Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.568016

A New York Times-Bestseller!

For twelve-year-old Emily, the best thing about moving to San Francisco is that it's the home city of her literary idol: Garrison Griswold, book publisher and creator of the online sensation Book Scavenger (a game where books are hidden in cities all over the country and clues to find them are revealed through puzzles). Upon her arrival, however, Emily learns that Griswold has been attacked and is now in a coma, and no one knows anything about the epic new game he had been poised to launch. Then Emily and her new friend James discover an odd book, which they come to believe is from Griswold himself, and might contain the only copy of his mysterious new game.

Racing against time, Emily and James rush from clue to clue, desperate to figure out the secret at the heart of Griswold's new game―before those who attacked Griswold come after them too.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 2, 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 1627791159
ISBN-13: 9781627791151
86 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • readytoread
    readytoreadFriday, August 31, 2018 at 7:52 am55 stars
    This book is really great! It is soo interesting, with great puzzles and surprises. These kids are GREAT puzzle solvers. It is about a girl named Emily who is 12 years old, whose family moves almost every year, in the hops of fulfilling their parent's dream- living once in all 50 states. She finds Griswold's newest game at a BART station, and really wants to solve it with her new friend, James. It is sort of a disappointment though, that starts off with the shooting of Mr. Griswold. At first, I thought it would be REALLY boring since it was soo long, but I really actually enjoyed it.
    • unicornbrain
      unicornbrainSaturday, August 25, 2018 at 5:41 pm44 stars
      Two thumbs up, but beware. I like the book because it has puzzles, ciphers and other detective clues to keep the story moving. But I didn't like that the Emily's favorite author is attacked very early in the book, and I won't say how or why here. That made me put the book down for a few weeks. I finally finished it. The book is about a book worm and I think I am a book worm, too. Emily gets caught up in the stories and I enjoyed working with her to solve codes and puzzles. She meets a new friend when she and her family moves to California, where the story takes place and their adventure is worth reading. This is a one of three book series. Wondering should I read the next one or not.
      • reader_red
        reader_redFriday, August 17, 2018 at 5:09 pm44 stars
        I liked a lot of things about this book. First off I was SO happy when Mathew ended up helping! Basically the story is about a girl who's family has a goal to live in all fifty states. They move to San Francisco where she meets this boy who she becomes friends with. They find a mysterious book, one day, that leads them on this giant scavenger hunt, made by Garrison Griswold, Emily's idol.
        • ajg15
          ajg15Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 10:28 am44 stars
          Emily is 12 years old and her family is moving again - she has lived in 9 different states - they are now moving to California home of her idol Garrison Griswold, creator of the cool st online game Book Scavenger! Emily finds out that Griswold is in a coma. James - who lives next door and Emily find a strange book, At first they someone hid it for Book Scavenger but soon it's Mr. Griswolds book and it's for his newest game and leads to a prize! This book is filled to the top with books, puzzles, adventure even had guys. Great book, terrific plot. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
          • soyster
            soysterMonday, August 13, 2018 at 9:11 pm33 stars
            This book was nice to read. It didn't really capture me in that much, but I thought the puzzles and ciphers in the book were a really cool factor to the book. But if you really like puzzles and ciphers, you might enjoy this book a lot more than me.
            • soffles
              sofflesSunday, August 12, 2018 at 1:41 pm55 stars
              This book is really great. The book scavenger game is so creative, but it's actually realistic. When I first read about it I thought it was real. This book was great and I really enjoyed reading it.
              • happy_cat
                happy_catFriday, August 10, 2018 at 9:27 am55 stars
                WOW! This book is like Mr. Lemencello’s Great Library Race. ANYWAYS, to begin, Emily Cane is 12 and she just moved to San Francisco. Her parents have feet that can’t settle in one place for a long time - they love moving. San Francisco has Emily’s IFAVORITE book publisher, Garrison Griworld. He creates a Book Scavenge game. Books are hidden, and using clues, you must find them using the clues! Then, her new best friend Jamie (or was it James?) and her found a... peculiar... book... I RECOMMENDED THIS BOOK!!! ITS A MUST READ!
                • pizzagirl7
                  pizzagirl7Thursday, August 9, 2018 at 10:44 am55 stars
                  Book scavenger #1 ////ok so I wanna start my review saying once you start reading it you Will not out of town it's amazing!I recommend this to 10 to 13 year olds and I rate this 5 stars it was very good 👍ok this is finally to what the book is about lol 😸 😼 😺 so this book is about Emily crane so she has always moved from state to state because there parents love it but while they like traveling the state's she likes it for the book scavenging!😺💩so now she moved to San Francisco ,,California and she finally made a new friend named James .my absolutely favorite part is when Mr Griswold was in the Bart and two very not nice men attacked him 😳this was an amazing book you should really go read this!!!thank you so much for reading! ! ! ! ! 😂 -pizzagirl7 😋
                  • readwriter
                    readwriterTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:24 pm55 stars
                    This book was SOOOOOOO good!!! It was suspenseful, sweet, funny, and a million other things! It picks you up, swirls you up, down, and around, and sets you down running toward the next one!
                    • jwarne
                      jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:29 pm55 stars
                      I think the most exciting thing about this book is the main character, I can't remember her name, moves to San Fransisco and gets to be near her favorite author! I would be so excited if I was able to move near Rick Riordan.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins