The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1428 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 2:57 pm55 stars
    I used to not understand the hype surrounding Percy Jackson at all. What was so exciting about some ancient gods and an 11-year-old dude trying to brave the dangers of a now-extinct mythology? However, after my sister bought "Percy Jackson's Greek Gods," I became admittedly enthralled with the slapstick humor and intricateness of it all. On a whim, I decided to purchase the entire Percy Jackson series for about $40. Turns out, it was not on a whim at all. Just from the first few pages of the book, I was sucked into Percy Jackson's captivating world of monsters and gods. It was completely worth the money and I couldn't believe I hadn't tried reading the series before. Please don't discriminate against the popularity of this book and give it a try, it is absolutely fascinating!
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:33 pm55 stars
      Twelve year old Percy Jackson gets kicked out of all the schools he attends. But at one of his schools, something strange happens on a field trip. He was getting mad at Nancy Bobofit, a bully who keeps picking on Percy and his bestfriend Grover. He was approaching her but Grover held him back, saying he wouldn't want to get in trouble again. Percy didn't do anything, but a huge wave coming from the fountain where Nancy was sitting hit her, and she was soaked. She automatically pointed at Percy and said that he did it when he didn't. Then, Percy's least favorite teacher Mrs. Dodds tells him to follow her. She tells him that he was being trouble again, and Percy decided not to argue or things could get nasty. But then she tells him to follow her into the museum. What happens next is history. I recommend this book to people who like the Harry Potter series, or if you want to learn about Greek mythology. I rate this book 5/5.
      • sashreads
        sashreadsMonday, June 1, 2020 at 2:38 pm55 stars
        I think this book was AMAZING for anyone who likes fantasy and especially for anyone who is a big fan of Harry Potter like myself. This book has been much better than I thought and is now my favorite series.
        • sg123
          sg123Monday, June 1, 2020 at 10:00 am55 stars
          Amazing book!
          • theodd1sout1
            theodd1sout1Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:43 am55 stars
            THIS BOOK IS GREAT!!!
            • theodd1sout1
              theodd1sout1Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:42 am55 stars
              paves the way into the percy jackson series like a champ
              • bluedragon1
                bluedragon1Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 1:57 pm55 stars
                I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!
                • iamfanofbears
                  iamfanofbearsSunday, May 31, 2020 at 7:51 am55 stars
                  First of all I think it is a great book. The story is well made. Percy Jackson lives in New York. He went to Camp Half-Blood and I'm not going to tell you how because it is a spoiler. And he was a son of a god (again not telling you which god because SPOILER!) And he goes on a quest and he succeeds .
                  • teacheratlarge
                    teacheratlargeSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 2:41 pm55 stars
                    Super cool book and an easy read! I like how all the characters reflect some of the read students in my life. It's a very witty book with a great ending.
                    • swirlycool
                      swirlycoolThursday, May 28, 2020 at 12:07 pm55 stars
                      Twelve year old Percy Jackson gets kicked out of all the schools he attends. But at one of his schools, something strange happens on a field trip. He was getting mad at Nancy Bobofit, a bully who keeps picking on Percy and his bestfriend Grover. He was approaching her but Grover held him back, saying he wouldn't want to get in trouble again. Percy didn't do anything, but a huge wave coming from the fountain where Nancy was sitting hit her, and she was soaked. She automatically pointed at Percy and said that he did it when he didn't. Then, Percy's least favorite teacher Mrs. Dodds tells him to follow her. She tells him that he was being trouble again, and Percy decided not to argue or things could get nasty. But then she tells him to follow her into the museum. What happens next is history. I recommend this book to people who like the Harry Potter series, or if you want to learn about Greek mythology. I rate this book 5/5.