Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V4.873053
"Wonder" is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. The thing is, Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, "Wonder" follows Auggie's journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, "Wonder" is a book you'll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.
Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
3406 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Puppylover Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 4:03 pm
    I read this book in 3rd grade, and then in 5th grade we saw the movie, and it inspired me to read it again. This time I thought more deeply about Auggie Pullman’s point of view. August is just a boy who had facial deformities when he was born. He had many surgeries to fix this, but he still looks far from normal. Auggie has been homeschooled, because he has had so many surgeries, but now he is in 5th grade at a normal school. A lot of the kids bully him, but he has a few friends who stand up for him no matter what it involves (like punching a boy named Julian). But then a event (I won’t tell you what) happens that changes everything. Now Auggie is a basically a hero. This is a heartwarming story that everyone should definitely read.
    • hahahahahhaTuesday, December 11, 2018 at 11:18 am
      he is so cute like a puppy and strong
      • 35810010Wednesday, December 5, 2018 at 5:58 pm
        OMG this is fav book ever. ITS SO AWESOME. I have read this book 10 times and I’m going to read it 10 more until my brain explodes!
        • Nic SWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 10:25 am
          August Pullman was born with facial abnormalities and had 27 surgeries since then. His mom home schooled him for his elementary years, so kids wouldn’t make fun of him. But his parents decided to have him start normal school in 5th grade. When he started school everyone made fun of him, and he only had two friends Jack and Summer. He starts the year with his head held down, but it finishes with his head held up. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because it is a good story and not too sad, but this story does have some violence which I don't like. According to dogobooks.com this book is a 3rd grade through 8th grade reading level. I also think this book teaches some important lessons like, you can't judge a book by its cover, and you can't blend in when you were born to stand out.
          • Caleb Dickason Monday, December 3, 2018 at 7:22 am
            "Wonder" this book is a good lesson in life so thank you RJ Palicio the beginning is sad because Augie is being picked on in the middle things are turning out better because he is having a good time with summer and jack. At the end every thing turns out well.
            • 10761a
              10761aSaturday, December 1, 2018 at 1:34 pm55 stars
              I 💖 this book!!! #LifeChanged😀
              • JuanThursday, November 29, 2018 at 8:58 am
                "Wonder" is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. The thing is, Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, "Wonder" follows Auggie's journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, "Wonder" is a book you'll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.
                • marinette1991
                  marinette1991Wednesday, November 28, 2018 at 3:36 pm55 stars
                  I absolutely LOVED and I mean LOVED this book bunnygirl888 is right. NEVER judge a book by its cover. Judge it by what you read on the back of the book.
                  • bunnygirl888
                    bunnygirl888Tuesday, November 27, 2018 at 5:37 pm55 stars
                    This book I thought it would be boring but don’t judge a book by its cover This is about an extraordinary boy and is first day at school
                    • potatoanna
                      potatoannaTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 3:37 pm
                      I love this book because it’s true and you shouldn’t bully just because they’re ugly they could have a disease or been in a fire or somthing worse if you bully them your rude cause if they are still there they are awesome cause they survived or is surviving.

                      Our Apps and Plugins