Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1351 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fjfj
    fjfjWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 11:55 am55 stars
    This first book in the Percy Jackson series is a book for all readers, old and young. In this book, Percy gets sent to a camp called Camp Half-Blood, which means he's part god. But it doesn't start out that way.... Percy is at a boarding school with his best friend Grover. When Percy leaves due to an unfortunate incident, he notices that his friend was not who he thought he was.......
    • kgautam
      kgautamWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 10:50 am55 stars
      when i first read this book, i did not really enjoy it. honestly, i liked the harry potter series better. but after rereading it years later, i fell in love with the characters and how great the story really is.
      • AbbyThursday, June 6, 2019 at 2:50 pm
        Book was fantastic and great for 6th graders to write an essay about,and a great summer book!Highly recommend to parents!😁
        • Laylee Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 12:55 pm
          This book is awesome. I could not stop reading this book. I never really particularly enjoyed Greek Mythology. but this book turned my mind around. This book is an awesome book for middle age readers who enjoy mystery and adventure.
          • ll274263
            ll274263Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 7:50 am44 stars
            i read this book so i can learn to read. and some quest
            • sjsj
              sjsjWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 10:01 am55 stars
              The Lightning Thief is an awesome page turner for every age, even adults! (I recommended this book to my dad, and he loved it!) So what are you waiting for? Go read it!
              • foxtastic
                foxtasticTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 8:53 pm44 starsFeatured
                This book made me laugh every turn of a page. Percy Jackson; The Lightning Thief is a book based off of Greek mythology, where some kids are demigods-- children of Ancient Greek gods and goddesses. Percy is just a normal kid with dyslexia with a best friend named Grover- who walks weirdly and has a beard; weird for a sixth grader! It turns out he's a satyr- half goat, half man, who was assigned to protect Percy, the son of Poseidon. Percy is soon accused of stealing Zeus's precious lightning bolt, and goes to adventures of visiting Medusa's garden, the Lotus Casino, (which is much more suspicious than it sounds) and even the realm of Hades; the Underworld. I enjoyed this book and reccommend for various reasons, and it even helped me learn and get interested in Greek mythology!
                • milkling
                  milklingThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:47 am55 stars
                  This book is about Percy Jackson. Everybody thinks he's a thief for he stole a lightning bolt from a god. And then get's sent off to Camp Half-Blood. Is he the thief or is everybody wrong about him? Find out in this exciting fun-book.
                  • sara1585944
                    sara1585944Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 4:25 pm55 stars
                    This is an awesome book that is recommended for ages 10+. Percy Jackson (the main character) is really likeable and relatable. I love how Greek mythology is incorporated into this novel. Great book!
                    • brawlstarschamp
                      brawlstarschampSunday, May 26, 2019 at 9:49 pm55 stars
                      This is the beginning to the best book series I've ever read! Percy Jackson is a normal kid. Except for one thing. Percy keeps getting kicked out of school! It turns out that Percy's dad is Poseidon!