Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3509 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • musy
    musyWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 7:06 am55 stars
    I loved it, amazing book
    • chargersfan976
      chargersfan976Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 4:32 pm55 stars
      I love the books by Raina Telgemeier, and Smile is one of my favorites, because I too had braces, so I can relate to her story. Even though I've never had my teeth knocked out!
      • girlpower4ever
        girlpower4everTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 2:39 pm55 stars
        At first an online comic that Raina Teglemier posted a few panels of every week, "Smile" is now one of the most famous graphic novels in America. This comic is narrative nonfiction, featuring none other than Raina herself, as well as her siblings and friends...or should we say, "friends." In this humorous and highly entertaining novel, Raina travels through her journey from middle to high school with a group of friends. Raina doesn't realize the true toxicity of the group until they finally overstep her boundaries, but what can she do about it? It turns out that only true courage and bravery could ever surmount this obstacle.
        • annafantastic
          annafantasticMonday, June 1, 2020 at 11:42 am
          great book! You should read this book it was a true story about the author!
          • animallover1456
            animallover1456Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:33 am55 stars
            I have to keep reading it OVER AND OVER AGAIN! Because it is soooooooooooooo good! I will give it 100 stars! (If i could!)
            • mhkgc235
              mhkgc235Monday, June 1, 2020 at 2:30 am55 stars
              It's amazing!! It's all about Raina's history of braces. It's really good, honestly. I couldn't recommend it more. It's a 10/10 from me. Soooo good!!
              • ak366
                ak366Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 10:59 am55 stars
                Amazing book, very funny great book to read
                • effie302Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 3:15 pm
                  I already have the real copy of this book and its so good! I recommend it to each and every one of you!
                  • kensiethecutie2
                    kensiethecutie2Friday, May 29, 2020 at 9:08 am55 stars
                    A funny book about self-confidence! Rianna is an amazing character who is actually the author of this book. So I know it's based on true events I totally recommend this book. Great for any good summer read!
                    • vipwannabe
                      vipwannabeWednesday, May 27, 2020 at 10:30 pm55 stars
                      The second you start reading this you can't put it down, you'll l burst into huge fits of laughter! I recommend this to anyone who has a great sense of humour, even if it is just a little : )