Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 5M4.12315
The real-life, classic story of a dyslexic girl and the teacher who would not let her fail. A perfect gift for teachers and for reading students of any age.

Patricia Polacco is now one of America's most loved children's book creators, but once upon a time, she was a little girl named Trisha starting school. Trisha could paint and draw beautifully, but when she looked at words on a page, all she could see was jumble. It took a very special teacher to recognize little Trisha's dyslexia: Mr. Falker, who encouraged her to overcome her reading disability. Patricia Polacco will never forget him, and neither will we.

This inspiring story is available in a deluxe slipcased edition, complete with a personal letter to readers from Patricia Polacco herself. Thank You, Mr. Falker will make a beautiful gift for the special child who needs encouragement&150or any special teacher who has made a difference in the child's life.

Hardcover, 40 pages
Published on April 12, 2012 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399257624
ISBN-13: 9780399257629
11 Book Reviews
  • shrika_1234
    shrika_1234Saturday, April 3, 2021 at 5:46 am55 stars
    I love this book I also love this author she is really good at bring out morals in her books(pls follow)
    • dream_beyond
      dream_beyondFriday, April 2, 2021 at 4:50 am55 starsFeatured
      Learning to read is not easy, it takes practice. Once you know how to read it's like you're on an adventure! Patricia Polacco was different. She was not like the other kids. Why? Because she couldn't read. She had something called Dyslexia. All the other kids learned one word after the other and then they could read sentences, sentences became paragraphs and paragraphs became a chapter and soon the other kids could read a whole entire book, while Patricia was stuck on the same word. She tried over and over but words didn't make sense to her. The letters were like squiggly lines to her. As she grew older kids started teasing her and that led to bulling. One day she met her new class teacher, Mr. Falker! He helped her understand letters and soon she could read words and then came sentences very soon paragraphs and then one entire book! Thank you, Mr. Falker! My thoughts: I really liked this book! It teaches you and me to never give up! You might be wondering what Dyslexia is, it's a medical condition which makes it very difficult to read. I think this book is for ages 4+. I hope you will give this book a try!
      • shrika_1234
        shrika_1234Saturday, April 3, 2021 at 5:47 am55 stars
        My friend had Dyslexia but I helped her through it and now she won the spelling bee 🐝. (Pls follow trying to get to goal 250)
        • dream_beyond
          dream_beyondMonday, April 5, 2021 at 11:03 pm55 stars
          That is so nice of you, helping your friend!
      • gold3nglare
        gold3nglareThursday, March 4, 2021 at 10:42 am33 stars
        An amazing story! Patricia Polacco could not read until she was in 5th grade. Reading was her one weakness. Kids made fun of her and teased her about it. Her teachers had to help her on every single word when they called on her to read aloud. But there was one teacher that believed in Patricia. Will Patricia ever learn to read? Find out by reading this book.
        • superturtle
          superturtleMonday, April 2, 2018 at 2:34 pm
          I wanted to read this book because, my love for this author (Patricia Polacco) is MAD. This book was amazing. It reminded me of the struggles I have at school! I recommend this book to every one 4 or 5+.
          • dragonjade
            dragonjadeMonday, June 8, 2015 at 2:36 pm55 stars
            It really made me feel like I wasn't alone because my school gives me extra help with learning how to read, but I don't get bullied by any of the boys at my school.
            • cierrae
              cierraeWednesday, January 22, 2014 at 10:40 am
              this book is good
              • lwashington
                lwashingtonFriday, January 17, 2014 at 7:23 am44 stars
                this book is alright in my book!
                • ngiles2
                  ngiles2Monday, October 14, 2013 at 11:06 am55 stars
                  I love this book because some times I feel like the main character.
                  • riku
                    rikuTuesday, April 23, 2013 at 3:08 pm55 stars
                    OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK I CAN'T EVEN DESCRIBE HOW AMAZING IT IS PLEASE READ THIS