Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone: The Illustrated Edition (Harry Potter, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.577508
For the first time, J.K. Rowling's beloved Harry Potter books will be presented in lavishly illustrated full-color editions. Kate Greenaway-award-winning artist Jim Kay has created over 100 stunning illustrations, making this deluxe format a perfect gift as much for a child being introduced to the series, as for the dedicated fan.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley -- a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry's room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn't had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry -- and anyone who reads about him -- will find unforgettable.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on October 6, 2015 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0545790352
ISBN-13: 9780545790352
39 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • yookieookie
    yookieookieFriday, January 10, 2020 at 11:46 am55 stars
    Magical
    • hello_403
      hello_403Tuesday, December 17, 2019 at 2:52 pm55 stars
      i luvvvv the books harry potter
      • omg-superstarMonday, December 16, 2019 at 8:29 am
        I love all of the books. I think that J.K Rowling is facinating, and I love her art(reading and writing) I love it. anyone who likes this, please like it.
        • natalieThursday, December 12, 2019 at 6:52 pm
          i love this book because its very interesting and entertaining.it makes me laugh and sometimes its sad but till this day even adults around the world love harry potter my mum thinks i'm annoying because i talk about it so much but i don't care cause i have my harry potter books and there's nothing that's more important lol!
          • unicornnia
            unicornniaWednesday, December 11, 2019 at 6:59 pm55 stars
            I have always loved the Harry Potter book series. It is not only full of magic, adventure, joy, creativity, and Voldemort, it is a timeless classic that everyone knows the story too. When I heard that they were creating a picture book version to it, I was blown away and had to get my hands on it. The book has the same plot and words as the original, except now add color and art to the long list of traits I mentioned in the beginning. In case you don't know the plot to the book this is a simple breakdown of what happens; Harry Potter is not a normal boy whose parents died when he was a baby. He has weird talents that are unexplained like how he has a lightning scar, can talk to snakes and can make random things happen just by thinking about it. He lives with his awful Aunt, Uncle, and cousin who gives him the Cinderella treatment and always are rude to him. For heaven's sake, they made him sleep under the stairs. One day, Harry Potter gets a letter addressed to him with his exact location(under the stairs and everything), but the Dursleys won't let him open it after they see a red crest seal on it. They toss it into the garbage. As the days pass hundreds of letters are being sent and owls are appearing at his door, but still, the Uncle is taking all of them and not allowing Harry to see any of them. To avoid any more letters reaching them, Uncle Dursley decides to send all of them to a shabby house on a small island in the middle of the sea. This day happens to be Harry's 11th birthday. All of a sudden, a giant knock hits the door and they all startle themselves awake. It turns out to be a giant named Hagrid who explains to Harry that he is a wizard and has been accepted into the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. After that, he leaves his family, goes school supply shopping with Hagrid, and takes a train to the school. When he gets there he meets a lot of new people and makes best friends with Hermione Granger and Ron Weasely who are in the same house as himself. He also learns what truly happened to his parents and it turns out to be a villain named Voldemort. He killed them and tried to kill Harry too, but his mother sacrificed herself instead and made a bond that destroyed Voldemort. After that day, Harry Potter gained the title of The Boy who Lived. People think that Voldemort is still out there resting so he can come back for revenge. And like all foreshadowing is, the fact turns out to be true. But we don't know that yet. They start hearing noises coming from around the top floor of the school so Harry and the gang go there to check it out. They see a giant 3 headed dog whose name is Fluffy. After this day, they have Hermione do some research and figure out that the dog is guarding a magical stone called the Sorceror's Stone which can give someone youth and that the owner of the dog is Hagrid. Their only lead is the suspicious Potions teacher, Severus Snape who somehow is always seen at the wrong time, doing the wrong thing. During this time, they got more information, saved Hermione from a troll, and met a few ghosts. Back to the present. Now that they had figured out that the owner of the dog was Hagrid, they all go to HAgrid's hut and trick him into giving them valuable information. Then they venture back into the attic with Fluffy and play soft music that makes him fall asleep for as long as they need to get past him. Then they go through the little latch underneath Fluffy and find a mysterious room in which there are puzzles they have to solve in order to get to the stone before Voldemort does. They solve a key riddle, plays chess with themselves being hit if they fail, and finally come into the room in which they find the stone. In the room, Harry Potter comes face to face with Mr. Qiurell the Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher who is actually a reincarnated version of Voldemort. So he and Voldemort have an epic face-off . . . .
            • RazaWednesday, December 11, 2019 at 11:12 am
              I love harry potter
              • ferohajo-156829613221
                ferohajo-156829613221Wednesday, December 11, 2019 at 8:31 am55 stars
                This harry potter is the sorcers stone but its illustrated. every page has illustrations and its good art.The story is entertaning and fun
                • tuvurosa-156909621383
                  tuvurosa-156909621383Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                  Find out what happens with mystery, suspicion, and surprising result find out what happens with Harry Ron and Hermione Harry finds out he's a wizard find me a free headed dog and evil trying to bring its Master back can the three friends stop evil? find out What happens by reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's of stone by JK Rowling Harry Ron and Hermione I think I have found a magical stone called The Sorcerer's Stone now he's always trying to find it so they can use it for their bad things now it's a race to find the stone first?I love this book A series surprising Harry flies of room for his first time and Harry Ron and Hermione go through a lot to get the stone before his one and I will have to read the entire series You would like this book because it's magical and funny with cool stuff Harry Potter is awesome
                  • erpandareader
                    erpandareaderThursday, September 26, 2019 at 11:22 am55 stars
                    i love harry potter it is a great book i love wizards it is so cool
                    • science-lover
                      science-loverFriday, August 30, 2019 at 7:27 am55 stars
                      I have read this book along with all the others in the series, and I must say that following the story of harry potter and his friends is quite the journey! drama, comedy, romance, thrill! a variety of genres put together into 8 magnificent books, and movies