Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.098248
The first book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories about two siblings who fall into a fairy-tale world!
Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on July 2, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316201561
ISBN-13: 9780316201568
346 Book Reviews
  • zoe2
    zoe2Friday, June 25, 2021 at 6:53 pm55 stars
    i love this series! but since i read a A TALE OF MAGIC and A TALE OF WITCHCRAFT first, i was kind of disappointed since the, like, information does'nt match a tale of magic/witchcraft
    • dream_beyond
      dream_beyondWednesday, June 16, 2021 at 11:51 am55 stars
      What would be the first thing you would do when you fell through a book full of fairy tales? Meet all the wonderful characters? Visit all the magical places? Very unlikely, because who just falls into a book? Well, now that I think about it, there are two sibling's who fell into a book of fairy tales, met a lot of wonderful characters, visited a lot of magical places, to find out that in the end their grandmother was the fairy godmother the whole time!! Wait, what!? Now, you're probably wondering how they fell into the book in the first place, well, guess what? You can.... read the book! It is super cool, very adventurous, and you will LOVE it! Happy reading!!
      • gingerbro100
        gingerbro100Monday, June 14, 2021 at 1:17 pm55 starsFeatured
        I absolutely love this book! It is a fun, adventurous, and interesting book! It has so many twists and turns and i love the giant plot twists shown in the series! It is super detailed and i loved the amount of emotion shown throughout the series! The backstories put into this book are amazing, not to mention the way the author turned people like sweet Goldilocks into a super hero! After i finished reading them i felt like doing a whole re-read of the series because it was so good! I totally recommend this book to people who like fantasy, adventure, and plot twists!
        • ninja6080
          ninja6080Saturday, June 12, 2021 at 8:12 am55 stars
          I like books and when they have to do with fairy tales, so this book is better than awesome cause the author really knows his fairy tales!
          • tazzy_222
            tazzy_222Sunday, May 16, 2021 at 2:43 am55 stars
            really love this book!!!
            • mocha2021
              mocha2021Wednesday, April 28, 2021 at 4:36 pm55 stars
              This book is about twins Alex and Conner Bailey are going on a magical adventure into the land of Stories and they meet all of their favorite characters. This story is a page turner. I would definitely recommend this who series. Hope you will read The Land of Stories The Wishing Spell.
              • donthavedog
                donthavedogWednesday, April 28, 2021 at 3:28 pm55 stars
                Did you ever imagine going into the fairytale world and meeting the fairies that you read or heard about? Conner and Alex are twins. They have a difficult time without their dad who was always there for them. Conner and Alex never were close but when they fall into the fairytale world they need each other the most. Something I really enjoyed about the book is the depth of the character-building. The Evil Queen has a sad backstory making her evil. But once she got her lover Mira out of the mirror it was already too late. She may look evil on the outside but it turns out when she found out that her lover was trapped in a mirror her heart turned into stone. This made me realize just because they did bad deeds there is always a good reason. Next, I’ll discuss the worldbuilding in the novel. The building in the fairy tale world is very specific. It is very imaginable you could just picture in your mind. Some things that could be improved are some confusions in the plot. Once they came into the book Conner blamed Alex but Alex said it was his fault but when Alex said If you just knocked on the door we wouldn’t be in this mess. But before they went into the book Alex was putting her hand in the book already. I give the book 5 stars and recommend it to other kids. I would recommend this book to kids about 3rd grade to 5 grade. Overall the book was interesting especially when the evil queen told about her past and other people treated her unfairly and didn’t experience what she went through. I also appreciate the theme “Don't judge a book by its cover”.
                • 1spinnypeeps
                  Miss KimWednesday, May 5, 2021 at 2:51 pm
                  Great review ;)
                • nichkik
                  nichkikThursday, April 1, 2021 at 8:11 am55 stars
                  Epic and mind gripping awesome story
                  • docterstrange
                    docterstrangeThursday, March 4, 2021 at 7:51 pm55 stars
                    This book combines all farie tales into what happened after them.
                    • mak123
                      mak123Sunday, February 14, 2021 at 4:41 pm55 stars
                      This book is amazing you must read it