Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life

Book 1 of 12 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
948 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • soruvimutu
    soruvimutuMonday, November 20, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
    i love this book. i feel bad for her thouh
    • amelialover24
      amelialover24Friday, November 17, 2017 at 4:32 pm55 stars
      I read this book and it was anaizing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Nikki found herself a crush that likes her back!!!!!!!!!!!!! sssssssssqqqqqqqqqqquuuuuueeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Go Nikki
      • missknowitall
        missknowitallFriday, November 17, 2017 at 3:08 am44 stars
        All the Dork Diaries are awesome! The first Dork Diaries is about our hero, Nikki, transferring to WCD. Find out what happens to her new life!
        • 95348
          95348Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 7:18 pm55 stars
          It was a amazing book on how a girl stood up to a bully (sort of =) and she wrote a diary about MackKenzie bullying her. Go Nicki!
          • ♡SelfieChick♡Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 4:37 pm
            OMG! This series is the best, BTW I have all the books & I'm done with them ): But hopefuly number 13 Will come out soon! :D
            • bahulegupy
              bahulegupyThursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:09 am55 stars
              Go Nikki or Team Nikki!!
              • cookieplayer
                cookieplayerTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 4:17 pm11 star
                Srry! I forgot to add a rating!
                • cookieplayer
                  cookieplayerTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 4:16 pm11 star
                  When I read dork diaries, it was just so funny and I could even relate to somethings. Nikki always cracks me up and puts a smile on my face:)
                  • bahulegupy
                    bahulegupyTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 2:03 am55 stars
                    This book is the first book in the series. It is when Nikki Maxwell starts her diary. There are mean girls, BFFS and crushes in this book. You should read it! It is very good. Go Nikki
                    • bahulegupy
                      bahulegupySunday, November 12, 2017 at 9:45 pm55 stars
                      It is so good! I love how she expresses herself! Go Nikki or Team Nikki!
                      • cookieplayer
                        cookieplayerTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 4:17 pm11 star
                        Both!
                        • bahulegupy
                          bahulegupyThursday, November 16, 2017 at 2:10 am55 stars
                          yes, I think both are great!