Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1296 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • beebopSaturday, January 19, 2019 at 10:55 am
    i read the whole series im obssesed like others had said its a must read.
    • boyFriday, January 18, 2019 at 7:19 am
      just kidding awsome
      • android7
        android7Wednesday, January 16, 2019 at 3:48 am55 stars
        This is a must read
        • dunkelosteus587
          dunkelosteus587Friday, January 11, 2019 at 10:03 am55 stars
          i have watched the movie and it is magic so awesome
          • pandoraTuesday, January 8, 2019 at 11:09 am
            i'm in love with the books and you my be suprised since i'm in 4th grade but this book is amazing
            • LolSaturday, January 5, 2019 at 12:14 pm
              This book has great parts in it and really make you want to not stop reading it,it also has some parts that just make you burst into laughter,I really like this book and I literally read the book in one day which is really cool but the book just drags you into the story and I think the author did a really good job in making a story out of Greek mythology in a great way!
              • gabriana77
                gabriana77Wednesday, December 19, 2018 at 8:50 pm
                I only saw the movies, but want the book, badly!
                • shootingstars
                  shootingstarsTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 11:54 am55 stars
                  WARNING THIS BOOK REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS This is a page turning boom that will keep you up ALL night. It’s about a boy who is son of Poseidon. In the beggining, the boy, Percy, has a completely normal life until he finds out he is a half blood. A half blood is a daughter or son that was born with a god and a normal human. I know I’m not writing a lot about the book but I don’t want to spoil the book too much. The interest level and reading level would be 4-8 grade. You will love this series! I completely recommend this book. -SS
                  • maidenkr
                    maidenkrFriday, November 30, 2018 at 10:24 am
                    Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief Written By: Rick Riordan Publish Date: June 2005 Book Review by: Keeleigh Maiden; Ms.Hills 5th grade Percy Jackson is different. He doesn’t have many friends except Grover, a Satyr. Later in the book Percy Jackson finds out he is a half-blood or demigod. He has to go to camp half blood. But when his old Latin teacher, Mr. Brunner turns out to be a centaur named Chiron who also works at camp things get more crazy. When he first gets there he is stuck in hermes cabin where the “unclaimed” kids go. When playing capture the flag he gets claimed, by his father, Poseidon. When he meets his new friend Annabeth daughter of Athena things get bad. Someone has stolen Zeus’s lightning bolt. Percy Jackson was blamed. Who really did it? Read “Percy Jackson the Lightning Thief” to find out. I really liked this book because it was full of action and adventure. The reading level is grades 3-8 but the interest level is 5-8. I think that people who are interested in Greek mythology and action would really enjoy this book.
                    • Keeleigh MaidenFriday, November 30, 2018 at 10:22 am
                      Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief Written By: Rick Riordan Publish Date: June 2005 Book Review by: Keeleigh Maiden; Ms.Hills 5th grade Percy Jackson is different. He doesn’t have many friends except Grover, a Satyr. Later in the book Percy Jackson finds out he is a half-blood or demigod. He has to go to camp half blood. But when his old Latin teacher, Mr. Brunner turns out to be a centaur named Chiron who also works at camp things get more crazy. When he first gets there he is stuck in hermes cabin where the “unclaimed” kids go. When playing capture the flag he gets claimed, by his father, Poseidon. When he meets his new friend Annabeth daughter of Athena things get bad. Someone has stolen Zeus’s lightning bolt. Percy Jackson was blamed. Who really did it? Read “Percy Jackson the Lightning Thief” to find out. I really liked this book because it was full of action and adventure. The reading level is grades 3-8 but the interest level is 5-8. I think that people who are interested in Greek mythology and action would really enjoy this book.

                      Our Apps and Plugins