Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.843967
A young girl learns she’s half mermaid and plunges into a scheme to reunite with her father in this entrancing, satisfying tale that beckons readers far below the waves.

For as long as she can remember, twelve-year-old Emily Windsnap has lived on a boat. And, oddly enough, for just as long, her mother has seemed anxious to keep Emily away from the water. But when Mom finally agrees to let her take swimming lessons, Emily makes a startling discovery — about her own identity, the mysterious father she’s never met, and the thrilling possibilities and perils shimmering deep below the water’s surface. With a sure sense of suspense and richly imaginative details, first-time author Liz Kessler lures us into a glorious undersea world where mermaids study shipwrecks at school and Neptune rules with an iron trident — an enchanting fantasy about family secrets, loyal friendship, and the convention-defying power of love.
Paperback
Published on August 6, 2015 by ORION CHILDREN'S
ISBN-10: 1444015095
ISBN-13: 9781444015096
105 Book Reviews
  • princessreader
    princessreaderThursday, June 10, 2021 at 5:56 am55 stars
    hi i love this book i am on dook 6
    • guineapigs_rock
      guineapigs_rockFriday, June 4, 2021 at 10:01 pm55 stars
      A book about mermaids and missing fathers who could ask for more in this book!? The tail of Emily windsnap is a fun and exciting story that I think any mermaid loving girl will love and is highly recommended
      • guineapigglegrl
        guineapigglegrlFriday, June 4, 2021 at 9:02 am55 stars
        Great Book! I love to swim :)))
        • pandapal
          pandapalThursday, June 3, 2021 at 8:27 am55 stars
          This book is awesome. It is a fantasy book, with, well, mermaids. I highly recommend this book. (I just found out that it is a whole series and am super excited to read the new books!!)
          • bigfnaffan
            bigfnaffanThursday, January 28, 2021 at 8:39 am44 stars
            It is a really good book and I would recommend this book for ages 10+ it has a lot of chalenges you might say.
            • arianaeverdeen
              arianaeverdeenWednesday, February 3, 2021 at 4:43 pm33 stars
              Not true, I would recommend this book for kids ages 7-10. I loved this book when I was younger, so I decided to review it today. It was still pretty entertaining, but I finished it within half an hour, and it didn't leave much of an impact on me. So if you're in elementary, this is a great choice for you!
            • Plz_Follow_MeThursday, December 10, 2020 at 1:46 pm
              I totally recommend you this book! Its a awesome book about a girl who becomes a mermaid There are books 1-7. Full pf adventure and mystery! :) Please read it!
              • howls
                howlsFriday, June 12, 2020 at 7:09 am55 stars
                The is a great book it's a girl who is part human but the dust is mermaid I read it like 6times
                • raindrop07
                  raindrop07Friday, May 15, 2020 at 12:23 pm55 stars
                  Ever since the beginning, Emily has lived on a boat with her mom. But oddly, her mom has always tried to keep Emily away from the water...until Emily persuades her to let her take swimming lessons. That's when Emily finds that she is part mermaid. Her life is turned upside down when she is welcomed into the under-the-sea world of mermaids and the truth about her past begins to unfurl in front of her eyes. Emily is determined to find out the real events of the past and then learn how to be a mermaid and a human. All at the same time. This is an amazing book about mystery, family and bravery and I encourage all lovers of mermaids, friendship and the power of magic to read it!
                  • sportysinger
                    sportysingerTuesday, March 3, 2020 at 11:15 am
                    I think this book was ok. I don't have anything against Liz Kessler but I don't think this was one of her best books. I really think some of the choices that she should have made as to the author, that she did not make, I only read the first one and I am going to give the other ones a try but I am not all too crazy about the first one and I doubt I will like the rest of them.
                    • Cap AKFriday, October 11, 2019 at 6:27 am
                      Great book!!! I got the full series on a sick week, and pretty much did nothing but read!