Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5U4.345905
The first book in the #1 bestselling phenomenon sends readers around the world on the hunt for the 39 Clues!

Minutes before she died Grace Cahill changed her will, leaving her decendants an impossible decision: "You have a choice - one million dollars or a clue."

Grace is the last matriarch of the Cahills, the world's most powerful family. Everyone from Napoleon to Houdini is related to the Cahills, yet the source of the family power is lost. 39 Clues hidden around the world will reveal the family's secret, but no one has been able to assemble them. Now the clues race is on, and young Amy and Dan must decide what's important: hunting clues or uncovering what REALLY happened to their parents.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on October 1, 2008 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545090547
ISBN-13: 9780545090544
193 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • aaa57
    aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:46 pm55 stars
    I love this book Dan and Amy’s grandma dies and what she left her family was a hunt for the 39 clues now they travel all over the world to find them but it’s dangerous and Dan and Amy are orphans so the budget is tight join them on this epic quest and read the 39 clues.
    • gdub2019
      gdub2019Tuesday, June 25, 2019 at 6:01 pm55 stars
      I was in the mood to start a new series and thought I’d give this a try. It started off a little slow, then the game started and it got more interesting and I couldn’t put it down.
      • aaa57
        aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:47 pm55 stars
        Same for me
      • HiSunday, June 16, 2019 at 7:11 pm
        Good book
        • hahahahThursday, March 7, 2019 at 12:00 pm
          i love this book please rate this
          • boobooWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 4:17 pm
            You have a choice 1,0000 dollars or the first clue to your familys secret. If your Dan and Amy Cahill you choose the first clue. I love books that are sad and mysterious. And this book fits my loves. I give it 5 stars.
            • Percabeth Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 6:20 am
              I think it is an amazing book! For me it’s kind of difficult to find a book series that I become obsessed with, but this book is one of the fastest books to pull me in.
              • JoshuaSunday, September 9, 2018 at 11:55 pm
                The book is great and so is this websit!!
                • aria123
                  aria123Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 2:31 pm55 stars
                  I have read this book and it is awesome the 39 Clues books are so awesome. I would recomend these books to any one who likes adventure.
                  • coolkidbro
                    coolkidbroWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 5:21 pm55 stars
                    I've read the whole series, and it's amazing!!
                    • artpanda
                      artpandaMonday, August 7, 2017 at 10:53 am55 stars
                       BACK NEXT  When Old Grace Cahill kicks the bucket, her will reveals the first in a series of secrets that will take her heirs on an adventure around the world. Key among them are Amy and Dan Cahill, a brother and sister team determined to discover Grace's secrets. With the help of their glitter eye shadow-wearing, nose-ring-rocking au pair, Nellie, the three of them travel to Philadelphia and Paris on the trail of that guy on the front of the $100 bill: Benjamin Franklin. Along the way, they have to evade their conniving relatives. The Starling triplets interfere in Philadelphia, but are knocked out in an explosion meant for Amy and Dan. In Paris, former KGB agent Irina Spasky leads them into a trap; the Holts, a family of meatheads, almost get Amy and Dan buried alive; and their Uncle Alistair—alleged inventor of the microwave burrito—repeatedly betrays their trust. All along the way they're watched from a distance by the super creepy man in black who is secretly in cahoots with William McIntyre, Grace's attorney. Eventually, Amy, Dan, and Nellie find themselves in the Maze of Bones, an intricate series of Catacombs under Paris. There, they discover the origins of the four branches of the Cahill clan and a clue that will lead them to yet another country in pursuit of secrets behind another historical figure: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in Vienna, Austria. The hunt for clues is to be continued… I will tell you that you will love this series and love this book, it's full of adventure.