Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 10n/a5.619525
Greg Heffley is not willing to be the odd man out.

A dance at Greg's middle school has everyone scrambling to find a partner, and Greg is determined not to be left by the wayside. So he concocts a desperate plan to find someone—anyone!—to go with on the big night.

But Greg's schemes go hilariously awry, and his only option is to attend the dance with his best friend, Rowley Jefferson, and a female classmate as a "group of friends." But the night is long, and anything can happen along the way. Who will arrive at the dance triumphantly, and who will end up being the third wheel?
Hardcover, 229 pages
Published on February 22, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1410498727
ISBN-13: 9781410498724
567 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • natcat12
    natcat12Friday, May 17, 2019 at 11:11 am44 stars
    This is one of my favorite books in the series. In the book, the main story is the valentine's day dance. Greg tries to get a date for the dance but fails. when he finds out that Rowley has a date. he has a plan to share Rowley date and it workes, but he just becomes a third wheel.
    • hiThursday, April 25, 2019 at 11:11 am
      i love this book it is a good book its like you are in the book you shod read it
      • BbMonday, April 8, 2019 at 6:54 am
        I love diary of a wimpy kid books because there very intertaing every one reads them at my school so I'm pretty positive they are great 😊
        • FangfangFriday, March 29, 2019 at 9:52 pm
          Amazing
          • xxlivelifexx
            xxlivelifexxFriday, March 8, 2019 at 12:09 pm55 stars
            This book is amazing! It's about Greg Heffley not having a date for the school dance, at his middle school. It has an amazing beginning, talking about things when he was a baby. This book isn't just about Greg not having a school date, it basically goes through his whole life, Jeff Kinney is an amazing author, and this book is amazing. Plus, it took me more than a week to read, and I'm a fast reader, so when you're buying this book, you aren't wasting your money!
            • ZyKerionThursday, January 10, 2019 at 6:15 am
              It’s great 👍👍👍👍
              • williaml8868
                williaml8868Wednesday, December 12, 2018 at 12:18 pm55 stars
                The book is great, and I think everybody should read it, it is a funny story, sort of like Big Nate books
                • QuintenFriday, December 7, 2018 at 9:56 am
                  Diary of a Wimpy Kid The Third Wheel by Jeff Kinney is about a kid in middle school. He has two brothers, one in high school and a little brother. There is the Valentines dance. Greg can’t find anyone to go with so Greg asks his uncle for advice. His uncle tells him some things girls like. Greg finds a girl to go to the dance with. Her name is Abigail. His friend Rowley wants to come, but Rowley has the chicken pox. Greg’s solution is to cover Rowley up with clothes so no one would notice. Greg lets rowley come and abigail has a lot of fun with Rowley. Then Greg gets a little jealous and tries entertain Abigail. The grade level is grades 3-8. I like this book because it’s funny and a decent sized book. People that would like this book is people who like funny books and picture chapter books.
                  • xxblade
                    xxbladeSunday, December 2, 2018 at 9:30 am55 stars
                    This is one of my favorites in the series
                    • randomnameThursday, October 25, 2018 at 7:55 pm
                      I literally own this book and i really like it