Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.356872
Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416971718
ISBN-13: 9781416971719
489 Book Reviews
  • kicyzity-160250579162
    kicyzity-160250579162Friday, April 9, 2021 at 6:49 am55 stars
    I think I give this book a 5 star because this book tells you about what it kind of feels like to have cerebral palsy, a disease that makes you not able to talk, move, or express yourself. And I have never known what it feels like to have cerebral palsy. Some suggestions I have for this book is maybe making a part 2 of this book or maybe there could be another book for "Out Of My Mind part 2" but overall I really love how this book describes what it feels like to have cerebral palsy.
    • unipug2
      unipug2Tuesday, April 6, 2021 at 1:15 pm55 stars
      I have read both the full novel and an excerpt. Melody is a smart fifth grader who has cerebral palsy.
      • ivyl2169
        ivyl2169Saturday, April 3, 2021 at 2:00 pm55 stars
        Possessing a photographic memory in spite of an inability to walk or speak, Melody is mistaken as mentally challenged by those who cannot see beyond her cerebral palsy, impelling her to discover a way to communicate.
        • wolfie_uwu
          wolfie_uwuSaturday, April 3, 2021 at 7:33 am
          I have been wanting to read this book for a long time since many people I know recommend it and I have read a small part of it for a assignment and it seems SUPER cool!
          • pompomhat
            pompomhatTuesday, February 23, 2021 at 3:25 pm55 stars
            This book is so detailed! Melody is our main character and cannot speak. She can neither feed or walk herself. It shows tiny snippets of her life and how difficult coping with her disability is. It was recommended by my teacher who knows I enjoy reading realistic fiction. I was amazed by everything! It reminds me of Fish in a Tree which is similar. If you liked this book you should try Fish in a Tree and Wonder! :]
            • mercury_dust
              mercury_dustMonday, February 22, 2021 at 10:10 am55 stars
              This book is AMAZING. When l first saw the cover, l was like, what? But as l started reading, l realized how good it was. Melody is a girl born with Cerebral Palsy, which makes it so that she is unable to speak and had a difficult time controlling her movements, but has a brilliant mind, a photographic memory, but everyone thinks she's helpless and can't do anything. The book is really bittersweet and has so many ups and downs, to top it all off, it's super funny. l completely recommend this book.
              • dream_beyond
                dream_beyondFriday, February 19, 2021 at 11:49 pm55 stars
                !!SPOILERS!! Wow. I don’t even know where to start! Well first off I just want to say that this book was... AMAZING!!! When I first saw the cover of the book I was like um... but then I saw that it had really good reviews and it turned out to be a wonderful book! Anyway back to the book. Melody is born with cerebral palsy so she can't pronounce words and she can't move properly but she has photographic memory. That makes her VERY smart but everyone else thinks she is helpless and can't do anything. WRONG! She has words in her mind and it sticks in her mind. She want's to talk and it's so frustrating not being able to express her feeling's, she can't even say I love you to her parents. How would you feel? I would feel angry and very upset. She goes to public school and has to stay in a room with other children. One day she get to be in an inclusion class. There she meets Rose. She is now in several other inclusion classes. She takes a test so that she can be on the Whiz quiz team and she made the team!! Now she moves on to the finals but the finals are in Washington DC. Melody packs for the trip and when they reach the airport Melody could not believe her ears, something that might make her forgive easily. My thoughts: Out Of My Mind is an amazing book and you can learn a lot from this book! 1. Just because you can't do something because maybe you got hurt or something like that does NOT mean you can't reach your goal! 2. Do not judge other people because they act weird or do something weird. I think this book is for ages 10+. I love the book soo much but I have to admit that I was a little bit angry with Melody's team. But I won't tell you the ending! And lastly Don't Judge A Book By It's Cover!!!!!! Have a great day! - annafantastic
                • shrika_1234
                  shrika_1234Saturday, April 3, 2021 at 10:17 am55 stars
                  I thought this would a boring book judging by the cover but now this sounds super interesting 🤔 I will definitely read it now.
                • PikachuUsedThunSunday, February 14, 2021 at 10:54 am
                  Why is this goldfish jumping out of the water? Is the fish out of water? 1. Is the fish in the cover jumped away? 2. Why is the fish running away? 3. What happens if a fish was out of water?
                  • chloe1103
                    chloe1103Tuesday, February 16, 2021 at 6:02 am55 stars
                    the book's title is 'out of my mind'. So I think the author is telling that the main character is struggling to get free (she can't move her body as she wants to), to get out of the cage.
                  • chloe1103
                    chloe1103Thursday, February 11, 2021 at 6:17 am55 stars
                    It's really good book. It's touching, and funny. The author wrote it very detailed that I almost thought she was the main character!
                    • thesmessywriter
                      thesmessywriterTuesday, February 9, 2021 at 8:26 pm55 stars
                      i really relate to this book