Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2323 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 10:44 am55 stars
    this is definitely another amazing book with extremely strong female lead characters. each time i read this series, it only gets better and better. highly recommend.
    • eowyn
      eowynThursday, June 6, 2019 at 5:11 pm
      my friend read it and sed it was sooo good. I really want to read it.
      • sjsj
        sjsjWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 10:05 am44 stars
        The Hunger Games is an awesome book! It has a little bit of everything, like violence and romance, to make up the perfect story! My sister recommended this book to me, and I loved it!
        • BroSunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:55 am
          Can't wait to get to read it
          • EVETuesday, May 28, 2019 at 5:43 pm
            This is a Book that is VEARY Interesting.
            • lilyang12697808
              lilyang12697808Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:58 am55 stars
              I it was very entertaining and it will make others who are reading it want to read the next one and even though there is only 3 of them in the series there are still the movies for later
              • Hunger Games!!Monday, May 27, 2019 at 12:42 pm
                This book is amazing! If you like lots of action and drama, this book is for you. It is very intense and sort of violent, but The Hunger Games is actually FUN to re
                • src123
                  src123Friday, May 24, 2019 at 4:55 am55 stars
                  I think its really interesting, and your not sure what is coming next
                  • Hello neighbor Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 4:59 pm
                    A great book!
                    • superomegagamer
                      superomegagamerTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 2:44 pm55 stars
                      Katniss Everdeen is forced to join the brutal Hunger Games, a contest based upon the Capitol and 24 tributes from the 12 districts (1 boy, 1 girl) to survive and kill. Along the way, Katniss receives a Mockingjay Pin from a friend (a mockingjay is a half mockingbird, half jabberjay hybrid; a jabberjay being a failed mutation made from the Capitol to spy on Rebels during the Dark Times), joins the alliance from Peeta Mellark, the boy tribute from District 12 (her district), receives a 11/12 on her review from the gamemakers, the people in charge of the Hunger Games, falls in love with Peeta, another alliance with Rue, the female district 11 tribute; kills Marvel (District 1 male tribute, revealed in Catching Fire, the sequel), Glimmer, Cato, and a girl tribute from District 4; gets wounded by a gamemaker fireball, hit by a mutation, stung by a tracker jacker (another mutation), and others; almost commits suicide to defy the Capitol, and is victorious along with Petta. This book is highly suggested to anyone from the 4th grade and beyond. To discover more, read the book!