I Survived the Great Chicago Fire, 1871 (I Survived #11)

Book 11 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.814140
Could an entire city really burn to the ground?

Oscar Starling never wanted to come to Chicago. But then Oscar finds himself not just in the heart of the big city, but in the middle of a terrible fire! No one knows exactly how it began, but one thing is clear: Chicago is like a giant powder keg about to explode.

An army of firemen is trying to help, but this fire is a ferocious beast that wants to devour everything in its path, including Oscar! Will Oscar survive one of the most famous and devastating fires in history?

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on February 24, 2015 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545658462
ISBN-13: 9780545658461
110 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kyle414
    kyle414Friday, March 13, 2020 at 4:55 am33 stars
    This book is about a boy named oscar who didn't want to come to chicago but he did. At first there was a fire at a farm then when to chicago it was way worst. If you want to learn about the fore ypuy should read this book. I can connect with this book because it reminds of a movie where this boy friend set a fire in his house. And the boy in the house had to escape I give this book a 3 out of 5 stars because to me in the beginning was boring.
    • mwyso13579
      mwyso13579Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:18 pm44 stars
      This book is about a little boy named Oscar who is trying to survive in a fire, as many people know, the Great Chicago Fire.of 1871. The story line as for someone stealing Oscar's luggage, is revealed to be an orphan raising her brother, just 2 years old, as they are fighting for their lives. I found a connection because of the suspense and fear and how it relates to the real world. There are some scary things out there, but this is probably one of the highest ones. I rate this book four stars because I don't like reading about people being so scared out of their minds that if something goes wrong, everyone dies.
      • russellolchawa
        russellolchawaFriday, February 21, 2020 at 11:08 am55 stars
        The main character who sets out to find the girl who stole his luggage finds himself in the midst of the historic Chicago Fire of 1871 trying to survive. Enters the story line after stealing Oscar's luggage, is soon revealed as an orphan raising her 2-year old brother. I found a connection to this book by being alone and afraid. I rated this 5 stars because of the amazing plot and details.
        • eli1234567
          eli1234567Friday, February 21, 2020 at 10:56 am44 stars
          This book is about a young boy named Oscar who had to fight to survive the great Chicago fire. I made a text to world connection with this book because I have been to Chicago many times. I think Lauren Tarshis is a great author because she does so much research on a topic that seems to come alive. I liked this book because it was so vivid in the way it described the city and the fire. Those are some reasons that I liked the book.
          • acalzoa
            acalzoaFriday, February 21, 2020 at 10:28 am44 stars
            I give this book a 4 it is a good book, it has a lot of great information and fact about the fire I never know if this fire even happens and how it started.
            • savv0100
              savv0100Saturday, February 15, 2020 at 8:54 pm44 stars
              I personally don't have a connection-to-text or world to this book but maybe you do. This book is about a boy named Oscar visiting Chicago and getting lost with a man in the Great Chicago Fire. They ended up having to go on a river on a boat to escape the fire but ended up in more danger. You MUST read this book and see how it ends because trust me its worth it. I loved this book; although it doesn't give many facts about the fire is an interesting book for people who love adventure. I also don't have a connection to this book because I've personally never experienced a fire.
              • 22trans
                22transFriday, January 10, 2020 at 7:08 am44 stars
                This book is very interesting. It is about a boy named Oscar and how he found himself in a huge fire in Chicago, Illinois. He traveled from somewhere and ended up in a fire. I can connect to this book because my house almost went up in flames. I'm giving this book a four-star rating because it doesn't give much information about the Great Chicago Fire.
                • mclark2020
                  mclark2020Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 6:29 pm55 stars
                  The author, Lauren Tarshis did a fabulous job describing what was happening to the city in the Great Chicago Fire. As readers, we want to keep reading to see what is going to happen to the main characters. This story includes relationships you want to find out about and heroism.
                  • princessari
                    princessariFriday, October 11, 2019 at 2:45 pm44 stars
                    This is a really interesting book. It is historical fiction and it comes in a series called I survived. This is a true story Chicago was actually on fire and the fires were rapidly spreading everywhere causing the big city to be destroyed. No one knows what actually happened for the fires to start there are difffrent types of stories. This was one of the most famous and devasating fires in history. To find out what happens read I Survived the Great Chicago fire.
                    • jayden6924
                      jayden6924Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 6:53 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book so much. It is about a boy named Oscar Starling. His father died in a car crash while he was living in Minnesota. When his mother decides to remarry, he is forced to move into Chicago. When he arrives he finds himself in a huge fire. I cannot really relate to the main character, but he still inspires me.