A #1 New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the Caldecott Medal about the remarkable true story of the bear who inspired Winnie-the-Pooh.

In 1914, Harry Colebourn, a veterinarian on his way to tend horses in World War I, followed his heart and rescued a baby bear. He named her Winnie, after his hometown of Winnipeg, and he took the bear to war.

Harry Colebourn's real-life great-granddaughter tells the true story of a remarkable friendship and an even more remarkable journey--from the fields of Canada to a convoy across the ocean to an army base in England...

And finally to the London Zoo, where Winnie made another new friend: a real boy named Christopher Robin.

Before Winnie-the-Pooh, there was a real bear named Winnie. And she was a girl!
Paperback
Published on March 26, 2016 by media changbi
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • NicThursday, March 21, 2019 at 6:36 am
    So what the book is about a mom telling her son a true story that’s true about her great great grampa paying a guy for something lets just say.And my opinion about the book is that its a sweet amazing book for kids. And the main charter which is Winnie duh well that Winnie is really cute and i just cant Believe that its true and if i saw and read a few pages of it at like at a book shop i would totally get it.And a part i really enjoy was when the little girl could not find a name for her guy lets say and went to the zoo and found the perfect name for her toy. And my recommendation is that its the best picture book I’ve ever read so far and i think who Evers reads it will like it too so i think you should buy it today!🥇😃
    • Btsgirl6Thursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:29 pm
      So what the book is about a mom telling her son a true story that’s true about her great great grampa paying a guy for something lets just say.And my opinion about the book is that its a sweet amazing book for kids. And the main charter which is Winnie duh well that Winnie is really cute and i just cant Believe that its true and if i saw and read a few pages of it at like at a book shop i would totally get it.And a part i really enjoy was when the little girl could not find a name for her guy lets say and went to the zoo and found the perfect name for her toy. And my recommendation is that its the best picture book I’ve ever read so far and i think who Evers reads it will like it too so i think you should buy it today!😁🤪
      • Maul123😎Thursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:25 pm
        I think Finnding winnie is a incredable this book is about soldier who finds a bear and names it Winnie and brings it to the army for boot camp but then gets put in the zoo. My opinion on this book is that I could read it at least 1,000 times a day it is a great book. I think Winnie is brave beacause he went in the army with a bunch of humans.Another reason I think Winnie is brave is because he wasn’t to scared to go to the zoo and watch 100’s of people look at him. So that;’s why I think you should read this book one intresting fact is that Christopher Robinsin liked the real Winnie and named his teddy bear after the bear.Thanks for reading my book review.
        • Moana 🍩Thursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:25 pm
          First George went to war . Then he found A Man with A bear. Last George bought The bear . I think finding Winnie is it good book because it is based on a true story I like it because it is funny . I like it because it is part of history .😄 I recommend it to second graders .
          • Jackson HThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:17 pm
            Finding Winnie is a good book because it is a real story and it shows you the picture of them and Winnie.I had a good time reading and I like the end but you have to read to find out the end and its so interesting because it tell you some history on a bear that have to go places.You could have a good time reading this book.I did so you could to so try and see how it is so if you like this book you could enjoy the rest of it and see the ending
            • MayaThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:12 pm
              IT is good because it,s good.
              • Mason WojoThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:12 pm
                I think Finding Wlinnie is awesome because its a story of the poor and the healthy so there is a bear that is poor and has an old guy that was not taking good care of that bear but that healthy guy was willing to give the old man twenty dollars for the and that was a lot of money back then the bear was named Winnie and became part of the army and he was a look out and very helpful until Winnie had to go to a zoo and his oner had to leave him.
                • MayaThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:06 pm
                  THIS BOOK IS GOOD BECAUSE THEY FIND WINNIE.

                  Popular Books