Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W6.8190858

It's the pivotal fourth novel in the seven-part saga of a young wizard's coming of age. The thickest. The juiciest yet. Harry Potter turns fourteen. But will all his friends? Rumors have persisted that one of the characters may not see the conclusion of this novel, something the author has refused either to confirm or deny. But we who love Ron, Hermione, Hagrid...even pitiful Neville Longbottom...wait anxiously to see if they will make it through safely. No one's fate is certain when Volde -- excuse me -- He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named is part of the picture.

What is certain is that a novel of excruciating suspense awaits, leavened by J. K. Rowling's inimitable sense of humor and the burgeoning details of her magical world. Whether it's taking a front-row seat at the International Quidditch World Cup, or meeting the new Defense-Against-the-Dark-Arts teacher, or finding out if Harry really does start a romance with Cho Chang, fans of the history-making boy-wizard will find their thirst for Hogwarts adventure slaked deliciously...at least for a little while!

Hardcover, 752 pages
Published on August 1, 2000 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439139597
ISBN-13: 9780439139595
380 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • triplets2009
    triplets2009Monday, April 22, 2019 at 3:04 pm44 stars
    I like it. It’s a good book
    • triplets2009
      triplets2009Monday, April 22, 2019 at 2:52 pm44 stars
      It’s a really good book. I like it. I liked the Chamber of Secrets better. I can’t wait to read the Order of the Phoenix
      • jordanMonday, April 15, 2019 at 9:10 am
        the best book i have ever read in my life
        • sprinklebooks
          sprinklebooksSunday, April 7, 2019 at 9:32 am55 stars
          This is my favorite book out of all the Harry Potter series, in this book Harry faces challenges that include dragons, mermaids, and mazes.
          • harrypotterTuesday, April 2, 2019 at 6:47 pm
            loved it
            • lonelee
              loneleeWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 3:21 pm
              By the way, the first time I read the Harry Potter series, my mom had to pay me to. Just today, i finished rereading it.. for the 37th time.
              • jilly_bean
                jilly_beanTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 4:44 am55 stars
                This is my favorite book in the whole world! Harry has just turned fourteen and back on his way to Hogwarts. After a crazy 3rd year, Harry finally wants a year to be calm and educational. But as they enter the Great Hall, a large goblet is lit aflame with a brilliant blue fire. Three student will be chosen from that goblet to compete in the Tri-Wizard Tournement. Harry knew he was too young to compete so he planned to sit back and relax to watch the show. Then the day came upon them that the three wizards would be chosen. But Harry made four wizards. What? Four wizards? Harry's too young to compete! He'll die for heaven's sake! But Harry managed to survive through a dragon and a lake with mysterious creatures...maybe he'll make it in the end. But as Harry made his way through the twisting maze and touched the trophy with his friend, they were gone...well, they were not at Hogwarts, that is. Harry fought the evil overlord, Voldemort, after watching his friend perish. With the help of his parents, Harry made it back to Hogwarts safely, with his friend's dead body in his arms. Can Harry survive Voldemort again? Or was that the last time?
                • harrypottercrazSaturday, March 23, 2019 at 12:34 pm
                  This book is the BEST!!! who's with me.
                  • remusfan12
                    remusfan12Monday, March 18, 2019 at 7:33 am55 stars
                    I would give this at least 11 stars its so great and suspenseful. YAY neville made it into the description he's so underrated
                    • clarinetgirl
                      clarinetgirlSunday, March 17, 2019 at 10:43 am55 stars
                      This was a fantastic book with lots of suspense and crazy surprises. I loved every page of it. Read this book!