Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
1119 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • coolgirlintown
    coolgirlintownSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 9:52 am22 stars
    Not my favorite book, that's for sure. Nikki was just a cliche teen. And I thought she was kinda sassy as well. If you like dork diaries, you would probably like this book, but i didn't.
    • midnightluna
      midnightlunaTuesday, July 10, 2018 at 3:25 pm44 stars
      Dork Diaries is a pretty good series. It's protagonist is a very typical dork, and her love interest is a typical floppy hair boy. The mean girl is easy to dislike and Nikki's friends are the sidekicks of most stories. But it's entertaining enough to keep you interested.
      • unicornlollipop
        unicornlollipopMonday, July 9, 2018 at 2:05 pm55 stars
        I like this book because the main character's life is funny and the things that she does is also funny.Also it sometimes relates to my life.
        • bookwormilg
          bookwormilgMonday, July 9, 2018 at 8:03 am
          Read this book, (along with the entire Dork Diaries series) and loved them! Humorous, fun, and realistic. Whether from first crush issues, to fitting in at a knew school, to escaping Mackenzie's evil plans, I can totally understand Nikki! Great book with a plot that most tween girls can relate to.
          • soyster
            soysterSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 12:31 pm55 stars
            I actually liked this book. I've never read one of those books before, but now I probably will. Nikki deals with all these crazy twists and turns in her life. I found myself really wanting to read the other books.
            • Cupcake Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 6:12 am
              This book and the whole series has got to be one of my favorite series of my childhood! It's hilarious, drama filled, and a perfect read for kids! It also gives insight to how a new kid feels when he/she moves to a new school, which can help kids. It's also super relatable, and who doesn't love a book that you can personally relate to? I read this book in first grade, which was definitely a little too young, so I recommend reading this book in 3rd grade+ :)) Happy reading!
              • 30057
                30057Friday, July 6, 2018 at 7:45 am44 stars
                This book is a hilarious tale about a girl names Nikki and her dorky and fun life. So far Nikki just attended a private middle school and is NOT excited about it. She doesn't seem to find a way to fit with all the other kids in the school and is usually spending most of her time writing in her diary. Mackenzie Hollister, the most popular girl in school is unfortunately Nikki's locker neighbor, and always bugs and makes fun of Nikki for being such dork. But lucky her, she got her 2 new best friends, Chloe and Zoey by her side throughout the whole adventure in middle school. I can not wait to begin reading and see what interesting events happen next!
                • spykitten
                  spykittenWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 2:36 pm33 stars
                  "I'm such a dork!" - Nikki Maxwell. I like most Dork Diaries books but I was very disappointed with this one. It starts poorly with Nikki REALLY wanting a phone(like it's even a need) but gets a diary instead and gets really mad. In the other books Nikki loves writing in her diary which is part of how this one is bad compared to the others. The characters are meaner in this book and it is NOT a good start for the series. Part of it is a little funny but unfortunately that isn't most of the book, like other Dork Diaries books. If you read this book before you read the others, give them a try (like book eight) because, as I think I said before, this in not a good start to the series. I wouldn't recommend this book.
                  • amandanut
                    amandanutWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 5:14 am55 stars
                    Dork Diaries is a great series of books as it follows Nikki's adventures throughout. As well as her sweet and nice BFFs who help her throughout her struggle in her middle school. The awful McKenzie ruining her time in school and destroying her career. Nikki has passed through a lot and more has to come. Her family who also in her point of view driving her crazy especially Brianna. A book with amusing humour and somethings in which we can relate to. A great book for people looking for reality like. I'm sure people who read it will love it as much as I did. I recommend it to teenagers as well as mature.
                    • LaylaWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 1:34 am
                      I like it when Dork"s phone rang in her locker.So funny!!!!!