Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3114 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • coolgamerboyMonday, December 10, 2018 at 10:22 am
    this book is great but kind f nasty
    • girlygamer1
      girlygamer1Friday, December 7, 2018 at 8:25 am55 stars
      This book is such a good book. Like no duhhh! This author has a very creative with its stories nad it drwing . definetly recommending it! ;)
      • marvinFriday, December 7, 2018 at 6:08 am
        it is very funny
        • ayumi
          ayumiThursday, December 6, 2018 at 5:11 pm55 stars
          It is a very good story, and I like this story. It is a good story about having braces. You should read it! I love this book!
          • mjmlol READWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:18 am
            Do you like the denticet?well if you do then you will like this book.One night Riana was raceing to her house and she fell head first and 2 teth fell out lukuly one of her girl scout troop leader to help her the other 2 friends raced to the door.they got her mom and took her to the denticet.A couple days she got braces.Going to midlle school was hard for her.READ TO FIND OUT MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • gabriana77
              gabriana77Monday, December 3, 2018 at 11:03 pm44 stars
              Super funny book! but I wish it was more about Riana than her teeth :(
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Monday, December 3, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 starsFeatured
                Just finished this book! I love it so much! I can really relate to Raina. (Besides the whole smashed-my-face-and-had-my-mouth-rearranged incident) I had to get braces. When I first touched the, my mouth exploded. Just like Raina's. I have to get headgear, just like Raina. Her dealing with it really helped me! Later when she was having boy problems, I was like "YES RAINA!" She also loves German! Can you believe it? I love this book because it's so easy to relate to and it's a true story! It's about being who you are on the inside and showing it on the outside. Don't care about what others think about you! Don't let what you are wearing affect your personality! Your friends love you because of who you are. If they are walking all over you, don't let them! This book is like a best friend I've waited my life to read. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read it! --BKS reviews
                • bookstory13
                  bookstory13Monday, December 3, 2018 at 7:11 pm55 stars
                  Correction: When I first touched the BRACES ;) :D lol! Typo, sorry!
                • virtual
                  virtualMonday, December 3, 2018 at 3:10 pm55 stars
                  I like this book very much because it teaches us that everyone is special. There is no need to compare who is better and who is not because everyone is different and unique.
                  • vioka
                    viokaMonday, December 3, 2018 at 2:19 pm55 stars
                    I like this book because it teaches us that no matter how you look, you shouldn't let others' word to distract you from doing anything. If anyone bullies you, tell them to stop or ignore them, instead of feeling down all the time. You should think that everyone is very special because there won't be another you. Everyone should believe in themselves, trust yourself that you can do anything if your heart wants to follow it. Show everyone that you are capable to be like them too! It is not you fault to be different, it is just meant to be like that. And tell yourself that it is their fault for looking down at you.
                    • peterpenguin
                      peterpenguinFriday, November 30, 2018 at 5:24 pm55 stars
                      Smile is a book that includes realistic fiction and problems that actual kids in Earth face. This story is about how Raina fell down from a race that her friends challenged her from. When Raina's mom set a dentist appointment for Raina, Raina freaked out. She always thought that braces were bad, and she had other things on her mind, which makes her lose focus. In the end, it turns out that Raina doesn't mind the braces staying in her mouth any longer.

                      Our Apps and Plugins