Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.3127678

The first in New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant's breathtaking dystopian, sci-fi saga, Gone is a page-turning thriller that invokes the classic The Lord of the Flies along with the horror of Stephen King.

In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young.

There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what's happened.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else...

Michael Grant's Gone as been praised for its compelling storytelling, multidimensional characters, and multiple points of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Paperback, 3296 pages
Published on September 21, 2015 by Dean & Son
ISBN-10: 0603572375
ISBN-13: 9780603572371
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Polar BearThursday, May 10, 2018 at 9:30 am
    Really good book, I recommend to all ages.
    • JohnThursday, January 4, 2018 at 2:40 pm
      There is what is being called season two ( Monster, Villain which is not ouy and hero which is not out. still reading plague and cant wait to get fear, light and season two. also fear, light and monster are all now on kindle.
      • JohnThursday, January 4, 2018 at 2:35 pm
        the books are great but they get creepier from lies onward. they get really dark and I would recommend for P7 and over but if you want to read at younger ages that is up to you (p7 is year 6 in england and I think about grade 5/6?!)
        • JohnThursday, January 4, 2018 at 2:25 pm
          A friend recommended them to me and in the room of a class I go to I noticed they had a stash of the series from hunger to light. i really wanted to read them so Me and my Mum went out to buy the first one. it took less than 3 daysto finish it and i really wanted to read the next ones. I got hunger lies and plague for christmas and I admit to getting freaked out by plague and I still haven't finished it. I'm 11 and I love them but I think I'll stop reading them for about a year or two. maybe just until the summer but I would defenitely recommend swiping them off the library shelf and having a good read.
          • maemae2006
            maemae2006Monday, October 9, 2017 at 8:31 am55 stars
            I LOVE THIS BOOK! I will say that you should be a little older than I was when I read these though. (10) I'm older now, but there were a lot of adult references.
            • eibba99
              eibba99Sunday, September 18, 2016 at 12:19 pm44 stars
              This was a really interesting book and it reminded me of Dark Indie by Jeyn Roberts which is my favourite book.
              • twilightrose
                twilightroseSunday, August 21, 2016 at 5:29 am
                I read this book in one sitting full of shuddering and gasping.
                • ElijahSunday, June 5, 2016 at 3:04 pm
                  Great book with non stop action.
                  • langston_p
                    langston_pThursday, February 25, 2016 at 2:19 am55 stars
                    This was a really great book, and I am very thankful that I found this series because it is one of the best ones I am reading. What it's about is one day, everybody that was 15 or older just disappears. Everybody 14 or under remained though. Invisible and indestructible walls form preventing them from getting out, and certain kids start developing powers. The kids decided to call this The FAYZ (fallout alley youth zone). Everybody elects Sam, the main character as the leader, but nothing really happens. The kids mostly just looted stores and played video games all day, making it so that no progress at all was made and nothing at all happened. Eventually, another guy named Caine Soren comes along, and changes everything. And this is where the action began. This was an amazing book and it was written really well and had tons of detailed. It was a long book but it was totally worth it reading it.
                    • anth
                      anthThursday, January 21, 2016 at 2:27 amFeatured
                      Gone is the first book in the 6-part Gone series by Michael Grant. The book (and the series) is about a town where one day, every person over the age of 15 just disappears one day. After this, the children in the town are in what they call the FAYZ (Fallout Alley Youth Zone), with walls surrounding them. Eventually, some of the kids start developing mutations, such as running very fast, or burning people. All of this leads to a lot of havoc in the town, which is explored in this book and the rest of the series. I feel that this book has good points and bad points. This book is well written, has interesting characters, and detailed descriptions. However, it also contains many boring sections and some powers seem a bit cliche. Overall, Gone is a decent book with some interesting parts. I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars from me. I recommend this book anyone from the ages of 12 and up (However, if you want to read the other books, I feel that you should be at least 14 years old.)

                      Our Apps and Plugins