Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
1043 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • liberty14
    liberty14Monday, May 21, 2018 at 5:34 am33 stars
    A funny book that is a fun and interesting light read, it has a lot of jokes, and fairly relatable characters. It also features pictures. Good for ages 8 and up.
    • zoolilygirl
      zoolilygirlSunday, May 20, 2018 at 7:50 pm55 stars
      Really great Sometimes I act like Nikki And I love the plot twist and the characters are funny and relateable Keep up on making good books
      • zoolilygirl
        zoolilygirlSunday, May 20, 2018 at 7:47 pm55 stars
        Really great Sometimes I act like Nikki but this chapter book makes me question what she does and what I do kinda funny but I love it and the plot twist and more and the characters are funy and relateable And it's so cool but one question: why do you put I think my mom is BRAIN DEAD it's kinda rude that's all I has to say keep making great books!
        • soccergirl93
          soccergirl93Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 5:09 pm55 stars
          I think this book is so relatable to real to real life situations. I think this because at some point in our lives we look at ourselves like Nikki does. I think that is what makes the book so interesting even though it is a little easier book to read. The parts where it really connects to real life really shows you how we have the same mindset sometime. I would give this book 5 stars just because it is so fun interesting and it is so relatable for all ages.
          • soccergirl93
            soccergirl93Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 5:01 pm55 stars
            This book always will make me laugh! It is so interesting to see Nikki call herself a dork even though she is so funny and ha so much personality. This to me is a great story because it really shows how we think of our lives sometimes. I have always loved reading but when you get to read a book that shows off your own life style of mindset especially when your younger because you will have more thoughts like Nikki. Showing how you really think of yourself sometimes can bounce right off the pages of a book and that's why to me you really should love this book because it is so relatable to real life.
            • aracha
              arachaSaturday, May 19, 2018 at 4:42 pm55 stars
              If you are bored just pick up the adventure of Nikki Dork diaries. I just LOVE it!!!!!! The book is so ENJOYABLE!!!! So lets get in to a little summary. So first Nikki is begging her mom to buy her a phone, then she startes a diary, and then more "dorky stuff!"
              • letscutitout
                letscutitoutSaturday, May 19, 2018 at 1:23 pm44 stars
                This is the first book I have read in this series. Enjoyable! I can relate to this situation. I think the moral of the book is a good one to follow - people will be happiest if they just put energy toward being a better person & not trying so hard to fit in. Let people be who they are.
                • cookiehead3
                  cookiehead3Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 11:02 am55 stars
                  Me myself I love to read and this book about this "dork" was a good book. I read it when I was in second grade and I enjoyed it. The book is filled with overflowing emotions for her. Many people can relate to this book because of the situation and the cruel "popular people". I recommend it to any children I the grades 3-7. When I read it In second grade I was a little too young for it.
                  • waterlily1255
                    waterlily1255Friday, May 18, 2018 at 2:40 pm33 stars
                    I read this book back in fourth grade and it was good but not great. It was a quick read, but one thing that I like to see in all books is some sort of relativity. That makes the book attractable, and makes any plot twists better. I could not find that relatable feature in this book which kept me from enjoying it more then I did.
                    • kc17
                      kc17Friday, May 18, 2018 at 2:28 pm55 stars
                      Dork diaries is a great book for the age it says. it is a book about a girl named Nikki and she deals with the ups and downs of her school. Nikki tries to be popular so hard. Is Nikki trying to fit in with the group? Is she ignoring the signs? I believe that Nikki should really start being herself. I would definitely rate this book a five out of five. It is well written. This book is one of my favorite books. There are a lot of pictures. It is almost like a comic but not even close. I love the pictures. It helps me visualize the classroom and her expression. I really wish that the author can create the visualizations without the pictures. I love this book but it is to babyish for my level but can not stop reading. The author should really create the mood of the story. I love the book but the author is missing a lot of crafts that make up a story. That is all I wish that the author can create but other than that it is one of my favorite stories. I hope that you like the story too.