermone
                annabethhermoneThursday, November 3, 2016 at 7:12 pm
                My class is going to read this book.... My Sis say its a WONDERFUL book
                • iifreeze
                  iifreezeWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 5:30 pm
                  A great book. Karana is left on an island and must use her surroundings to survive.
                  • bluejems
                    bluejemsWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 5:25 pm
                    I didn't read the whole book but it was good I guess.
                    • pororo06
                      pororo06Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at 12:29 am55 stars
                      This is a story I read in 4th grade. It was so good that I can remember every single detail in this book. It related to the Native Americans, a subject we were learning in Social Studies. I think it helped me learn new facts about Native Americans.

                      More TopicsView in 3D