The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1355 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • noahmrich
    noahmrichSunday, June 23, 2019 at 7:08 pm22 stars
    This book is about a boy named Percy Jackson who is the son of Poseidon and is blamed with the offense of taking Zeus's lightning bolt.
    • rrwwnn
      rrwwnnSunday, June 23, 2019 at 12:34 pm55 stars
      This first book in the Percy Jackson series is a book for all readers, old and young. In this book, Percy gets sent to a camp called Camp Half-Blood, which means he's part god. But it doesn't start out that way.... Percy is at a boarding school with his best friend Grover. When Percy leaves due to an unfortunate incident, he notices that his friend was not who he thought he was.......
      • galaxylemon13
        galaxylemon13Wednesday, June 19, 2019 at 8:23 pm55 stars
        I decided to read this book because all my friends were reading it, so I decided to try the series. Guess what, I LOVED IT! I hope you all read this series and love it just like I did.
        • lawalex
          lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 6:45 am55 stars
          In this start of the Percy Jackson saga, Percy finds out he is a demigod. At Camp Half-blood, Percy learns about his powers, his parents, and his enemies.
          • fjfj
            fjfjWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 11:55 am55 stars
            This first book in the Percy Jackson series is a book for all readers, old and young. In this book, Percy gets sent to a camp called Camp Half-Blood, which means he's part god. But it doesn't start out that way.... Percy is at a boarding school with his best friend Grover. When Percy leaves due to an unfortunate incident, he notices that his friend was not who he thought he was.......
            • kgautam
              kgautamWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 10:50 am55 stars
              when i first read this book, i did not really enjoy it. honestly, i liked the harry potter series better. but after rereading it years later, i fell in love with the characters and how great the story really is.
              • AbbyThursday, June 6, 2019 at 2:50 pm
                Book was fantastic and great for 6th graders to write an essay about,and a great summer book!Highly recommend to parents!😁
                • Laylee Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 12:55 pm
                  This book is awesome. I could not stop reading this book. I never really particularly enjoyed Greek Mythology. but this book turned my mind around. This book is an awesome book for middle age readers who enjoy mystery and adventure.
                  • ll274263
                    ll274263Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 7:50 am44 stars
                    i read this book so i can learn to read. and some quest
                    • sjsj
                      sjsjWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 10:01 am55 stars
                      The Lightning Thief is an awesome page turner for every age, even adults! (I recommended this book to my dad, and he loved it!) So what are you waiting for? Go read it!