Dork Diaries 5: Tales from a Not-So-Smart Miss Know-It-All

Book 5 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.728356

Nikki Maxwell authors an advice column for the school newspaper in this fifth book of the New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series.

Nikki Maxwell develops a sudden interest in student journalism that may or may not (okay, definitely does) have to do with the fact that mean girl Mackenzie has started writing a gossip column. And there just might be some juicy info involving Nikki’s crush, Brandon, that Nikki doesn’t want Mackenzie reporting to the world. So Nikki joins the school newspaper staff—and ends up as an advice columnist! It’s fun at first, answering other kids’ letters. But when Miss Know-It-All’s inbox is suddenly overflowing with pleas for guidance, Nikki feels in need of some help herself. Fortunately she has BFFs Chloe and Zoey on her side—and at her keyboard!

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on July 30, 2015 by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
ISBN-10: 1471144763
ISBN-13: 9781471144769
363 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lolatheute
    lolatheuteSaturday, August 8, 2020 at 2:42 pm33 stars
    SPOILER ALET! So this book is kinda confusing. In the beginning Chloe Zoey and Nikki TP their enemy Mackenzie Holister's house. They are worried they might get expelled but why would they get expelled? It's not like the school would care XD. But other than that this book is pretty good.
    • aripo
      aripoSaturday, July 4, 2020 at 12:57 am44 stars
      I read It 4 times, I really like the York diaries series and I recommend this book because tell scout how Nikki write in newspaper
      • kittiesmama
        kittiesmamaTuesday, June 30, 2020 at 6:47 am55 stars
        I love dork diares. This book was awesome I recommend it if you like funny books. It was funny and I don't want to spoil it but please read it.
        • warriorsgirl11
          warriorsgirl11Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 9:17 pm55 stars
          Just like an average dorky teen, Nikki has an arch nemesis named MacKenzie Hollister, who is the most popular CCP (Cool, Cute, & Popular) girl in school. ... Nikki worries that a harmless prank she and her two best friends, Chloe and Zoey, played on MacKenzie might get them, or even Brandon suspended from school.
          • meisdancer
            meisdancerMonday, June 1, 2020 at 10:17 am55 stars
            This book is so good. I love it when Nikki Chloe and Zoey toilet paper Makenzies house. If my friends gave me that dare WOULD NOT do it.
            • happydays2256
              happydays2256Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 6:58 pm
              Lol she has a crush on BRANDON ❤
              • Julia Tuesday, December 17, 2019 at 12:33 pm
                I’m a dork so this makes me feel better
                • neverkid
                  neverkidSunday, November 17, 2019 at 4:07 am
                  😂I have read other Dork Diaries books so I think I will enjoy this one very much, and I mean loads and loads and loads. My favourite book is the Skating Sensation. The front cover is hilarious, she looks like she is about to fall over! Brandon seems really cute too!
                  • uknownWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 11:46 am
                    I like them they could be a lot better
                    • AnhTuesday, October 1, 2019 at 2:39 pm
                      This is by far the best book in the world its funny and full of drama <3