Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.547493
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 24, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0307931471
ISBN-13: 9780307931474
131 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • girlofthesea
    girloftheseaTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 4:01 pm55 stars
    This book has puzzles,games,adventure,and a whole lot of fun!It It is about a couple of kids who have to escape a very cool library.Very well written,this book is totally awesome!
    • ilikebunnies
      ilikebunniesTuesday, May 22, 2018 at 7:39 am55 stars
      This is a great and exciting book. I love to read and this is a book about a library. I recommend this book to everyone who LOVES to read.
      • kana
        kanaMonday, May 21, 2018 at 8:56 am55 stars
        This is such a wonderful story. It is filled with puzzles, books, and games. It is one of the best books I have ever read. Kyle and 11 other kids are chosen to do an escape from the library game. It is extremely funny and educating. I definitely recommend it.
        • bailey2005
          bailey2005Monday, May 21, 2018 at 8:37 am55 stars
          This is such a creative book! I think the idea of it, how it's an escape/mystery book, is really cool. I like mystery books, but most of them are sort of creepy, so I think that that makes this book sort of unique. I would recommend it.
          • llpanda
            llpandaSaturday, May 19, 2018 at 10:06 am55 stars
            What do you get when you put together books, puzzles, kids and a man not unlike Willy Wonka? Escape from Mr Lemoncello's Library. After 12 years of not having a library the town of Alexandia is getting a state of the art one built by its very own town celebrity Luigi Lemoncello the Willy Wonka of games puzles and books. Twelve kids are going to be selected to play in a giant escape the library game. Only one can win the prize. Solve this exciting mystery right along with the narrator Kyle Keely and if you figure out the last puzzle you might just get a prize.
            • ilikebunnies
              ilikebunniesThursday, May 17, 2018 at 7:20 pm55 stars
              This is a very exciting book and I really love it. There is a lot of adventure.
              • ipotter1
                ipotter1Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 12:08 pm44 stars
                Three words that is all i have for you "BEST BOOK EVER"!!!!!! I can not wait for the next one!!!!!!!I I hope it is gust as good!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • shopkingirl
                  shopkingirlWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:28 pm55 stars
                  I think it is a very good book and I realy like libraries. I also like how it was really like Charley and the Chocolate Factory.
                  • liberty14
                    liberty14Wednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:21 pm55 stars
                    A very interesting book which is both funny and educational. Quite interesting and great to read, especially for kids that love books and libraries!
                    • ubduckterWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 11:30 am
                      its good full of easy riddles for young readers