Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
3686 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sillylily
    sillylilyMonday, June 24, 2019 at 6:46 am33 stars
    This book was really cool! This book was really fun too! Sometimes it was a little confusing and sad to read about, so some people may not want to read it. Otherwise, it was a good book!
    • sillylily
      sillylilyMonday, June 24, 2019 at 6:44 am33 stars
      I really enjoyed this book alot. It was full of lost of fun. At some points, the book was a little bit confusing and hard to read, but otherwise, it was a really good book!
      • rrwwnn
        rrwwnnSunday, June 23, 2019 at 10:16 pm55 stars
        I think it is a good book. August is a kid born with a facial difference. The book makes you a better person and teaches a lesson. It is a good book because it is based off of a true story. Auggie was trying to be nice but people just bullied him, except for Summer she was really nice to Auggie and didn't care what he looked like. If you read this I think you will like and it is for anyone
        • noahmrich
          noahmrichSunday, June 23, 2019 at 7:03 pm44 stars
          This was a really good book about a boy who was born with deformities and everyone makes fun of him. This was a very good book and I recommend it to any reader who has time on their hands.
          • 3009215
            3009215Sunday, June 23, 2019 at 3:42 pm55 stars
            I have read this book multiple times, and it continues to be one of my favorites. August Pullman is no ordinary kid. He was born with a facial abnormality, which causes him to look deformed. When 5th grade is right around the corner, his mother urges him to go to public school, which is a big change because he has been homeschooled his whole life. As the story progresses, it is told through the points of view of different people, showing that there is always at least two sides of the story. This book is great for 4th graders and up, because it really teaches an important lesson that everyone hears, but few people learn: Don't judge a book by it's cover.
            • 3bears
              3bearsThursday, June 20, 2019 at 10:23 am44 stars
              Wonder is a great book that really makes you feel what each and individual character is feeling due to the shift of character point of view every few chapters.
              • EllaThursday, June 20, 2019 at 8:36 am
                Really good book , i thoughly reccomend it !! 🙂
                • Alisha wood Wednesday, June 19, 2019 at 3:27 pm
                  I love the book and the movie I can't believe what those kids did to him they're so mean and when he was at the Halloween day at school his friend bailed on him and he told his friends that he he follows him around all of the time but they were such fans and that his mom told him shoe stop being mean to him because he just because you're different doesn't mean you have to stop being yourself I mean you just need to be nice and don't judge people by they're face about like how they talk or have a nice to you or just judge them about their personality and not their face or their body or their skin color just be nice for a change and don't bully some people want to stop by like boys because they're really mean bullies out there imagine you are being bullied would you be mad or would you like it half of the people are the children the world say I wouldn't like it so don't do that
                  • lawalex
                    lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:25 am55 stars
                    This heart-warming and breaking story about a disfigured boy is sure to keep you reading. This is a story obout friendship and love. And how everyone is special in their own way.
                    • iloveanimals3
                      iloveanimals3Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 2:46 am55 stars
                      I prefer the book to the film. When I last read Wonder, I felt sad and angry that Jack would talk behind someone's back in such a rude way. This book was very eventful and R.J. Palacio had great ideas.