Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.626263

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point-of-view of Ivan himself.

Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

The One and Only Ivan was hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, demonstrating it is a true classic in the making. In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan's unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope. An author's note depicts the differences between the fictional story and true events.

Paperback, 340 pages
Published on March 13, 2019 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432864033
ISBN-13: 9781432864033
429 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Luna Monday, February 8, 2021 at 3:46 am
    Dis is the most perfect book in the world
    • I'm ruby Friday, February 5, 2021 at 3:43 pm
      Best book ever! I also recommend the one and only bob
      • quarantined
        quarantinedThursday, February 4, 2021 at 10:13 am55 starsFeatured
        What would it be like if you were a gorilla and put in a circus? I think i probably wouldn't want to because I feel like it wouldn't be that fun to be in a cage almost every hour of the day. “The one and only ivan” is a great book especially if you like the circus. Also I think you would like it if you like long books because this one is pretty long. The main setting in the book is at the circus. The gorilla likes to paint at the circus and they sell it for money. The gorilla likes to put on a show for the people at the circus. Ivan was rescued because of his health conditions. So that's how he became a circus animal. The people at the circus discovered that Ivan loved to paint so the people at the circus charged money for ivans paintings. The age group I would say for this is 10-12 and I would recommend it to people who love animals. This book is so cute, so please read it!
        • scarvampirelily
          scarvampirelilyWednesday, February 3, 2021 at 11:18 am55 stars
          amazing
          • littlesloth
            littleslothMonday, February 1, 2021 at 5:59 pm55 stars
            I loved this book! however if you dont like death than dont read. i recomend for age 8-12
            • tigerlil92
              tigerlil92Monday, February 1, 2021 at 5:23 pm55 stars
              It is amazing!!!
              • mara_love
                mara_loveMonday, February 1, 2021 at 11:13 am55 stars
                This book is Awesome but I can not say that about the movie. They pretty much got the whole story wrong on the movie! If you have read the book I do not suggest watching the movie it might just make you mad! Even if you did not read the book I still do not suggest watching the movie because its also really boring. Disney always does this.
                • MaryamMonday, February 1, 2021 at 8:10 am
                  I love the story it was amazing
                  • kylhal2021
                    kylhal2021Friday, January 29, 2021 at 10:30 am55 starsFeatured
                    what would it be like if you were a gorilla and put in a circus? I think i probably wouldn't want to because I feel like it wouldn't be that fun to be in a cage almost every hour of the day. “The one and only ivan” is a great book especially if you like the circus. Also I think you would like it if you like long books because this one is pretty long. The main setting in the book is at the circus. The gorilla likes to paint at the circus and they sell it for money. The gorilla likes to put on a show for the people at the circus. Ivan was rescued because of his health conditions. So that's how he became a circus animal. The people at the circus discovered that Ivan loved to paint so the people at the circus charged money for ivans paintings. The age group I would say for this is 10-12 and I would recommend it to people who love animals.
                    • mara_love
                      mara_loveMonday, February 1, 2021 at 11:06 am55 stars
                      Hmm I say 8-12
                      • gold3nglare
                        gold3nglareMonday, February 1, 2021 at 7:31 am44 stars
                        He never lived in a circus, it was a mall
                      • Electra 13Thursday, January 28, 2021 at 4:46 pm
                        Did you know they made a movie about this? I watched it already Bru.