Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
3629 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • raindrop07
    raindrop07Sunday, May 19, 2019 at 12:47 pm55 stars
    When I first read this book a couple years ago, I was blown away! But, as I keep reading it over and over again, it just keeps getting better and better! Not many books do that for me, but not only does it never get old, but this book fills me with happiness as well as sadness every time I read it…! Wonder by R. J. Palacio is a book about a boy named August Pullman, or Auggie who has a facial deformity. He has been homeschooled all his life, but when 5th grade comes along, his parents decide he should try public school. Auggie is terrified, but soon, he finds his way in school. He even makes friends! As the school year goes on, Auggie experiences the pain of bullying and the joy of making friends! This book is so inspiring and I think everyone should read it because it is so impactful!
    • jihcooky
      jihcookySunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:54 am44 stars
      Wonder is a great book that teaches kids not to bully. It is about a boy named Auggie who has difficulty making friends at school due to his facial disorder.
      • lumos
        lumosSunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:02 am55 stars
        We've read the funny books, the sad books, the bittersweet books. Well, this book is all in one. 12 year old August "Auggie" Pullman has many face impairments, with lots of surgeries to fix them. He still looked "different" from other kids, making the kids treat him differently, and lots of times, rudely. Join Auggie as he fights his way through 5th grade, the first time he's enrolled in a school instead of homeschooled. There are perspective chapters, from the perspectives of Auggie, Via his sister, Summer his friend, Jack his friend, etc. Now comes with a Julian part - the bully. This book is a 6/5 for me, it's so amazing and heartfelt.
        • The ReviewerSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 1:43 pm
          This book is amazing and moving. It is about August Pullman a child with a facial deformity. He is bullied and finds it hard to make freinds. It is very educational for kids and helps us realise how even something small like staring can seriously offend someone. Its a great book for all ages exept I think 8plus would be interested in reading it.
          • corinnethepanda
            corinnethepandaSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 1:08 pm55 stars
            This book is incredibly sweet. It's about a boy who was born disfigured and how he has to learn how to deal with bullies and how he learns who his friends are and how much they can support him.
            • kgbradshaw
              kgbradshawSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 10:46 am55 starsFeatured
              Wow, man, Just wow. This book deserves way more than 5 stars. It is really inspirational, and it definitely changed my viewpoint on life. From Auggie's perspective, it taught me to be grateful for that I have a life that I take for granted. From Via, I learned to pay attention to everyone. From Julian I learned to hear all sides of the story before forming my opinion. I love this book, and it made me feel so many things. I recommend it for 9-999 year olds. PRO TIP: Have some tissues ready.
              • zzayumi
                zzayumiFriday, May 17, 2019 at 3:40 pm55 stars
                I LOVE this book! It teaches you that you can look different from others, but the way you look doesn't matter. It really does teach an important lesson.
                • quail
                  quailFriday, May 17, 2019 at 2:19 pm55 stars
                  Imagine a world where you're just trying to fit in. Well that doesn't sound so bad most of us do it every day but for August Pullman fitting in proves to be more challenging. Why? Well August or Auggie was born with a defect in his face; Doctors never thought he'd live but he proved them wrong and pulled through countless surgeries and tough years of his life. Now Auggie must face a new challenge. The fifth grade. As Auggie struggles through many hardships of love loss and betrayal readers will learn what a wonder it really is to have his immense amounts of courage. This book will give you the warm fuzzies and will definitely make you cry but its worth every second you spend reading it. 5/5 stars.
                  • newsnerd2
                    newsnerd2Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:32 pm
                    I absolutely loved this book it was so cool how there were sepret stories. I just wish at first Auggie had more courage in himself
                    • MystyThursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:27 pm
                      This is an amazing book! A boy named Auggie has a facial disorder and has gotten multiple surgeries since his birth. He is starting his first year at public school after being home schooled every year. This is an encouraging book that has friendship and trials that Auggie must overcome.

                      Popular Books