Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.568016

A New York Times-Bestseller!

For twelve-year-old Emily, the best thing about moving to San Francisco is that it's the home city of her literary idol: Garrison Griswold, book publisher and creator of the online sensation Book Scavenger (a game where books are hidden in cities all over the country and clues to find them are revealed through puzzles). Upon her arrival, however, Emily learns that Griswold has been attacked and is now in a coma, and no one knows anything about the epic new game he had been poised to launch. Then Emily and her new friend James discover an odd book, which they come to believe is from Griswold himself, and might contain the only copy of his mysterious new game.

Racing against time, Emily and James rush from clue to clue, desperate to figure out the secret at the heart of Griswold's new game―before those who attacked Griswold come after them too.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 2, 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 1627791159
ISBN-13: 9781627791151
73 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • shopkingirl
    shopkingirlWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 4:54 pm55 stars
    This was a very exciting book. I like secret codes and libraries. My favorite character was Emily. But I did like Mathew.
    • dreambig100
      dreambig100Monday, July 9, 2018 at 7:52 pm44 stars
      Book Scavenger is an amazing book about secret codes, books, and friendship. I have read this book along time ago but I still remember how it made me to join Emily's adventure. If you like to read about fantasy, mysteries, or secret cyphers this is the book for you. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.
      • mkid122
        mkid122Monday, July 9, 2018 at 12:33 am55 starsFeatured
        Twelve year old Emily and her family are on the move again. Thanks to her parents upcoming book and goal of living in all fifty states, they're going to Sans Francisco this time. Even though Emily doesn't like the idea of always being on the move and never settling down, she's actually excited this time. She is going to the home of Garrison Griswold, the founder of her favorite book " Scavenger Games". She also finds out that her new neighbor James is also a big fan of puzzles, they soon become good friends as he shows her around and introduces her to the life of Sans Francisco . Sometime before the release of his new book Griswold is attacked in the subway. Emily finds the book that Griswold lost while the attack happened. She uncovers a not yet relased game and is now determined to figure the mystery out. With the help of James, her older brother Matt and teacher, Emily must solve all the puzzle before the author's peril catches onto her. This books had great description, intriguing characters and a wonderful mystery. Great for anyone who loves to read especially mystery lovers.
        • armcginn
          armcginnWednesday, July 4, 2018 at 5:19 pm55 stars
          This intricate story created by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman provides the perfect mixture of adventure, suspense and mystery!, readers beware: you may not be able to put this book down!
          • eybook2018
            eybook2018Saturday, June 30, 2018 at 4:53 pm
            Book Scavenger (The Book Scavenger series) is a book about a girl who just moved to San Francisco. She becomes friends with a boy named James, who shares the love of puzzles.
            • letscutitout
              letscutitoutSunday, June 24, 2018 at 8:56 am
              This is a great book! I am enjoying the combination of mystery and the fact that it is about a game. I enjoy both of these topics A LOT so I plan to read the other books in the series. Although it is fiction, I have the feeling that it really could come true. I can relate in a way because I contacted an author I like, as part of my homeschooling, and I received a reply. It's hanging on my wall.
              • rrwwnn
                rrwwnnSaturday, June 23, 2018 at 9:40 am55 stars
                This book is about twelve-year-old Emily, the best thing about moving to San Francisco is that it's the home city of her literary idol: Garrison Griswold, book publisher and creator of the online sensation Book Scavenger (a game where books are hidden in cities all over the country and clues to find them are revealed through puzzles). Upon her arrival, however, Emily learns that Griswold has been attacked and is now in a coma, and no one knows anything about the epic new game he had been poised to launch. Then Emily and her new friend James discover an odd book, which they come to believe is from Griswold himself, and might contain the only copy of his mysterious new game. James and Emily have to solve this mystery so that the people who was coming after Griswold don`t come after them.
                • tybook2018
                  tybook2018Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 3:14 pm
                  Book Scavenger (The Book Scavenger series) is a book about two kids and a man that really wants some one to find this book. And these two kids are on a book scavenger and they find clues to find the book.
                  • applemango
                    applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:54 pm55 stars
                    I have seen this book many times and always I just passed this book whether it was at Barns and Nobles or in the book self at home! But as time passed my and slowly I felt an urge just to read this book. Every book I seemed to read had the words book scavenger it made my brain whirl and the books that I read became very confusing, finally when I decided to read that book it was amazing! This book was a very exiting book to read!
                    • cobrazeus10
                      cobrazeus10Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 7:34 pm55 stars
                      When you first opened the book, you see the rules of a game called book scavenger, where you hide and find books while gaining points in the process (similar to geocaching). For five minutes, I was super exited, and thought that the game was real and couldn't wait to play it. Then I relived it was only a game in the book. Like Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library this book has several puzzles that are fun to solve. Another book that I hope to add to my bookshelf in the near future.

                      More TopicsView in 3D