Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2277 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • PeetaWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 1:22 pm
    This book is very good but grim, as it is about child slaughter. I think that it is for 5th and up
    • nasuada
      nasuadaThursday, January 10, 2019 at 2:59 pm55 stars
      I was dead to the world for about three days reading this trilogy. Katniss Everdeen is a survivalist. Born and raised in he impoverished district in the corrupted country of Panem (dystopian America), all of Katniss's efforts go directly to finding food. Every year, Panem holds a tournament, the Hunger Games. Each of the 12 districts must each send tributes, a teenage boy and girl, to compete. When Prim, Katniss's little sister, is picked against all odds, Katniss volunteers to go instead, which is practically unheard of in her district. Katniss is plunged into the Capitol, a world of lust, greed, and politics, and then into the arena, where anything goes. It was amazing.
      • katnissThursday, January 10, 2019 at 11:38 am
        best book ever loved it cant wat to read #3
        • willowstarr
          willowstarrThursday, January 10, 2019 at 6:03 am
          Such an amazing book! I've read so many books and Enjoy these so much. There probably one of my favorite books! I would suggest them. They are 3 books too! There not scary to me just a great book ;)
          • Katelyn Saturday, January 5, 2019 at 4:26 pm
            First off, this is a very well written book and I really liked, although there might be a few things that you mught want to know before you read it. So one of things that “bothered me” was the violence. I’m a big fan of Star Wars and Lord of the rings and stuff like that which has a lot violence and doesn’t bother me, but for some reason the violence in this book got to me.It very graphic and was kinda hard to read like the punishments the capital does to people really freaked me, and almost made me want to stop reading. There’s a lot of killing in same very bloody ways that I wouldn’t want my little sister who’s in 4th grade reading. The main character katniss described to be naked in two scenes in the book, but other than that I don’t remember any inappropriate. But other then those two things this book was very good
            • penguinsarecool
              penguinsarecoolTuesday, December 25, 2018 at 11:10 am55 stars
              Suzanne Collins has done the world a marvelous wonder by publishing this book. She has set up a wonderful, and may I add realistic, post apocalyptic world. I think I was in late second or early third grade when I read this. This book grasps your attention and sucks you into the book. I would say as long as you can understand at least 45% of the words and aren't too frightened by the topic, This can be appropriate for second graders to adults. This is a must read!
              • dunkelosteus587
                dunkelosteus587Friday, December 21, 2018 at 12:30 pm55 stars
                best book of all times!
                • Fiona Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 8:36 pm
                  I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!!!!! This is my favorite book out of the series.
                  • Reader/reviewerWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 2:36 pm
                    Is this book appropriate for forth graders?
                    • gabriana77
                      gabriana77Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 8:01 pm55 stars
                      I don't think this book is okay for fourth graders. My little sister is in fourth grade, and i wouldn't dare let her read it! she would get very scared and i'm afraid she wouldn't really understand it.
                    • pdogwar1821
                      pdogwar1821Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 10:09 am55 stars
                      this is the best movie ever this a the kind of book kids need to read and adults

                      Our Apps and Plugins