Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on August 27, 2013 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545582881
ISBN-13: 9780545582889
1963 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • animallover1456
    animallover1456Monday, March 30, 2020 at 7:21 am55 stars
    i love harry potter its a MUST READ seiries they are amazing
    • memelord51
      memelord51Wednesday, March 25, 2020 at 8:28 pm55 stars
      This book was an amazing kick start to one of the best series in my world. I remember cutting myself off from the outside world for days so I could read them all. This is about an 1-year-old named Harry Potter, who survived being shot by a very strong spell. Then when he is 11 finds out he's a wizard, and goes to Hogwarts where he can escape from his cruel cousin, aunt and uncle. At Hogwarts he makes friends with a smart witch named Hermione, and a brother of 6 named Ron. While at Hogwarts, Harry and his friends unwravel many mysteries of the past. I highly reccomend this book to most ages and hope others will follow my example in loving and sharing this book everywhere they go.
      • Ginny Monday, March 23, 2020 at 5:15 am
        I am a fan with Harry Potter. It's very very very very very very very very very very cool. And magical.♥️🔮
        • Eggmayo Friday, March 20, 2020 at 10:28 am
          I love this book and I am reading the series about Harry Potter
          • fortniteman20
            fortniteman20Thursday, March 19, 2020 at 7:45 pm55 stars
            I think harry potter is great for kids that love magic.
            • shinebright
              shinebrightThursday, March 19, 2020 at 10:43 am55 stars
              I have read this series 20 thousand times :) BEST BOOK ever!!!!
              • Carrie's war Saturday, March 14, 2020 at 12:43 pm
                This book is very intense because alein has been in a human being so they kill him
                • le2028Friday, March 13, 2020 at 3:12 pm
                  woderful book can't stop reading it!
                  • le2028
                    le2028Friday, March 13, 2020 at 3:08 pm55 stars
                    IT IS AWESOME! you really need to read this it has a lot of adventure, surprises , fun . he finds lots of friends and is really smart
                    • Harry Potter Saturday, February 29, 2020 at 6:42 am
                      Is very good book 🤗