Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023483
ISBN-13: 9780439023481
2356 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bugga_boo
    bugga_booThursday, April 2, 2020 at 10:00 pm
    i didn't read them on DOGObut i have all the hard back copys !!!! they are very good love them R.I.P rue
    • samlainaWednesday, April 1, 2020 at 12:46 pm
      love this book. also pretty thought-provoking because if we read about these games for our own entertainment, does that make us just as bad as those in the book that create and watch the games for theirs?
      • lawalex
        lawalexThursday, March 19, 2020 at 9:39 am55 stars
        This book is awesome if you like dystopian societies like in 1984 or survival books like Hatchet you will like this book! It is beautifully written and no detail is left out. You should definitely read this book.
        • NightElfThursday, February 27, 2020 at 4:21 pm
          The Hunger Games is a dystopian novel set in future North America, after the land has been destroyed. Due to a feud with the Capitol (the richest and ruling area), all 12 remaining districts are required to fight in the "Hunger Games" , a death match between teenagers for the entertainment of the Capitol. 16-year old Katniss Everdeen, a father-less girl lives with her sister, Primrose "Prim" Everdeen, and their mother in district 12. She hunts alongside her best friend since a very young age, Gale Hawthorne. When the time for the Hunger Games comes around, the names picked are Primrose and a boy named Peeta, the bakers son. Katniss, not wanting her sister to suffer, volunteers for Prim. What happens next is a tale of gore death and misery, but also love hope and teamwork. This book shows how vulnerable we are without our luxuries and how weak we are alone. It shows true life, like how kindness gets repaid, and sacrifices are never made in vain. I gave this book 5 stars, because it shows readers that no matter what, nothing is impossible. Keep on going, no matter what.
          • kailyn6b
            kailyn6bSunday, February 23, 2020 at 7:09 pm55 stars
            Katniss Everdeen lives a normal life of hunger and death in district 13. But when the reaping comes her worst nightmares come true! Her sister prim is chosen and Katniss does what any average loving sister does. She volunteers. Along wither her Is Peeta Mellark. The Boy With The Bread.They go through a lot together but, in the end, will it be enough.
            • me_the_book_god
              me_the_book_godFriday, February 21, 2020 at 4:43 pm55 stars
              So far love the book so eciting can't wait to finish it!!👍😁💕
              • So great!Friday, February 21, 2020 at 10:58 am
                I really like this book when I read it I feel like it is showing me what will happen to the United States . Make sure you read the rest and watch the movie.
                • addyl97
                  addyl97Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 4:57 pm55 starsFeatured
                  The Hunger Games is a compelling novel focusing on life in an oppressive society in which young people must compete to the death in the annual Hunger Games. The Games are a fight to the death, the last tribute, as they are called, alive is the victor. The main character, 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen, lives with her mother and younger sister Prim in District 12, the poorest of the districts. Ever since her father's death, she has been the family provider, hunting illegally in the woods outside the district with her friend Gale. Katniss volunteers for the Hunger Games to keep her younger sister from being required to participate and her experiences and fight to survive are the heart of the book. The young man chosen is Peeta Mellark, who is the same age as Katniss. These two will represent District 12 in the Hunger Games, it is a forced game in which two children from each of the 12 districts surrounding the Capitol must participate. This is a story of impossible odds overcome through teamwork, love, and a need to survive. This book is a must for people who like action and adventure. I give this book 5 stars because it displays love, action, and loss.
                  • bt21isawsome
                    bt21isawsomeThursday, February 20, 2020 at 10:25 am55 stars
                    I give this book 5 stars because mysterious and was very entertaining. This is an amazing book. Tons of nonstop action. The plot was amazing.
                    • RavenclawprideWednesday, February 19, 2020 at 2:50 pm
                      I loved this book so much. I ordered the second book.