Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y5.056684

Join the world of "Artemis Fowl", the number one bestseller by Eoin Colfer. Rumour has it Artemis Fowl is responsible for every major crime of the new century. Just twelve years old and already he's a criminal genius, plotting to restore his family's fortune with a spot of corruption and kidnapping. Kidnapping a fairy for ransom, to be precise. Artemis Fowl has discovered a world below ground of armed and dangerous - and extremely high-tech - fairies. But he may have underestimated their powers. They will fight back. Is the boy about to trigger a cross-species war? Let the misadventure begin. "Fast-paced, tongue in cheek ...laugh-out-loud". ("Sunday Times"). "A huge hit". ("The Guardian"). "Artemis is a brilliant creation". (Anthony Horowitz). Winner of the WHSmith Children's Book of the Year Award and Children's Book of the Year at the Children's Book Awards. It is shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year Award. Eoin Colfer was born and raised in Wexford in the south-east of Ireland. He began writing plays at an early age and, as an adult, continued to write. "Artemis Fowl", his first book featuring the brilliant young anti-hero, was an immediate international bestseller and won several prestigious awards.

Paperback
Published on April 4, 2011 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0141340258
ISBN-13: 9780141340258
87 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • mrmars06
    mrmars06Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 5:30 pm44 stars
    Great book, BTW
    • slytherinfan
      slytherinfanTuesday, September 4, 2018 at 5:24 pm55 stars
      This intro makes me want to read it sooo bad!
      • mrmars06
        mrmars06Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 1:10 pm44 stars
        This book is amazing! :)
        • ajg15
          ajg15Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 12:32 pm33 starsFeatured
          Artemis fowl is a twelve-year-old genius he is also a millionaire and a criminal mastermind (which is awesome! Not the criminal part the millionaire part haha). But even a genius like Artemis doesn't know what to do when he kidnaps Captain Holly Short who just so happens to be a fairy of the LEPrecon unit.. These aren't your run of the mill faries like tinker bell these varies can be dangerous!! Good book, recommended for 6-8 graders. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
          • mrmars06
            mrmars06Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 5:29 pm44 stars
            I love your book and movie reviews @ajg15!
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 12:27 pm11 star
            Artemis fowl/////ok so book is about Artemis fowl (the boy) and he is a millionaire and only 12 !(and a criminal mastermind lπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚) I didn't enjoy this because it was wayyyy to confusingπŸ’© I recommend to ages 15 and up and sadly I rate it 1 star πŸŒŸπŸ˜’πŸ˜‚
            • auntieb
              auntiebMonday, July 30, 2018 at 11:11 am55 stars
              Artemis Fowl is a wonderful book about a boy genius who is only 12-years old! And he is trying to regain his family fortune! I highly recommend this series!
              • dreambig100
                dreambig100Monday, July 23, 2018 at 4:23 pm44 stars
                Artemis Fowl is a wonderful book about fairies and Artemis a 13 year old mastermind who has the knowledge of more than an entire state combined. Artemis is the antagonist of the book and is trying to capture fairies because they have gold. I have absolutely loved this book I can't wait to read the others in the series.
                • nasuada
                  nasuadaSunday, July 22, 2018 at 5:01 pm44 stars
                  Artemis Fowl is a 12-year-old genius after the fairies' riches. He kidnaps a fairy officer and holds her for ransom, but the fairies retaliate. I, for one, love Eoin Colfers' take on magical creatures. (The fairies, dwarves, and other People have been forced underground by human civilization and pollutants.) The technology imagined in the book was interesting, and decoding the "Gnommish" message along the bottom of the text was fun. A great start to a unique series.
                  • selina
                    selinaSaturday, July 21, 2018 at 8:41 am22 stars
                    Artemis Fowl is a 12-year-old millionaire, a genius and a criminal mastermind. But he doesn't know what he will be taking on when he kidnaps Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon unit. Fairies are not part of any old fairy tale; they are really dangerous.
                    • spykitten
                      spykittenFriday, July 20, 2018 at 4:02 pm22 stars
                      This book was OK. I think it is meant for ages 10+, and not any younger. Yes, the first chapter is VERY confusing but the 2nd should explain most of it. I would recommend this for ages 10+.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins