JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . .

ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . .

MAHMOUD is a Syrian boy in 2015. With his homeland torn apart by violence and destruction, he and his family begin a long trek toward Europe . . .

All three kids go on harrowing journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers -- from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, shocking connections will tie their stories together in the end.

This action-packed novel tackles topics both timely and timeless: courage, survival, and the quest for home.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545880831
ISBN-13: 9780545880831
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • selife
    selifeWednesday, July 10, 2019 at 1:28 pm
    This is a book that I have to read for school and I have not read it yet. This is a book for young adults. I think this will be an interesting book. This was a kid rating!
    • kitty!!!!Thursday, June 20, 2019 at 8:32 am
      awsomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!
      • omg alfieWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:53 am
        love it OMG!!!!!!!!!
        • KarenWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:52 am
          This book was better than asking for managers
          • Nu'NuWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:51 am
            I think this book is a sad book
            • betty Monday, June 17, 2019 at 12:03 pm
              the best book ever
              • HIFriday, June 14, 2019 at 8:57 am
                THIS BOOK LOOKS GOOD AND I JUST READ IT AND I CUD NOT PUT IT DOWN
                • my nam jefThursday, April 18, 2019 at 5:56 am
                  My class read this and boy, this was AMAZING
                  • intimidatingMonday, March 18, 2019 at 6:44 pm
                    I recommend this book for children ages 7-11 and I wouldn't recommend it for children under 7 because it has some adult subjects and some violence and monstrous events happening throughout the book. And it has sadness in it and lots of triumph and mystery but aside from that I have loved this book and I would love to read this novel again!! p.s. Thank you for creating this book.
                    • maiaMonday, March 18, 2019 at 6:35 pm
                      When I finished the end it was so hard not to tell!! this book is based on what refugees had to go through but the characters are not real people. i would recommend this book for classes to read together.