Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.3127678

The first in New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant's breathtaking dystopian, sci-fi saga, Gone is a page-turning thriller that invokes the classic The Lord of the Flies along with the horror of Stephen King.

In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young.

There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what's happened.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else...

Michael Grant's Gone as been praised for its compelling storytelling, multidimensional characters, and multiple points of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Paperback, 3296 pages
Published on September 21, 2015 by Dean & Son
ISBN-10: 0603572375
ISBN-13: 9780603572371
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ajg16
    ajg16Monday, July 22, 2019 at 5:19 pm55 stars
    I found this to be quite good, I read all 558 pages in about 2½ hours because I couldn't put it down! Anyways on to the review — All of a sudden with no warning every human 15 and up disappeared in a *poof* the blink of an eye leaving hundreds of kids of all different ages (14 and under) are suddenly alone... Gone with the phones, internet and T.v. Young teens find themselves choosing leaders, helping the young and helpless, and trying not to be scared themselves. Bullies begin to take over and some of the kids are beginning to find they have powers like Speed, laser hands, teleportation and many others. Join Sam and his friends as they try to figure out how to survive this new dystopia. AMazing book recommend to 13+ Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
    • & EmmaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 1:00 pm
      I loved this book! I think the reading level needs to be higher though on here. I read the books and loved them. They are not for kids on under the age of 12. There is romance in some of the late books. I loved the series just it didn’t have the ending I thought was going to happen. Bottom line I recommend the books to anyone over the age of 12.
      • The ReviewerSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 5:09 am
        This series is my favourite. The first book (Gone)is okay about 10 plus but the second (Hunger)is sad terrifying and has quite a lot of swearing and disgusting violence. I would say it was about 12 plus. And it gets worse from there people are hung and killed. But these books are amazing I'd definitely read them.
        • devilsadvocateWednesday, March 20, 2019 at 9:29 pm
          I liked the book, but the plot was rather dull. It's kind of sexist, and i feel like it's too cliche and not really that creative. The initial idea is cool, and there's a lot of potential, but this book just doesn't really hit the mark.
          • ritlerbx
            ritlerbxTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 12:52 pm55 stars
            Great Book I Love This Series
            • QuinFriday, December 7, 2018 at 5:13 pm
              I loved these books when I read them a few years ago. Now I find out there is another series set in the aftermath! I've got to reread the whole thing now.
              • A book boiSunday, October 28, 2018 at 4:33 pm
                One of the best books I have ever read. I got hooked on the first line. Definitely read this book.
                • Polar BearThursday, May 10, 2018 at 9:30 am
                  Really good book, I recommend to all ages.
                  • JohnThursday, January 4, 2018 at 2:40 pm
                    There is what is being called season two ( Monster, Villain which is not ouy and hero which is not out. still reading plague and cant wait to get fear, light and season two. also fear, light and monster are all now on kindle.
                    • JohnThursday, January 4, 2018 at 2:35 pm
                      the books are great but they get creepier from lies onward. they get really dark and I would recommend for P7 and over but if you want to read at younger ages that is up to you (p7 is year 6 in england and I think about grade 5/6?!)