Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.843967
A young girl learns she’s half mermaid and plunges into a scheme to reunite with her father in this entrancing, satisfying tale that beckons readers far below the waves.

For as long as she can remember, twelve-year-old Emily Windsnap has lived on a boat. And, oddly enough, for just as long, her mother has seemed anxious to keep Emily away from the water. But when Mom finally agrees to let her take swimming lessons, Emily makes a startling discovery — about her own identity, the mysterious father she’s never met, and the thrilling possibilities and perils shimmering deep below the water’s surface. With a sure sense of suspense and richly imaginative details, first-time author Liz Kessler lures us into a glorious undersea world where mermaids study shipwrecks at school and Neptune rules with an iron trident — an enchanting fantasy about family secrets, loyal friendship, and the convention-defying power of love.
Paperback
Published on August 6, 2015 by ORION CHILDREN'S
ISBN-10: 1444015095
ISBN-13: 9781444015096
95 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Cap AKFriday, October 11, 2019 at 6:27 am
    Great book!!! I got the full series on a sick week, and pretty much did nothing but read!
    • shayshaygirl25
      shayshaygirl25Monday, August 12, 2019 at 7:08 am55 stars
      I read this book and it taught me that everyone is special.
      • shantzj
        shantzjWednesday, December 11, 2019 at 5:11 pm
        That is a good lesson to learn.
      • 406kitten
        406kittenFriday, July 26, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
        This book is amazing! It has really great characters, and it wants to make you laugh and cry. I loved it so much I put on hold the 2 3 and 4! I really recommend it for people who love mermaids.
        • reader2009
          reader2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 8:38 pm55 stars
          I love this book. It has a great storyline with great characters and amazing detail. This book makes me want to be a mermaid! I can't wait to read the other books in the series.
          • VenusTuesday, July 23, 2019 at 5:21 pm
            Tt😍Emily Windsnap is very interesting to read about
            • ccswishingstar
              ccswishingstarMonday, July 1, 2019 at 7:10 pm55 stars
              Emily Windsnap is not any ordinary girl, she is also semi-mermaid! She meets a mermaid named Shona and becomes best friends with her. She discovers that her father was a merman and was to be in prison for the rest of his life, and decides to sneak into the prison and free him. Will she succeed??? I love this series and I would recommend this book to anyone that likes magic and mermaids.
              • Taylor AdamsMonday, June 3, 2019 at 2:18 pm
                I love Emily Windsnap it is such an amazing book me and my friend are reading this book together and it is so great we love it
                • lnlp
                  lnlpThursday, April 4, 2019 at 4:57 am55 stars
                  I think this is a good book 📚
                  • chocolate Saturday, January 26, 2019 at 12:55 pm
                    This book is awesome!
                    • officer_jenny
                      officer_jennyThursday, November 15, 2018 at 7:21 pm55 stars
                      I read this book and it is GREAT. GOAT(Greatest Of All Time).
                      • chlooe
                        chlooeFriday, November 16, 2018 at 3:04 pm33 stars
                        Liked how you made up your own abbreviation! 'GOAT' is something a teacher should teach!