Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
2175 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • connieflowapowa
    connieflowapowaWednesday, February 10, 2021 at 11:46 pm55 stars
    It's actually called the philosopher's stone, but I think they changed it.
    • goodlife84nice
      goodlife84niceTuesday, February 9, 2021 at 7:36 am55 stars
      The movies are great but the books are bettter you get to imagine it by yourself and you get to add things to your imagination thats why this book is long so you get to experince the entire thing so if someone says it is to long then let them read some of it so they can have a little inmagination into their mind.
      • sami_playz
        sami_playzMonday, February 8, 2021 at 8:14 pm44 stars
        I watched the movie first but also read the book I think the book was a bit better then the movie but they were both really good
        • ivywolf
          ivywolfFriday, February 5, 2021 at 6:16 am33 stars
          I watched the movie to this first, and I thought that was great! It was a little better than the book but overall I thought it was really cool.
          • harry potter :)Monday, February 1, 2021 at 9:19 am
            I love Harry Potter on my opinon ITS THE BEST!!!!!!!!! Theres lots of funny parts. When Harry meets Ron and Hermioneit is just the best!!! as my age i love it!!!!
            • sami_playz
              sami_playzMonday, February 8, 2021 at 8:15 pm44 stars
              yes I love it too I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan
              • minecraft04
                minecraft04Wednesday, February 3, 2021 at 7:55 am55 stars
                I LOVE THIS BOOK 2
              • hbk_hlb2006
                hbk_hlb2006Friday, January 29, 2021 at 12:14 pm55 stars
                i think this book is amazing i definitely Redmond it
                • OliviaFriday, January 29, 2021 at 3:39 am
                  This book is very fun!
                  • a-true-hermione
                    a-true-hermioneThursday, January 21, 2021 at 8:03 am55 stars
                    I love this book it is so good when Harry meets Ron and Hermione it is just so good. And when Hagrid comes booming through the door and bangs it down and then says "sorry about that" is such a fun part. And the part where Harry is told he is a wizard is just priceless. I love the mystery of the whole thing. JUST AMAZING!
                    • raoyt
                      raoytWednesday, January 20, 2021 at 10:33 am
                      i read this book in 3 grade it is so good but i finished the series
                      • Jessica Tuesday, January 19, 2021 at 3:47 am
                        I watched Harry Potter with my kids and they loved so much on my oldest birthday I took her to Harry Potter studio tour and we got butter bear